We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay at Bay Haven Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayhaven Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bayhaven Lodge to your Saves list
Bayhaven Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   16 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
“Had a great stay at Bay Haven Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed overnight so could go for a morning swim before heading up the coast. My room was modern and clean with air-conditioning and a ceiling fan. It is just a quick walk to a multitude of restaurant choices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    32
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
63
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nicely presented accommodation. Clean and quiet location. Close to beach and shopping. Highly recommend staying here. Good value for money. Only small negative is parking can be a problem. But this is only a minor issue.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A little walk from the main town, we found the place to be a beautiful haven. We were greeted with a spectacular view of the property on display. Staff were very friendly and happy to offer their stories and advice from the area. They were very helpful in accomodating our itinerary. The room and property had a real "wow" factor. Took photos to show friends and convince them to join us next time. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this upmarket lodge on Shirley Street. The location is perfect, just a few minutes away from the main strip and beach. It's especially good for couples who are looking to splurge and relax a bit. The rooms have all mod cons and the space we shared with one other couple were finished to an excellent standard, and everything was cleaned and presented nicely on our arrival. We had one of the garden suites on the upper floor and it felt secure and private.

With rain setting in half way through our 3 night stay and never really subsiding, we were very grateful to have chosen such a nice hotel to retreat to. The jacuzzi makes it worth paying a little extra for one of the more premium rooms and the great kitchen amenities, including full cooking facilities, equipment and even a dishwasher made rainy nights in very bearable!

With the massive shower and bathroom being a wet room it could have done with a few more towels and hanging area and a daily clean/fresh linen would have been nice, but there were only a few small criticisms like that we noticed.

Garry, who runs the lodge, was very helpful and attentive and always responded to our questions. His suggestions for places to eat were spot on, and helped us arrange things to do. We ended up doing a jungle kayak through a local company and it was really fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Bella B, Thanks very much for your detailed review. The Superior suite is one of our more spacious and luxurious rooms available in our guest lodge. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, the lodge itself was immaculately presented with great facilities, fast wifi in the room. Great location only a 2min walk from the main shops, restaurants and beaches. Garry the property manager was extremely helpful in explaining the best places to go visit, eat and drink along with the range of activities available to do in byron and once you had decided what you wanted to do he will even arrange it for you, the man was an absolute hero! All in all I could not rate this place highly enough 10 out of 10

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay and so close to the Byron strip. Lovely facilities and an amazing hot tub!!! Excellent for that romantic night away. Great staff. Really clean rooms. . Flat screen tv in our room. Very secure with a pass lock and our own double doors to the garden terrace.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Lovely place to stay with a great spa & nice modern amenities. Our room was quite small however with limited storage. The amount of rules was a bit overbearing. The fact you couldn't have any guests even enter the premises was bizarre. The CCTV cameras were also intrusive, especially the one inside the unit!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks AndrewM for your review. We would like to highlight that every B&B, Guest Lodge, Hotel etc all have rules, this is provide all guests with safe and relaxed atmosphere. We request that it is only paying guests on the premises because it is to respect other guests privacy to get away and unwind. We do have CCTV in shared areas such as lounge/kitchens areas again to provide a safe environment for guest and our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayhaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayhaven Lodge

Address: 16 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayhaven Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within a very comfortable 150 metre stroll to the heart of town and adjacent to ‘The Wreck,’ one of Byron's most famous surf breaks, Bay Haven Lodge is a fully renovated and modernised traditional whaler's cottage. It is the only one of its kind offering guest accommodation in Byron Bay and a must see for those in search of a relaxing and memorable holiday. Set in a brilliant location, it is the closest B&B to Byron's buzzing town centre and stunning beaches so there's really no need to bring the car! This beautifully appointed property has warmth, character and charm, with a fresh, modern and relaxed feel. We have a range of Suites to cater for everyone’s budget, starting from the more affordable Deluxe Suites and Garden Suites through to the further appointed and spacious Superior Suites, ultimately with our best being the magnificent Grand Suite, all featuring beautiful décor with eye-catching prints by local artists, ensuites with choice of showerheads and tea and coffee making facilities. They also contain all the modern fixtures one would expect, including reverse cycle air conditioning, remote control ceiling fans, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, 3D compatible LCD screen TVs and DVD players with MP3 connection. The lodge has an expansive north-facing sunroom that has been converted into a communal guest area for Garden and Deluxe Suite guests to enjoy, with comfortable lounge suites and a large shared guest fridge. A fantastic area to simply sit, unwind and enjoy a good book. The wall-to-wall bi-fold doors of the sunroom open onto a tranquil, Balinese-style garden where you can enjoy a BBQ, lounge by the water feature, savour a morning coffee or just relax in peace and soak up the romantic tropical atmosphere. The Garden Suites have the added luxury of their own French doors opening onto the sunroom, offering direct access and views to the gardens. Indulge in a glass of red by the water feature or relax in your own room and gaze at the dimly lit garden. At Bay Haven Lodge we aim to provide a slice of the Bay’s traditional tranquillity in true character of the property itself, with all the wonderful benefits Byron has to offer, literally at your doorstep. Bay Haven’s owner has been a Byron Bay resident for 25 years and can provide great firsthand advice on local tours, culture, scenic sites, markets, activities and eateries. He can also point you in the direction of the best beaches, surf breaks and snorkelling spots, all within a 3 minute stroll from our front door!The Superior SuiteModern suite located in our newly completed extensions, the Superior Suite features square-set ceilings, polished spotted gum floorboards, Ensuite with choice of shower heads, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote controlled ceiling fan, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, hanging space, 32 inch compatible LCD screen TV, Blu-ray DVD with MP3 connection and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bayhaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Haven Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayhaven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.