We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy atmosphere and fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Links House

Save Saved
You added Links House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Links House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Links Road, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Bowral
Wollongong
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this motel for our wedding anniversary. We stay in Bowral every year and have tried to book this motel on a number of occasions but it has been booked out.

We were both very impressed with the service we received. Staff are very professional and helpful.

We partically enjoyed the lounge area with open fireplace. We spent quite a few hours sipping champagne (and later port) by the fire. The music, soft lamps and furnishings made it feel like you were visiting someone's home.

The small onsite restaurant was also fantastic. I would definitely describe the restaurant as fine dining, the food was superb.

The rooms were simple but comfortable and very clean. You could hear doors opening and conversation in the corridor, but all the guests seemed to stay for the same reason, relaxation and time out, so noise was not an issue later at night.

We paid $210 a night for our room which included hot cooked breakfast for two. I thought this was quite reasonable for the service we received and will definitely stay here again next year.

  • Liked — The cosy sitting room with open fireplace
  • Disliked — Bathroom was small and pokey.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
62
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, NSW
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

The Links Hotel looks lovely in the photos and from the outside, but mostly we thought it was little more than a glorified motel.

We stayed there on a Sunday night for our one-year-together-anniversary and found the host was friendly, but not very disclosing of all the information we needed. For instance we had chosen Links on the basis of all the outdoor lawn games it had to offer as per their website, but when we asked the host about them she wasn't really sure where the game pieces were.

Also she did tell us about their DVDs available in the sitting room that we can borrow for the DVD players in our rooms, which was great, but at 10pm when we decided to watch the DVDs that we had borrowed earlier, we found the disks were missing and it was too late to ask for them. The host had forgotten to tell us to get the disks from the reception desk at the time.

There is a lovely sitting room at the front of the hotel with the DVD and book library, as well as a couple of games which we did play and a lovely looking fireplace. There is a bar there but it looked like more of a 'hobby' bar with ad hoc bottles everywhere instead of a professional looking bar. Our choice of sparkling wine was either very cheap or very expensive.

Our room was the 'Deluxe Queen' room which was just like a motel room, nothing more. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom had everything you needed but nothing four-star, not fancy at all. The room was fairly small and our biggest complaint was the lack of soundproofing as the corridoor outside echoed loudly every banging door and every conversation that took place in it. We felt like we had to talk in a hush the whole time in our room or people outside would hear us.

To our disappointment also the fabulous restaurant that everyone talks about was closed for the Sunday night which we weren't to know, and also as we booked through wotif.com we discovered upon arrival that breakfast was not included, making our 'discounted rate' actually more expensive in the end.

  • Liked — the location, the sitting room with books, games and DVDs
  • Disliked — did not meet expectations, too much noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flinders, NSW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Links House in March 2008. The house/hotel itself is beautiful, built in 1928 so has a historic charm to it. The courtyards were gorgeous and the living rooms (a common area for all guests) was decorated very nicely.

We stayed in a Queen room. Keep in mind this place was built in 1928. The room was long and narrow, you walk into a small sitting room with 2 seater lounge and tv, then step down through the open doorway into the bedroom which contains a bed, two bedside tables and a small table. It was quite small but enough for two people. The bedroom window looked out to the hedge outside. The bathroom was 70's style and quite small, just big enough for a shower, toilt and small hand basin.

We didnt have dinner at the onsite restaurant (although we wish we did as there is not much to offer in Bowral) but we did have breakfast there. It was included in the room rate and it was a-la-carte so you could pick off the menu and it was cooked fresh.

All in all I thought Links House was very nice and I would stay there again. I think it's a bit pricey for what it is (we paid $215 for a Saturday night) but then again everything in Bowral is. I dont know why though, Bowral wasnt nearly as nice as I thought it would be, its very developed and modern now. Next time I think I will stay in Berrima (about 10mins away) as it is a much smaller, quaint little town full of nice little shops, cafes and lots of history.

  • Liked — Historic charm
  • Disliked — Aging decor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

This hotel overlooks the golfcourse at Bowral. it has a lovely atmosphere, very comfortable lounge areas and several little courtyards perfect for a sitting and reading the paper etc. A very pleasant atmosphere with a homley feel.

The rooms are clean, nice, and comfortable, the only letdown is the bathroom that is a bit 70's style, but does have all the basics.

We had a family room which had two bedrooms and was very comfortable.

The hotel is a very short drive out of the town, and has a restaurant that has won a lot of awards. We only had breakfast which was fresh, fresh eggs, juice and coffee.

One of the things that made this hotel so good was the attention of the staff. I was on crutches during our stay and they went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable. As some of our family were also staying, we all ended up in our room and the staff noticed and brought chairs etc.

We will go back again as a couple, have dinner in the restaurant and enjoy a weekend there soon.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — 70's bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Police patrol for drink drivers frequently in this area - take a bottle of wine with you so you dont need to drink and drive
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House

Address: 17 Links Road, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Links House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Links House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links House Hotel Bowral
Links Hotel Bowral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Links House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.