We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but comfortable. Eat elsewhere.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Craigieburn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Craigieburn to your Saves list
Peppers Craigieburn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Southern Highlands Winter
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average but comfortable. Eat elsewhere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here with a weekend package deal. The room, away from the main house, was comfortable but starting to look a little dated on the outside and bathroom. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast was good but the big disappoint was dinner at the restaurant. Overpriced and overcooked meals. Stay as a quiet base to explore the area but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear quinnek

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.

Great to read you found the staff friendly and helpfull. As we generally receive great feedback on the meals I am disappointed to learn that your dining experience was not to your liking, I will pass on your comments to the Executive Chef.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    87
    80
    56
    34
See reviews for
25
185
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merimbula, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Preparing a conference for 75 delegates is always a challenge, thank you to Jeanne, Jarrad, Mary Jane 'plus chef and kitchen staff' and 'all the Peppers team'. The accommodation, was immaculate, the grounds magnificent and the property after hours was a bonus for our delegates, to have free time relaxing in 'Montfords Bar, indoors and outdoors, also the fireside lounges which enabled those who preferred some time out to catch up with conversation, was such a bonus" thank you to all the Team as Peppers Craigieburn' it was great conference location which I would describe as a 'Touch of Class' ..... 2012 Annual Staff Conference MB

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Maggie 144_12

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Great to read your conference went well and the fantastic comments regarding the Peppers Craigieburn Team whom are very passionate about the Hotel what they do.

Look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for Friday and Saturday nights on a package including breakfast.

We had a room on the ground floor of the Terrace wing. This wing looks like it was built in the 1950s or 60s and is clearly and add-on to the original structure. Isn't particularly appealing in appearance but has been refurbished recently and well-maintained. From looking at the floorplans, this would be one of the larger rooms at the hotel but was still only average-sized. The bathroom was very small but well laid out and functional.

The room has some sort of vents above the door which mean that the room doesn't isolate sound very well. Only the 6 rooms on the ground floor of the Terrace wing seemed to have this. Thankfully the guests in the other rooms were quiet and we weren't disturbed.

Service levels were very high. All staff were very helpful, courteous and professional.

The breakfast in the hotel was acceptable. Bowral, about 5 minutes drive away, has quite a few decent cafes that would provide a better alternative if time and schedule permits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Lurch0001

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

Great to read that you found the service levels high, staff courteous and friendly and your room well maintained.

We hope to welcome you back to Peppers Craigieburn sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, the cost of the wifi is ridiculous, at the cost of the room it should be free, no way to open a bottle of wine in the the room had to go to the bar. Breakfast was disappointing the bacon looked like some open a pack and threw it on a tray in the oven,scrambled eggs powdery, had an issues with bags which I was apoligized too next morning. Lounge areas are nice to relax in. All in all nice grounds historic hotel, properly would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Travelscubatz

Thank you for providing your feedback.

The lounge areas are very comfortable and great to relax in, as are the grounds surrounding the Hotel as you kindly point out.

Like many Hotels the internet and wifi is provided by an outsourced company. Rates are set by them and we facilitate this service to our guests.

As all of our items in the minibar are screw top a bottle opener is not provided. However all of our bar and wait staff do carry one on their person and are able to assist when the need arises which was the case in your instance.

Regarding your comments on the scrambled eggs as the eggs are fresh and there is no additive other than cream I am a bit mystified as to the 'powdery' comment. I have however passed this feedback on to the Executive Chef along with your comments on the bacon.

I do apologise that your luggage was not delivered to your room in a timely manner and this has been addressed with the staff concerned.

It was great to hear from your wife at check-out that you did enjoy your stay.

I hope we do have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights on a "dash away dinner" package.

The restaurant had chaotic service. On the first night, we waited a long time for our meals. The food was terrible: cold, poorly cooked meat and fish, and not living up to the menu. Breakfast was also disappointing: curdled smoothies, dried out cooked items, no decent coffee. Overall, very poor, considering what local restaurants / cafes offer for a similar price.

The hotel was nice and in a pretty setting.

When we checked out, the bill was incorrect: around $200 too high. We had been charged for all dinner items, despite being on a package. And charged twice for some items. It took the receptionist some time to reconcile the account.

We would not return or recommend Craigieburn to anyone.

The restaurant let down the hotel and Peppers reputation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Nawis

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.

It is disappointing and concerning to read your comments on your Restaurant experience. Generally our Restaurant receives great feedback on the menu and meals. I have passed on your comments to the relevant Department Heads to investigate and ensure improvements are made in relation to your comments. With regards to the incorrect bill my apologies for this system error that should have been rectified prior to your checkout. Again this has been highlighted to the Department Manager.

