We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic group experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Craigieburn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Craigieburn to your Saves list
Peppers Craigieburn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bradman Experience
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic group experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our organisation booked Craigieburn for a group retreat of 100 people. The staff were professional and always happy to assist. The venue itself is absolutely beautiful with amazing grounds. We found the meals to be very nice, particularly considering that they had to cater for such a large number. We were very happy overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi 14Anonymous

Appreciate you having taken the time to provide feedback on your experience at Peppers Craigieburn.

The Team are very passionate about the Hotel and what they do so it is very rewarding for them to recieve your positive feedback.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    71
    70
    50
    31
See reviews for
23
154
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This unfortunate experience has tarnished the Peppers name and would make me think twice about choosing another Peppers location in the future. Our expectations of this stay were sadly depleted when nearly all requests from staff were met with disinterest, unprofessionalism and the poorest customer service I have ever experienced. Where do I start? No assistance was offered with luggage into the hotel or to navigate the narrow internal 20-odd staircase although a "porter" is noted on the website. Our room, which was confirmed to be next to others travelling in the same group was at the opposite end of the hotel and once corrected, we found the room to be lacking in amenities with blood stains on the doona. When handed to the maid - she made no comment, not a "sorry".... nothing. When arrangements for an afternoon tea had been discussed with staff and confirmed twice - it was not prepared. Once we set-up the afternoon tea (including 16 champagne classes) all items were left on the balcony overnight and were not cleared by lunchtime the following day, even though staff advised it would be cleaned up. Our party of 16 dined in the restaurant on one evening and found the meal to be of a reasonable standard only. To top off the weekend, we were charged $4.00 for a baby chino (the same charge as for a cappuccino, latte, etc) at breakfast on our last day. Considering the 16 people in our party and the expense of the weekend stay, one would have thought to at least advise the cost of a tiny cup of milk froth or waive it in consideration.
The only positives I take from this weekend was that we did find one capable and helpful waitress and one pleasant barman. They deserve a medal working with colleagues that obviously wanted to be somewhere else. The couple celebrating their joint 80th birthday (the reason for our stay) were luckily not scarred by this experience due to the key members of our party shielding them from a repetitive series of management failures.
I will not be recommending this Peppers location to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Nicole L

Thank you for your feedback.

It is extremely disappointing to read your comments on your stay. I have spoken with the Reception staff regarding the luggage and I have been assured that your party was offered assistance which was given to the majority with some decling the offer. If this was not the case in your instance I apolgoise for this oversite.

Wtih regards to the doona the person that you handed it to clearly remembers offering to exchange the item which you did not want to do. It was not their intention to be disinterested as you had already indicated you did not require another one.

I note you comments on the afternoon tea experience and will ensure the Food & Beverage Manager follows up with staff concerned.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently celebrated two VERY special occasions with family and friends. We stayed in the cosy Elms Balcony Room which more than satisfied our needs.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a very warm welcome from both staff and reception. It seemed nothing was too difficult to accommodate our special needs requests; which was and is GREATLY appreciated too!

We particularly noted that each and every guest was treated in the same manner; making us all feel part of the Peppers Craigieburn family.

Reading about the history of the property (as compiled by one of the staff members) was "very" interesting and WHEN you visit, we would "suggest" you read about the history and sordid details too! :)

We would like to EXCEPTIONALLY highlight Chef Warrick Brook (and his staff) for the most EXTRAORDINARY dining banquet. The food (taking into account our special dietary needs for some dishes) was OUTSTANDING! The service was exceptional by the Function Manager Wayne. Chef Warrick and Wayne are "true assets" to Peppers Craigieburn.

We also experienced both dining and breakfast at Montford's Dining Room and both experiences were faultless. The food was FANTASTIC, the service (once again extraordinaire)! What was GREATLY appreciated was each and every staff member not only had a smile on their face, but was genuinely (and professional) interesting in treating people "as a person/couple" I don't know who was more excited that we were celebrating two VERY special occasions; the staff or us! :)

General Manager Robyn Bautovich has a lot to be proud of with her staff!

We would HIGHLY recommend people visit this secluded gem in the Southern Highlands Region of New South Wales.

I must say we were not familiar with this region or Peppers Craigieburn, but as a result of this experience, it is a place, a memory that will never be forgotten EVER.

Should you wish to read about our "whimsical" Royal Toast to Gerald and to experience our Banquet through our unique eyes....
http://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/royal-toast-to-gerald/
Feel free to stop by and leave a comment too! :)

If we had one wish..."Same, Time, Next Year"....TRUE!

Room Tip: A Balcony Room is delightful when having family and friends attend your function...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you Joanne for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

The team and I thoroughly enjoyed having you and your husband with us. It was a pleasure to look after your special celebrations and the Team are very pleased to learn they provided a memorable experience for you and your group.

