We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very tasty meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Express Eatery

Orient Express Eatery
1/2 Fletcher Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
+61 2 6680 8808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 139 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Modern Asian cuisine at its finest. Dinner every night and Yum Cha for lunch on weekends. Great selection of teas and wines, hand picked to complement the food. A necessary experience in Byron Bay.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very tasty meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Sitting outside of the only Chinese restaurant in Byron Bay on a slightly humid, comfortable breezy night in January - it doesn't get much better. The ambience of the internal space overflowed to the terrace and and an extremely well informed female waiter explained the Specials. We were comfortable and happy and everything sounded delicious. So we ordered as much as we thought we could eat, and then another dish (the tempura prawns were irresistible), just in case. And everything was served in a timely manner, seemingly choreographed, at perfect intervals and we were neither overwhelmed nor wanting. And we enjoyed every minute and every morsel.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    14
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh Asian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The food is constantly fresh with an exciting menu. The restaurant gave us free pickled veggies prior to our meal to cleanse the palet - a lovely touch. We then had the special - Laos crispy rice salad (delicious) and the mandarin pancakes. Wonderful dishes that we would certainly go back to eat.

Recommendation: Make a reservation - it gets very busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service and inept staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Called on New Year's Eve and was laughed at for asking about delivery! Even though Google said they delivered and they answered their phone... Maybe next time the staff can just say no instead of making potential customers feel poor for making an enquiry based on google search results :) go some where else, there are plenty of great restaurants in Byron that are not staffed by pretentious, rude staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus Beach
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My daughter and I had eaten here a couple of years ago, and thought it fabulous. We returned recently, but were disappointed. We were served a complimentary pickled vegetable salad while we were waiting, which we enjoyed with our beer. We were waiting for the beef salad with crunchy rice which we had so enjoyed last time, but when it arrived it lacked flavour, had very little dressing, and the steak was thick cold and hardly cooked. We told the waitress that we didn't like it, and she asked if we would like a curry (at our expense of course, to which we agreed). When the beef curry came, the pieces of beef were so big that we didn't enjoy that either, and left most of it. We left $77 lighter. The service was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The food is abfab, and plentiful. If we'd have know how much food you were served, we would have had a starter between us, so we could eat our mains. The satay chicken starter is fantastic and large, as are the spring rolls. The staff are very good and very attentive and the place itself is so nice. A very relaxed evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orient Express Eatery also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Orient Express Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient Express Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.