We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Craigieburn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Craigieburn to your Saves list
Peppers Craigieburn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bradman Experience
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had heard really good things about Peppers Resort and believed that they were the best resort chain in Australia.... but certainly not what I expected... The property was beautiful, well kept, tidy with beautiful gardens...But the service was quite average. We booked the high-tea package, for which the reception told us that it started from 11am.. yet when we turned up to the restaurant at 11am, the woman's attitude was woeful. Is it my fault that there was a breakdown in communication between the restaurant and reception?! I took my mother away for a Easter weekend away and was a bit embarassed about the way that we were treated. Reluctant to stay at one of your properties again due to a lack in service...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Casunieks

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I have noted your comments in relation to the food & beverage experience and have addressed this with the staff member concerned. I assure you this is not the normal standard and appreciate the feedback that has enabled this to be addressed.

Thank you for your kind comments on the properties presentation as we do take pride in our Hotel and the grounds and it is great to know they are enjoyed.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    71
    70
    50
    31
See reviews for
23
154
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here as part of a conference. The rooms are small although tastefully appointed with ensuite including bath and separate shower. Bed was very comfortable. The property has communal spaces inside and out which invite relaxing and create an atmosphere of peacefulness and calm. The staff are all quite friendly and the Executive Chef cooks some amazing dishes.

Room Tip: If you travel with a lot of luggage, ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Brissiegurl

Appreciate you having taken the time to provide feedback on you stay. Great to read you found the staff friendly and you enjoyed the food.

Hope you find time to visit with us again.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A quick getaway weekend was just not memorable as a result of the service offrred by Peppers. It was a last minute idea to splurge on something better than a motel and we sadly left wondering why.

The location is beautiful, rooms great although I would be careful as we were given a shoebox in the old part of hotel.

I guess most of our dissatisfaction was a result poor service and a very average breakfast. Sure it was a Sunday and yep we rolled in with half an hour of service left, but this shouldn't account for a shortage of food, dirty tables etc. I watched as a couple who arrived after us who left to eat elsewhere because there simply wasn't any food left!!

Oh and to add insult to injury, espresso coffee wasn't included, "that will be extra". When are hotels going to learn that, no one will pay extra. Like Internet usage they should be complimentary and not some stupid extra.

We visit the Southern Highlands regularly and won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Sydney tiger

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

I apologise that the breakfast had not been fully replenished on your arrival at the Restaurant and understand your disappointment.. Your comments on the breakfast and have past this on to the relevant Department Manager to address.

We do take pride in our service and it is disappointing when we do not meet the guest expectation. I assure you we will take this feedback on board to ensure we improve in this area in the future.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have recently returned from a wedding at Bowral and we stayed at Craigieburn with high expectations. We upgraded to a balcony suite but unfortunately it was a suite in name only. The room was extremely small and very disappointing, I know that this is only trivial but there was not even a waste paper basket in either the room or the adjoins small bathroom.
The outside awash old world charm and the grounds were magnificent. All in all a great disappointment

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi cjgdegh

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

Sorry to learn you were disapponted in the complimentary upgrade to an Elms Balcony room which you seem to have had the impression was a suite which is not the case. The Hotel only has one suite which was occupied by the bride and groom during your stay. My apologies if this was not conveyed to your at the time.

Great to read that you enjoyed out magnificent gardens and the old world charm of Peppers Craigieburn.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a group of 10 people stay for 3 nights at Peppers Craigieburn for a Research Retreat. The property is so beautiful, the food was absolutely amazing and the service by the staff was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble! We'd totally recommend Peppers Craigieburn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you Kelly for your great feedback which will be shared with the team. It was a pleasure to have you and your group with us

We look forwad to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Overwhelmingly disappointing for a variety of reasons.

Booked 5 Elm Balcony rooms in December 2012 (for a stay in January 2013) and asked that the rooms be located next to each other. Not informed by Peppers staff at time of booking that room requests are not guaranteed. This wonderful piece of information is given in writing only after the booking has been made. Be that as it may, subsequently had a member of my party ring a few nights before our arrival and we received oral confirmation from Peppers staff that all 5 rooms would be together on the Elm Balcony. On arrival however this wasn’t the case as one of our party was given a room (it was more like a shoebox) on the other side of the complex. After some tedious discussion this was changed to a room on the Elm balcony which was close, but not together, with our other 4 rooms. Why this wasnt done from the start I dont know. If room locations are not to be guaranteed then this message needs to be given consistently by staff at all times from booking, to confirmation to arrival, and not in a piecemeal fashion.

On arrival staff at front desk couldnt find our booking. After finding the booking the staff member couldnt work out who had which room. All the necessary information was contained in the accomodation confirmation. It just needed to be printed and read which seemed to be difficult for some reason. This fluffing around took about 20 minutes for my booking alone.

