We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reliable food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rosso

Cafe Rosso
3 72 to 76 Station street and Bowral street, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
(02) 48616538
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 69 Restaurants in Bowral
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good reliable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although this is basically a cafe and seating a bit squashed their food is so very reliable, interesting and fresh and have to say have never had a bad meal there. Favourite place to meet a friend and enjoy some good food without breaking the bank!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
robertson
1 review
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Food is always fresh and a great selection of authentic thin crust Italian pizzas. Great 'bustling' cafe atmosphere during peak hour trades. Owner 'Sebastian' goes out of his way to make you feel welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

no one should be put off by the unusual location of this fantastic restaurant, sandwiched between Aldi and Farm foods we wondered if we had chosen wisely. It did not take us long to discover that we had stumbled across a little gem. The service was exceptional and the food excellent we will most definitely be returning and bringing friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Without a doubt this is the best restaurant in the Southern highlands. We eat here quite regularly for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The quality (and quantity) of their food is exceptional. The staff are attentive and friendly without being fussy. It is usually a hive of activity and fairly noisy which I love. There are lots of delicious menu selections and they have a specials blackboard which changes regularly. I never tire of the menu and there is always something new. They have a wonderful cake/dessert and wine selection also. No wonder this is the No. 1 restaurant in the Southern Highlands, it is well worth a visit and we shall keep going back.

Well Done Cafe Rosso !!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

On a weekend trip to the Southern Highlands, and being very familiar with most of the dining establishments in Bowral, we were prompted to try Cafe Rosso because of the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We were glad we did.

Away from the main tourist drag, we popped in for coffee and cake on Saturday afternoon. We were warmly greeted by a waitress who saw us admiring the huge variety of cake, slices and other dessert options in the display cake. She gave her recommendations and answered our questions before inviting us to take a seat.

The owner came to take our order and he was enthusiastic about what was on offer. I decided to try the unassumingly name Bread and Butter Pudding which was a vast distance away from your standard stodgy British-style pudding of the same name. This one's made with panettone and filled with layers of chocolate and fruit coulis. It was incredibly sweet and rich. I probably shouldn't have eaten it all but I did. So there.

My partner had the Slow-Baked Lime Tart which thankfully was not too sweet - it still had that tart lime tang.

The coffee was superb. Robust and full of flavour to the end. No bitterness.

We will return, but possibly not for dinner - the menu is incredibly meat-centric and we are pescetarians who prefer to be eat vegetarian most of the time. I'm sure the food is great, but judging by the blackboard menu we wouldn't have any vegetarian options, although pizza is a possibility.

Great service, friendly, a huge choice of desserts. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rosso also viewed

Bowral, New South Wales
Bowral, New South Wales
 
Bowral, New South Wales
Bowral, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.