We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weren't treated well” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bowral Thai

Bowral Thai
Shop 1 | 407 Bong Bong Street, Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opened last week. Great ambiance and food
Mittagong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Weren't treated well”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went here for a birthday function with a large group of friends, and felt that because we were a group of young people we weren't respected or treated equally. Our meals took an incredible 2 hours to come out, and music was only turned on after another group of people came in 3 hours after we arrived. The lady holding the function was called up the following day and told she had been charged wrong and had to go back to the restaurant to pay another $100, which was ridiculous as it was not her fault. I haven't been back since this very disappointing experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food, quick and large serves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had the duck and that was great. Service was also pretty good. BYO too. Good range of choices, prices were pretty standard for Thai

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this both for food, service and atmosphere. Although large the restaurant has been brightly and interestly decorated. The food is just fabulous, all the typical dishes but cooked beautifully and presented well. You can ask for any level of spice. Service fantastic. We have been 4 times and it is always very good. The roast duck curry is the best we have had. BYO as well. You will not be disappointed so give it a try as the people here deserve to be successful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice deco, food slightly above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

we had plans to head to moss vale for lunch but no one picked up the call. afraid that it might be closed we headed to bowral for thai after recommendation from the staff at fitzroy falls. after taking the first left to bong bong st i immediately saw a thai restaurant and went in. we ordered a green curry, pad ee sew, pad thai and a veg. the food met my expectations and we were all quite satisfied with what we had. the staff were pretty friendly. definitely worth a try if you're around the town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Bowral Thai must try harder”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Worth a visit but its all a bit sketchy.
A victim of its own success I suggest.
Bowral Thai needs to rethink customer care.
Lacklustre service
Menu not what it once was.
Waiting times for food not acceptable.
Sort yourself out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowral Thai also viewed

Bowral, New South Wales
Bowral, New South Wales
 
Bowral, New South Wales
 

Been to Bowral Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowral Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.