We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grateful for the last minute but POORLY disappointed dont do it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baystay Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Baystay Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Baystay Bed & Breakfast
30 Marvell St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 36 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“grateful for the last minute but POORLY disappointed dont do it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were very thankfully (as a couple of travelling mates) that at last minute (well a couple of days before) this place accommodated us on Valentines Day for one night.
But..................
on arrival we were greeted by the very nice man who had not only upgraded us to the two bedroom 'apartment'....... he also was quite upfront that breakfast would be cut short due to his yoga class......... now this is fine in a one off situation but as it has been mentioned several times in previous reviews, it is obviously more than a common occurrence and therefore should be mentioned in its website/ advertisements.
The room was old & on the verge of musty but clean.
The beds were adequate but as they knew that we were 2 friends travelling separately, singlebeds in the second room could of been pushed together in anticipation of our arrival.
Shower was very poor & grime was evident.
It was a 15 minute walk from town across fields & dont let anyone tell you different.
I missed breakfast because i wanted a good nights sleep so cant comment on that.
I Fully support the independent 'alternative' accommodation but i did not pay $160 YES ONE HUNDERED AND SIXTY DOLLARS to be treated like i was imposing on their life.
This wasnt a hovel but i would not recommend this tired bit of Byron to anyone - shame
That is how i felt after leaving & still do 2 months later- dont do it people!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baystay, Manager at Baystay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We always react to guest problems asap and would have appreciated the opportunity to do so in your case. A couple of points to clarify from your comments: town is 400 metres from our house and takes about 6 minutes to walk to the main street, breakfast is always between 8 and 9 and yes I do go to yoga regularly, even have guests join me (5 since your stay) however you are always given an option of having a tray served to your room if you wish to sleep in, don't understand the musty smell as our rooms are always fresh and clean, also do not understand why I would join 2 single beds for one person to sleep in unless I was asked.
Thanks again for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the owners were not here (and we didn't see them at all during our stay) and nobody to welcome us. We had the badly surprise to find other people in our studio so they had to move at 9pm in an other room. But the studio was dirty (because they already used It for two days) so we had to go to another guest house. The day after we went back, still no owner, the shower was broken, no breakfast (and It was normally included). We had the owner on the phone but for him everything was ok : "you slept in a bed so no problem for us" "the breakfast was not included , an error might happened during the booking".
We travelled for three weeks along the east cost and we met so nice people in B&B but here It was just the opposite : many problems and no one to care about that... Dont go there..!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baystay, Owner at Baystay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hey things do go wrong sometimes and in the 20 years I have run this guesthouse the odd thing has gone wrong and I have fixed it. In these peoples' case they had a run of bad luck. Unfortunately they arrived tired at 2140 not to my place but to some other place in a different street. They called me and ended up at my place only to find that their room was occupied. So what should a good operator do? Find them an equivalent or better place to stay at my expense. And that I did within 30 minutes at a B&B not far away. Strangely they still wanted to stay in the room at my place so I arranged for it to be serviced so they could move in the next day. At no stage was it suggested or considered that they should stay in the unserviced room. However the events raise a couple of points that travelers need to keep in mind when booking a B&B in Oz. Most are single person businesses with 3 or 4 rooms for travelers. B&Bs don't have full 24 hour reception so a little respect in choosing arrival times would be appreciated. The owner operator often does everything in and around the house so when thing go wrong let the owner know and it will be fixed asap. In county areas, shops, restaurants and other services often close early and some do not open on weekends so keep this in mind.
I have run my guesthouse for 20 years and looked after over 20,000 people. I do my best and treat guests fairly which I did for these people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The setting is fantastic and the location is also amazing. It was such a shame that the owners were away and left their son in charge. The door bell was broken, we had to find out own room with a key and note stuck in the door. Turns out they had stuffed up the rooms and we were in the wrong one and had to swap with some french people at 11pm on our second night and clean the room for them. The shower was atrocious and broken so we couldn't shower and had noone to tell about it. They wouldn't answer the phone or the door. All in all such a shame as it could have been amazing if they ran the business properly and didn't just want their cake and eat it too (be able to go away for their own holidays but collect an income from the business).