We do appreicate your feedback as it helps us to identify areas requiring attention to improve on the guest experience.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My sister had her Wedding Ceremony and Reception here and we are so upset with the service of the hotel.
Firstly we had booked the elms balcony section for ONLY the girls from the bridal party so all our rooms had access to the balcony, but on the day found that they had booked someone from the public right next to the bridal sweat looking directly into our room that was supposed to have been occupied by the bridal party. We had photographers and everything there, but after we complained they moved this couple.
Secondly when my sister the Bride was about to walk out the front door onto the steps making her grand entrance for her ceremony, they didnt block this off for the wedding so they had public walking up the steps when we were l trying to walk out one by one for the ceremony!

There was many more problems we had that only came from the hotel not catering for weddings like they say they are renowned for.. But lastly what top it off for me was the hotel was trying to charge me for Internet usage, $408 on my departure.. I was so upset, i had never used the internet in my entire stay, they ended up not charging me for this but i had to plead with them that this was appalling..

Lastly the hotel is very nice in spring, the rooms are lovely and so is the décor, i would stay there again for a weekend away but my advise to weddings is that we spent many hours on email and telephone with the hotel and they and we are extremely disappointed that they could not help with the wedding ceremony and reception run smoothly.

Room Tip: The elms balcony rooms that overlook the golf course are lovley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi Haley M

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.

I am sorry to read that you felt the service was lacking during your sisters wedding which after investigating with staff concerned, was not brought to the Hotels attention at the time. I do appologise that guests were not stopped from entering the Hotel as the bridal party were descending the stairs. It is standard to have a staff member directing the traffic and I apologise that this was obviously not the case on this day. With regards to the room allocation as advised at time of booking there is no guarantee that all rooms will be located together however it was great to learn that the Reception staff were able to accommodate your request.

Thank you for your comments on the Hotel rooms and decor. We do hope you will visit with us again sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I think we were very lucky, we stayed two nights and the hotel was practically empty, although as we were leaving a work conference arrived so it's all about timing. They seem to do a roaring trade in weddings and conferences.
Ok nitty gritty, room was nice but a bit small, amenities good, bathroom very small. Location just lovely and with tennis courts and a golf course on the front lawn we made the most of it.
Practically had the golf course to ourselves.
We didn't eat there, we know quite a lot of good cafes in Bowral so it didn't seem sensible to overpay at the hotel - therefore not commenting on the food just that it looked a bit exxy.

This time of year the area was just stunning and Bowral is lovely (although full of old people) check out the cafes and the art gallery. Palate Pleasure cafe - great coffee and food.

Service was welcoming and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Just a note to Peppers, please think about including plunger coffee in room amenities (without charge) who drinks instant? Have stayed at Peppers in Port Douglas and they did this.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Beckert

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Southern Highlands, it definately is a magic time of the year to be here. Pleasing to note that you took advantage of our Golf course and the tennis courts.

Appreciate your comments on the staff friendliness and service which I will be sure to pass on. Note your comment on the plunger coffee, something to consider.

Look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Craigieburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Craigieburn

Address: Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Craigieburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the style and elegance of the original homestead, Peppers Craigieburn was originally built in 1887 and welcomed its first guests in 1909, with 2009 marking 100 years of exquisite stays, service and food. Within easy reach of Sydney, Canberra and the coast, Peppers Craigieburn is set in an area renowned for its national parks, antique shopping and cool climate wines ultimately offering an idyllic and relaxing escape. The retreat boasts 72 guest rooms spread across two wings with a selection of rooms featuring either views of the golf course or the landscaped gardens while premium accommodation includes an airy shared balcony with views designed for relaxation. All rooms include central heating, flat screen television, tub chair, minibar fridge, tea/coffee-making facilities, ensuite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, shampoo and toiletries, iron and ironing board and high speed wireless internet. A new dining experience awaits you with the opening of Hickory's Restaurant and Bar. Overlooking the original 9 hole golf course and offering a relaxed atmosphere and local produce inspired menu promises something for everyone's taste. The retreat offers an idyllic and relaxing escape. Set on a picturesque country estate, this fully refurbished grand country home features its own private nine-hole golf course, billiards room, tennis courts and endota Spa. When visiting Bowral and the Southern Highlands, you will be inspired by the beauty of the local area. Highland fresh air, fresh produce and friendly locals will ensure your stay at this retreat is one to be remembered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppers Craigieburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Craigieburn Hotel Bowral
Craigieburn Hotel Bowral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Craigieburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.