We look forward to having you stay with us again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Firstly I'll start by saying that there is no faulting the beauty of the building and surrounding gardens. The staff make this hotel - they are friendly and so efficient and if it wasn't for them my review would be dismal ! Firstly we were shown to the wrong rooms - I kind of wish I hadn't seen the small shoe box room - absolutely awful - never seen anything like it and I would have been devastated - no matter what I paid to be put into that room ! We then got the room we'd booked - the only ones with aircon in the place - it was small but clean and nicely furnished. Dinner in the restaurant I found lacking as well (maybe comparing it to a wonderful meal at Peppers Manor House) the Tasting Plate of Local Produce was awful - hard to know besides the prawn what we were even eating - Once again the staff made it all more bearable ! Bar dinner on Sunday night was enjoyable though - maybe fine dining is not their thing ? I wouldn't recommend it - high price for small rooms and average food. Sorry I so wanted to like it as much as I love other Peppers Resorts !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Estelle

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

It is pleasingt to read that you found the staff friendly and effiecient. I will pass your comments on to all staff as it is always great to know when you have done well. Sorry to learn of the mix up with your room on arrival and that you where disappointed with your initial dining experience and will highlight this to the Chef.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Having just celebrated our sons wedding on the 9.2.13 peppers made it one if the amazing experiences from the moment the wedding started till when we checked out on the Sunday the service,atmosphere and wonderful staff it was amazing we would highly recommend the peppers craigieburn experience , all our guests said if was an amazing night thanks again to all the staff

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi 9529

Thank you very much for providing feedback on your stay and wedding experience.

It is great to read that you and your guests had a wonderful time at Pepeprs Craigieburn celebrating your son and daughter in laws special occaision. I am very proud to note that the whole team contributed to make the weekend a great expereince and they will all be thrilled to receive your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed at Peppers based on friends' recommendation. After all, we are very happy for what we had offered. Although they had big guest groups which made us worried about atmosphere and noise, but the hotel staff treated us professionally, so we had no problem at all. They have got a large open space and beautiful garden, which is next to a open green golf course. Very relaxing and beautiful hotel. Old but well maintained.

If we become picky, maybe the room size is not big, no gymnastic facilities, and no elevator... but it is still enjoyable after considering the beautiful environment and good service.

Their bar food was pretty good as well. Surely we would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi NSO 129

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit with us and the staff were professional and you found the Hotel and grounds well maintained. We do take pride in the Hotel and what we do and it is lovely to hear when we get it right.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This has to one of my all time favourite hotels, we had a short stay in December 2012 and from the minute we arrived we felt welcome and relaxed.

Beautiful gardens and the character and charm of the building are really special. The food and service in the restaurant were top class.

Can't wait to go back for another break!

Room Tip: rooms that lead onto the large verandah are really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Shannon from Sydney

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Peppers Craigieburn. The gardens provide a beautiful setting for the Hotel which does have charm as you note. Great to read you loved the food and the service. I will share you kind comments with the staff whom enjoy hearnig when they have done well.

Look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Craigieburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Craigieburn

Address: Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Craigieburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the style and elegance of the original homestead, Peppers Craigieburn was originally built in 1887 and welcomed its first guests in 1909, with 2009 marking 100 years of exquisite stays, service and food. Within easy reach of Sydney, Canberra and the coast, Peppers Craigieburn is set in an area renowned for its national parks, antique shopping and cool climate wines ultimately offering an idyllic and relaxing escape. The retreat boasts 72 guest rooms spread across two wings with a selection of rooms featuring either views of the golf course or the landscaped gardens while premium accommodation includes an airy shared balcony with views designed for relaxation. All rooms include central heating, flat screen television, tub chair, minibar fridge, tea/coffee-making facilities, ensuite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, shampoo and toiletries, iron and ironing board and high speed wireless internet. Overlooking the picturesque garden estate and golf course, the retreat's signature restaurant Montfort's Restaurant has gained an enviable reputation in the Southern Highlands for fine food and a welcoming ambience. Prior to your dining experience at Montfort's Restaurant meet your friends for an aperitif in Montfort's Bar & Lounge. The retreat offers an idyllic and relaxing escape. Set on a picturesque country estate, this fully refurbished grand country home features its own private nine-hole golf course, billiards room, tennis courts and Endota Spa. When visiting Bowral and the Southern Highlands, you will be inspired by the beauty of the local area. Highland fresh air, fresh produce and friendly locals will ensure your stay at this retreat is one to be remembered. Important Information Commencing 27 November 2014 Peppers Craigieburn Restaurant and Bar will be undergoing refurbishment, for a duration of 8 weeks. During this time we will continue to provide full food and beverage options for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Craigieburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Craigieburn Hotel Bowral
Craigieburn Hotel Bowral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Craigieburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.