Reception is at the top of numerous steep external steps. Whilst a porter service is advertised there was no porter to meet guests at the bottom of the steps which is where the assistance is really needed. I was offered a porter after I checked in but by that stage the hard work had been done, and in any event the porter did not seem readily available so I decline assistance. I later regretted declining assistance as the halls leading to our room were very narrow- I would guess around 90-100cms wide. Definitely a one way corridor as two way traffic was definitely a bit too close and personal. Navigating the halls with luggage was cumbersome, difficult and annoying. We were later informed that there is a disability/level entrance around the back of the premises. This is not readily obvious on arrival.

Whilst some staff tried their very best to be helpful I found the general level of service to be poor, and staff generally disinterested. Staff appeared well trained in passing the buck to each other and proffering excuses.

Food in the dining room was average. Prices high.
A round of golf for guests costs $15 for a round, more if you need clubs.
Grounds were lovely.
It is hard to recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear ChickieJ

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay I appreciate all feedback as this allow us to address areas in need of improvement.

I apologise for the difficulties you experienced with your rooms and check in. This has been addressed with the staff concerned to ensure improvement in this area.

It is disappointing when we do not meet guest expectation as the staff are very passionate about the Hotel and what they do, however with this feedback we can improve on the overall guest expereinece.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Well...a lovely place significantly let down by ordinary service and disinterested staff. There is no porter to assist navigate both the stairs and the corridors, sheets weren't clean & no real interest from staff when advised. That's not to say the sheets were not exchanged...there was no reaction at all from housekeeping and it seemed that this was something that happens all the time. When my mother advised the wait staff in the restaurant that the coffee was tepid a waitress told her...and I kid you not as I heard the exchange..."I don't have that problem, I don't drink coffee". She then turned on her heel and left our table. When we asked another member of the wait staff to assist in bringing a cake knife to cut a cake she replied..."sorry, it is in my contract of employment that I cannot carry a cake knife, it is an OH&S issue". Even if that is true, our party would have appreciated someone that could assist us with a proactive solution rather than giving us such a glib response. As for OH&S issues...I noted that there were a number of power plugs in the rooms that either had not been tested or were out of test date (management...I'll give you a clue...check the wall mounted TV, electric kettles & lights around the mirrors in the bathrooms). I'm sure the staff could do with a little more front-line training and be a little more empathetic and accommodating. I hope the management see this as a very real improvement opportunity and not provide a stock standard response about being sorry.

In a nutshell...I just expected more. More professionalism, more service and more desire to provide a special experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear bigbadlupo

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. We welcome all feedback as this enables us to improve on areas needing more attention and reward staff where due.

We do offer a Porter service and I apologise if this was not offered in your instance. With regards to the comments on the linen I can assure you this is not a not a common occurance and is taken up with the linen supply company should the quality not be up to standard. As you note the sheets were changed promptly when the issue was highlitghted.

With regards to your comments on the power to the room I advise the Management conducts testing and tagging of the entire Hotel annually. The issue you hightlight was due to the power tag on your room key not being inserted in the power source in the room and I believe this was rectified when queried with Reception.

I was disappointed to read your feedback on our food and beverage staff member. I have spoken to the staff member involved and reiterated company policy and that these type of comments are not acceptable. She has asked me to extend to you her apologies. Your comments on the knife have also been addressed with the staff member concerned. Thank you for providing this feedback as it has allowed us to ensure the staff are fully aware of service standards.

I apologise for the issues that you encounted and thank you for providing an opportunity to address them.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Craigieburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Craigieburn

Address: Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Craigieburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the style and elegance of the original homestead, Peppers Craigieburn was originally built in 1887 and welcomed its first guests in 1909, with 2009 marking 100 years of exquisite stays, service and food. Within easy reach of Sydney, Canberra and the coast, Peppers Craigieburn is set in an area renowned for its national parks, antique shopping and cool climate wines ultimately offering an idyllic and relaxing escape. The retreat boasts 72 guest rooms spread across two wings with a selection of rooms featuring either views of the golf course or the landscaped gardens while premium accommodation includes an airy shared balcony with views designed for relaxation. All rooms include central heating, flat screen television, tub chair, minibar fridge, tea/coffee-making facilities, ensuite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, shampoo and toiletries, iron and ironing board and high speed wireless internet. Overlooking the picturesque garden estate and golf course, the retreat's signature restaurant Montfort's Restaurant has gained an enviable reputation in the Southern Highlands for fine food and a welcoming ambience. Prior to your dining experience at Montfort's Restaurant meet your friends for an aperitif in Montfort's Bar & Lounge. The retreat offers an idyllic and relaxing escape. Set on a picturesque country estate, this fully refurbished grand country home features its own private nine-hole golf course, billiards room, tennis courts and Endota Spa. When visiting Bowral and the Southern Highlands, you will be inspired by the beauty of the local area. Highland fresh air, fresh produce and friendly locals will ensure your stay at this retreat is one to be remembered. Important Information Commencing 27 November 2014 Peppers Craigieburn Restaurant and Bar will be undergoing refurbishment, for a duration of 8 weeks. During this time we will continue to provide full food and beverage options for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Craigieburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Craigieburn Hotel Bowral
Craigieburn Hotel Bowral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Craigieburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.