We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Links House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Links House to your Saves list
Links House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Links Road, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice but tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights recently. I was staying in the Links Suite which is supposed to be their best room. While it was clean and spacious, the bathroom was very basic and tired. In fact the bathroom was not cleaned after the first evening. The front gardens are tidy the back were not well kept. The restaurant was nice. I felt that it was expensive for what it was and as such may not return when I next head to Bowral.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    53
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
34
78
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at Links House. Two same sex mates travelling together- not always easy to get a twin bed room but here we did!
The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Michael even found somewhere for us to stay the following night as Links House,was sold out. I'm not surprised.
Gorgeous open fire, great breakfast and delightful garden.
I highly recommend Links House and can't wait to return.
Thanks Caitlyn and Michael.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I held my daughter's 21st birthday party (a 1920s themed Murder Mystery event) at Links House last Saturday night. There were 25 of us - a large family group - who had gone all out with costumes, etc.

From the initial enquiry to the check out on Sunday morning I could not have asked for more. The quality of service at Links House is truly outstanding. The venue itself is a gorgeous 1928 guesthouse across the road from the golf course. And the food - aaah, the food - devine! However, nothing can beat the level of service. Lisa, Caitlin, Richard and Michael were all outstanding as were various other staff members who were all helpful, happy and delightful. The attention to guest comfort goes above and beyond. This is an outstanding venue that I cannot recommend highly enough.

Previous visits have included girls weekends and work conferences - all delivered with such professionalism and a never flagging level of service. Truly flawless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa v, General Manager at Links House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear EOGirl,

Thank you for your comments. It was indeed a great party and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your enthusiasm for Links House. It's important for us to know that we've managed to provide you with a great experience. That's what all of us at Links House strive to do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A great family function soured by miscommunication and charges above what was quoted. When is a family room a family room? Given a price for a Family room only to be hit with addition $65-00 per child (not quoted). Two adults and two children staying in room with queen and 2 singles. Shouldnt a family room price be inclusive of two adults and two children?
Not Happy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa v, General Manager at Links House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear MrsAShoalhaven,
As your accommodation was booked by the host of a function and not directly by you, and you had no direct communication with us prior to visiting Links House, we have ascertained that the rate for additional guests in our Family Suite was not conveyed to you.
We do not have any hidden costs. All our rates are clearly published on our website and our tariffs document at reception. The cost for additional guests in a Family Suite (or any room) is $65 per adult and $35 per child, including a full a la carte breakfast. We haven't increased our rates in four years due to the competitive market place we live in. Our rates have been published for that length of time.
It is really unfortunate that your weekend was affected to such an extent. Due to your comments, we will now be asking that all function guests book directly with us and therefore receive written confirmation of our tariffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went for a weekends golf with a team of boys from Sydney at the Bowral Golf Club.
We stayed at the Links last year, and since then, they've done up the rooms. Very good country accommodation. Friendly staff, and we ate every morning in the lovely dining room. Very homely, and probably one of the best options in Bowral. Over the years we have tried several, and this is definitly the pick of the best.
Going to return with the wife, for a relaxing weekend, has a lovely garden and a great reading room, all I can say is fabulous!

Room Tip: Room 6 was pretty good with a brand new bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Links House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel has a very nice, slightly older world feel to it (as does much of Bowral). The rooms are very comfortable and clean, though perhaps just a little dated. Our room had a bedroom, sitting area and small en suite bathroom. There is a lounge for guests and a dining room for breakfasts, which also doubles as a restaurant for dinner several nights a week. The included breakfasts were very good and we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant on one night. The dining room has a wonderful outlook across the garden to the Bowral Golf Course across the road. The staff at Links House were all extremely pleasant and helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. The hotel provided me with a discounted voucher to play golf at the Bowral Golf Course, which is an excellent course. The hotel is fairly pricey, but worth the money. No complaints whatever about Links House and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our first stay at Links House and it proved as inviting as many of the reviews suggest. The hotel has a nice feel to it and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room we had was more than large enough for two people, with nice ensuite bathroom, adequate hanging space for a short stay as well as two seats (I prefer to sit on chair than on the bed :-). (I think the stand alone Garden Room has a bath.) Despite the cool night, the room was very warm as were the hotel's common areas.
Drinks are available by the glass from the small bar in the Lounge and while there wasn't an open fire during our stay, I'm sure as the temperature drops, the common lounge area with fireplace would be very popular. The hotel restaurant was a treat, with very nice vegetarian, meat and fish options. The wine selection is small but sufficient with various local wineries also represented. Breakfast was included in the price.
As the name suggests, the hotel is opposite the Bowral Golf Course, around 2kms from the main shopping area of Bowral. There is plenty of off-street parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House

Address: 17 Links Road, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Links House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Links House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links House Hotel Bowral
Links Hotel Bowral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Links House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.