We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for a week and it was brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brunswick

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brunswick Heads
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brunswick
Save
You added Hotel Brunswick to your Saves list
4 Mullumbimbi Street, Brunswick Heads, New South Wales 2483, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick Heads
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stayed here for a week and it was brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed in one of the rooms for a week in December (actually, it was a couple of years ago now). The room was decorated in Art Deco style, and the bathroom facilities were shared-though I had it to myself the entire time so I was pretty stoked! Everything was immaculately clean and I loved that it was close to everything in the town.

The pub is one of my favourites in all of Australia-the beer garden is fantastic and they have great bands most nights. A lot of people say that Brunswick Heads is like Byron Bay was 30 years ago-peaceful, quiet and with a real alternative vibe.

The food is fantastic but got a little expensive for us after staying there for 7 nights, so it would be fantastic if they could offer their guests a BBQ or something if they want to cater for themselves-though there are BBQs in the park across the road so its not really a problem.

Would recommend this place to anyone-LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

A great Australian institution, the Brunswick Heads Hotel. Lovely traditional hotel with beautiful beer garden opposite park with playground for kids and river. Modern bistro style menu. If you are driving past on the Pacific Highway then it's time to stop for a rest and a meal. A good beach for swimming and surfing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Like the reviewer before me, I loved this place. The pub has been restored brilliantly - modern where it needs to be and faithful to its heritage for the rest. The shared bathroom facilities are impeccable - clean, modern and spacious.

My room was the same as the first reviewer - one bed but comfortable and with period touches (the fine bone china tea cups are a brilliant touch). On top of the room being great value, you can go and drink in the beer garden under the huge poinsettia and use the hotel's FREE Wi-Fi!

I have been telling all my friends about this place - a great pub stay experience. I loved it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

When I had to stay at Brunswick Heads for work I didn't see the need to fork out for a hotel room when a single room with shared facilities was available at the Brunswick Hotel for only $55/ night.
I suppose a backpacker place might have been cheaper but it suited me to stay at the hotel.
Checking in was like you'd expect at a pub, over the bar then to the door of the office.
But the pleasant part was going upstairs to the rooms. Walking through the foyer past the black and white photographs depicting events in Brunswick's history and up the curved staircase, you are transported into a type of accommodation no longer in vogue but very pleasant.
I booked a single room at a very reasonable $55 per night. My room was small with a single bed, a beautiful old cupboard with shelf with a floral china tea cup, saucer and long life milk. A hand basin with mirror above and luggage stand were the only other furnishings in the room.
Although it sounds spartan, it was lovely. Everything you needed and nothing more. But the thing about it, was the way that it was set out, with furniture from an era well before I was born, all giving a beautiful feel from a time less complicated. There was no TV in the room, but it was much more social to go downstairs to the bar or outdoor area.
A sitting room with more period furniture was at the top of the stairs. This room too was impeccably set out and looking through the window was like looking into a museum display.
The shared toilet/shower facilities were very clean and although I rarely stay in places with shared facilities these days, I would not let this deter me from staying there again.
It is only a couple of minutes walk to the middle of this quaint village for a breakfast at one of the excellent coffee shops.
If you are after a place with all the latest mod cons, this probably isn't the place for you. But if want to experience accommodation in what I reckon a really nice hotel would have been like in the early part of last century, then I would highly recommend this property to you.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunswick

Address: 4 Mullumbimbi Street, Brunswick Heads, New South Wales 2483, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Brunswick Heads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunswick Heads
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Aussie Pub, the Hotel Brunswick offers excellent food, cold beers, and a friendly family atmosphere in a leafy, riverfront beer garden.Fourteen rooms some with river views, add vintage charm to this beautifully restored 1940’s building in the heart of Brunswick Heads, in Northern New South Wales. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.