We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience & close to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayhaven Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bayhaven Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayhaven Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   16 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 37 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great experience & close to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms were modern and very comfortable. The location was great as it was close to everything, literally within walking distance of the best Byron has to offer. My Mother & I had been able to experience the best of Byron with thanks to the on-site owners of Bayhaven Lodge who sat down and explained where to go as well as the best spots usually kept on the lowdown.

Overall a great experience, if I had to pin-point on thing I could report being unhappy with it would only have to be the Wi-Fi connection at the time, which I'm sure is an easy fix.

Thank you Bayhaven Lodge and see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    17
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband for my Birthday. Located on a quiet street only a few hundred metres walk from the main restaurants, bars and shops. Rooms are really well presented and have everything you need. Gary checked us in and gave us loads of info on things to see and do. Try Fish Heads for seafood or Il Buco for Italian! Would recommend Bayhaven Lodge for couples :-)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Mpap,
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. Thrilled you had lovely birthday. We endeavour to give as much help and information about what to do in the Bay. Thanks for the photo looks great.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to stay! My sister & I booked in for a couple of nights on our way up the coast. The rooms were beautifully laid out & had every thing we needed. The staff couldn't do enough & were constantly on hand for all our needs. It is perfectly situated close to both the shops & beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel & will return again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Second time at the Bayhaven. Great location close to city center and beach, nice rooms, easy street parking. The only downsides were the cost and if there are other guests it can get quite noisy. If you can find a special rate on Wotif then this is a great deal.

I ended up getting very sick during this visit and was bedridden for two days, staying one unplanned day at the bayhaven. Summer was very helpful in terms of accommodating my needs and helping me out. Thank you Summer!

Cheers,

JJ

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Jonathan. Glad you had a pleasant stay even in the circumstances. We are thrilled to see returning guests enjoy their time with us as much as the first. We do have some great deals all year round for everyone.
Hope you visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed in the grand suite, and there was nothing grand about it. The area has no privacy and whilst flicking through the TV channels I saw my self on TV. YES the room had a camera in and so did the other areas.
We could have been recorded naked or worse. We were not informed of the camera and presume others in the house were not. We had to check our bedroom.
Will not stay again, and don't think you can use the cooker if you stay less than 7 nights, yes pay $900.00 and can't cook. PATHETIC

Room Tip: LOOK elsewhere, anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for the Review, however we would like to point out that Security Camera are not in Rooms but in all SHARED/COMMON areas for the protection of guests and staff. It is stated in all websites, including our own, and welcome booklet that there are security camera in these areas.
There are basic food preparations in the Grand and Superior suite available.There is microwave and fridge at all times. Again clearly stated that unless staying 7 or more nights fully cooking facilities(oven and hobs) will not be made for full use. We would like to point out that this gentleman did stay for less than 5 days in our most luxurious suite.
We are pleased he liked our location and rated us highly for our cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was lovely, with nice furnishings but the rooms were rather small and the amenities were minimal. There is little storage for luggage and no room fridge, cooking facilities, not even hand towels. But the rooms are clean and cozy. Only major complaint is that the rooms aren't very sound proof. The hotel us located right next to town and is close to the beach. We were hoping to use the spa and kitchen facilities but these were only allowed for the superior guests.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi Alainavarr. Thank you for the review on our Guest lodge. Sorry that you felt the Deluxe was small, this is our most affordable room. We do have more spacious rooms at Bayhaven. The Garden and Deluxe Suite do have a Shared fridge available for use in the Sun room. The Grand and 2 Superior Rooms have basic food preparation however if guests in these room were staying longing than 7 nights only then full cooking would be use to them.
Thanks again and we hope you have safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The lodge was a perfect place to stay Byron. My sister and I were looking for a short getaway and the lodge met all our expectations of being quiet, clean, modern and very comfortable. We were in walking distance of everything - beach, shops, restaurants. Bayhaven lodge would make a great place for couples who want to have a relaxed getaway. I have found my favourite place to stay in Byron.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayhaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayhaven Lodge

Address: 16 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayhaven Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within a very comfortable 150 metre stroll to the heart of town and adjacent to ‘The Wreck,’ one of Byron's most famous surf breaks, Bay Haven Lodge is a fully renovated and modernised traditional whaler's cottage. It is the only one of its kind offering guest accommodation in Byron Bay and a must see for those in search of a relaxing and memorable holiday. Set in a brilliant location, it is the closest B&B to Byron's buzzing town centre and stunning beaches so there's really no need to bring the car! This beautifully appointed property has warmth, character and charm, with a fresh, modern and relaxed feel. We have a range of Suites to cater for everyone’s budget, starting from the more affordable Deluxe Suites and Garden Suites through to the further appointed and spacious Superior Suites, ultimately with our best being the magnificent Grand Suite, all featuring beautiful décor with eye-catching prints by local artists, ensuites with choice of showerheads and tea and coffee making facilities. They also contain all the modern fixtures one would expect, including reverse cycle air conditioning, remote control ceiling fans, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, 3D compatible LCD screen TVs and DVD players with MP3 connection. The lodge has an expansive north-facing sunroom that has been converted into a communal guest area for Garden and Deluxe Suite guests to enjoy, with comfortable lounge suites and a large shared guest fridge. A fantastic area to simply sit, unwind and enjoy a good book. The wall-to-wall bi-fold doors of the sunroom open onto a tranquil, Balinese-style garden where you can enjoy a BBQ, lounge by the water feature, savour a morning coffee or just relax in peace and soak up the romantic tropical atmosphere. The Garden Suites have the added luxury of their own French doors opening onto the sunroom, offering direct access and views to the gardens. Indulge in a glass of red by the water feature or relax in your own room and gaze at the dimly lit garden. At Bay Haven Lodge we aim to provide a slice of the Bay’s traditional tranquillity in true character of the property itself, with all the wonderful benefits Byron has to offer, literally at your doorstep. Bay Haven’s owner has been a Byron Bay resident for 25 years and can provide great firsthand advice on local tours, culture, scenic sites, markets, activities and eateries. He can also point you in the direction of the best beaches, surf breaks and snorkelling spots, all within a 3 minute stroll from our front door!The Superior SuiteModern suite located in our newly completed extensions, the Superior Suite features square-set ceilings, polished spotted gum floorboards, Ensuite with choice of shower heads, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote controlled ceiling fan, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, hanging space, 32 inch compatible LCD screen TV, Blu-ray DVD with MP3 connection and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bayhaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Haven Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayhaven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.