We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back. Great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxley Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oxley Motel to your Saves list
Oxley Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   535 Mossvale Road, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back. Great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for one night and couldn't fault it. I read some of the prior reviews, and I guess some people just expect too much. I paid $95 for a standard room on a Thursday night. I got a clean room, with a comfy bed. If you want more than that, then pay the extra $50-$100 extra somewhere else. I found Bill and his wife lovely people, and very obliging. I'll stay at the Oxley anytime. Cheers Marc.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Bowral is a country town located a little over an hour south of Sydney. Along with Moss Vale, Berrima and Mittagong, Bowral forms part of a wider area known as the Southern Highlands.

Here, among wooded surrounds, you will find an array of attractions including wineries, antique bric a brac stores, cafes and (for the cricket enthusiasts) the Bradman Oval and Museum.

Its all sounds lovely and it is, I’ve lived there in an earlier life. But taking a family of four down for an overnight stay is easier said than done. Whilst there is a selection of upmarket properties and guesthouses available, rigid minimum two night stay policies at many, along with decidedly Sydney rates make these expensive options for a family.

At the other end of the spectrum there are a couple of caravan parks with villas (booked solidly). Sitting in the middle somewhere you have a handful of reasonably priced motels. The Oxley Motel is one of these.

The Oxley Motel is located at the Burradoo end of Bowral. You’ll need to car to visit Bowral, which is a quick 5 minute drive away. It offers a selection of rooms configured in standard, deluxe and executive categories. Some are configured with single beds enabling four people to stay in one room. Whilst this fact hardly seems worthy of mention you’ll be hard pressed to find other lodgings in the Highlands (at short notice) that enable a family to occupy one room for one night.

As far as our room is concerned, it’s clean and had some nice updated touches including a plasma flat screen television and quality refreshments. The beds are adequate. The bathroom is compact, basic but clean. There are reserved car spots outside the accommodation wing. The grounds are well maintained. The room temperature was regulated by a wall mounted reverse cycle air con system. Breakfast can be organised (well priced). Our hosts were pleasant and efficient.

It was a very adequate stay.

For the price paid, the Oxley Motel affords a clean, comfortable stay for a family looking for a bed for the night. It also provided me a sense of nostalgia because, as a kid, this was the sort of place that I remember pulling into for the night during weekend trips down the coast where your front door was operated with a key rather than a plastic security card.

If you want to stay longer, it’s a very adequate option and the money you’d save by bypassing the more expensive accommodation choices could be re-directed into paying for breakfast and coffee in Bowral cafes which, for the most part, offer "country" hospitality but charge “city” prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had to stay here urgently to be near Hospital and it was the cheapest I could find so that was good. Room had a very strange smell in it and after searching, found it in bathroom. Had to keep door closed and still smelt it. Only windows are onto carparking area and people walk past room so can't really have curtains open anyway. No breakfast included which would have been good. Anyway it was OK for a short stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst exploring the higland villages of Mittagong and Bowral. The owner/manager appeared to be friendly and helpful, tho we didn't ask him for any info on the area.

The room was very clean, neat and quite comfortable. Well appointed with everything we needed. As it was a cold night we decided to 'eat in' and stay and so the good size TV with extra channels was very welcomed.

I agree with one of the other reviews in regards to the hardness of the bed - ours too in rm 26 was very 'firm'. The only other down side to the room was that the bathroom was very small - for me this wasn't too much of a problem but for someone on a larger build it would be a very tight squeeze.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Vic Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our second stay and it was as pleasant as our first. Room decor is getting a bit dated now however everything is in good order and very clean. We stayed a second night on the way back from Sydney and it was a Friday. The lady quoted us $130 and said it was due to it being a Friday and part of the weekend rates. However when we came to pay the man on the desk gave us a bill for $160 which I naturally queried. He insisted that we wouldn't have been quoted $130 which made me feel a bit uncomfortable. I later checked their website and it does show $160.00 as he said so I'm mystified why we were quoted the $130.00. At $160.00 it is definately not worth it and is overpriced. I will avoid staying there again on a Friday or Saturday. Pity about that.

Room Tip: Double check your rate when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This motel is great to use as a base to explore the area. We stayed for three days and drove around the district each day. It was comfortable to come back and rest here. It was spotless clean and we negotiated a very good price. The location is good and it's nice and quiet. Recommend!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had unit 21 a family room which has a double bed and two single beds.It is tucked back between two other units in a corner and is very dark inside. Our main complaint is that the beds are very hard and uncomfortable and all 4 of us had back ache and little sleep. The rooms near the front also cop all the traffic noise all night.On the final morning we were woken by a huge compressor on a trailer at 6.30am with deafening noise that was still continuing when we checked out. Even if this was a council operation the motel was aware this was happening and should have informed us. The motel does have wifi internet but it wasn't accessible in our unit, probably because it was tucked in the corner, we had to go outside to get internet. It is really necessary to have internet as the owners didn't seem to know much of attractions in the Southern Highlands for example "Glow worm Glen" at Bundenoon which is commonly known amongst locals. The unit wasn't clean enough for us, there was mould in the bathroom and thick dust along the top of the curtain pelmet. The bathroom is very small for a family room. I know this is considered a budget motel but I still expect more for $160 a night.Saturday and Sunday night were charged at this $160 a night and the Monday was charged at $120. We would have moved on after one night but we had already booked with credit card. I didn't expect luxury just a comfortable bed and cleanliness. On the plus side the rooms were well serviced and all bathroom and tea coffee amenties are well stocked daily, The motel is in a good position in town as it is just far enough out to be away from crowds but near enough to be in town quickly.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here ask for the Deluxe rooms that are at the back of the property. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxley Motel

Address: 535 Mossvale Road, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bowral
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxley Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oxley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.