Room Tip: Make sure you find out who is going to be available for service when you are staying so there is som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baystay, Owner at Baystay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is always useful whether positive or negative. The sad thing with your feedback is that you failed to mention that you were told before you booked that I would not be there and given a special price. You were also told that you would be staying in our lovely Garden Studio which is a self contained bedsitter situated in the garden and that we would make up the sofa bed for your companion. You were also told how to get to the Studio but we would also leave a note to jog your memory. On the day of your arrival you rang me to say you could not find the note but later found it and I reiterated where the Garden Studio was located. Yet you moved into our 2 bedroom suite which was not in the garden and somehow managed to think that it was your room even though it had 2 separate bedrooms which you used!! Needless to say your stay was obviously uncomfortable and I apologize for that.
By the way the shower was obviously broken by a previous traveler who did not let me know and was fixed by my son the next day when the hardware opened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Run by friendly and helpful proprietors, John and Janet, this is a little gem in Byron Bay. Comparatively affordable, and located 5 minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs of town, this bed and breakfast offers cosy and clean rooms.

Ask John or Jane about local sights off the beaten track and definitely try the home-made bread for breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just spent two nights here with a friend on a brief mid-week trip away from the Gold Coast. Was very impressed with what we paid for.

Stayed in the spa room. Very spacious, comfortable, quiet and felt very secluded. The room has all the basics. Double bed, mini bar fridge, comfortable living area with small tv, spa bath and even a sauna! (we didn't expect a sauna). It was also kept very clean as well! There wasn't much of a kitchen area or a place to prepare meals but to be honest we were on holidays! Who cooks on holidays? Especially in Byron with its many restaurants and cafes.

We only saw John, the host, on two occasions. He was very welcoming and kind.

The place is within 5 minutes walking distance to Byron town centre. Although breakfast was included, on the first day we missed out due to us being lazy and not getting out of bed. ON the 2nd day John informed us that as he will be going away he wasn't available to prepare a breakfast. This didn't bother us, but we appreciated his courtesy.

Will definitely be staying there again if I ever stay in Byron again :)

Room Tip: Ask John where the best place for coffee is. He did tell us but we forgot :-/
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The location, accommodation, food and hospitality were all great. Many of the B&Bs in Byron don't offer breakfast - but Baystay is a wonderful exception. It is really close to town, but without the noise of being right in the centre. We really enjoyed our stay - and will definately return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Baystay B&B for 2 nights in the spa room. We were looking for something cosy, peaceful and handy to town and got all of this. The hosts were out when we arrived but had left a key and note explaining how to get to town, the beach etc. These are only 5-10 minutes walk away so really handy. We met Jane who was friendly and organised good breakfasts.

The B&B is away from all the noisy backpacker places and bars which we appreciated. On a morning, the birds would sing in the garden and this was lovely to wake up to. A continental breakfast (fruit, toast, OJ, preserves, yoghurt) was served each morning and we enjoyed this. It was ample to keep us going till late afternoon.

The spa bath was lovely, especially after hiking to the lighthouse one day! There was also a sauna which we didn't use, as well as a spacious shower. We would stay here again and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

I didn't bring a hairdryer thinking there would be one in the room but couldn't see one so bring your own. Towels were provided but not changed in the time we were there - that was fine for the 2 nights we stayed but would hope they'd be changed for people staying longer as we didn't bring any.

Room Tip: The spa room gives that extra bit of luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baystay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay Bed & Breakfast

Address: 30 Marvell St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baystay is a lovely bed and breakfast situated within 5 minutes walk to both town and beach. It is a traditional style Aussie beach house of the 70s and has been operated as a B&B since 1995. Your hosts are locals of over 25 years and can help you with information about our beautiful area and give you an experience of our laid back beach lifestyle. Come and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baystay Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baystay Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.