We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Duck is still hungry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Duck

Hungry Duck
85 Queen St, Berry, Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Berry
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The Duck is still hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This restaurant is still exceptionally good value and great food. A reason to visit Berry. The banquet is still the way to go. Could do without wait staff calling us "you guys" , it use to be a bit more professional but have to remember it is a country town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    15
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Innovative cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Hungry Duck twice during our Australian visit and neither visits were disappointing. The cuisine is excellent with Japanese/Chinese leanings. I had the duck three ways on both visits but my family enjoyed the other dishes. The young staff are very friendly and professional. A restaurant outside of Sydney of this quality is a real gem and if you are in the area it is a sin not to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in the South Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It's not cheap but the quality of the food here really surprised us. Everything was delicious and awesome. This was the first time we've had elite Sydney level cuisine on the south coast. The duck 3 ways was a highlight. The service was great.

Only one minor negative point, the rice pudding desert was overly creamy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delightful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by a very friendly girl and she continued to be pleasant and helpful throughout our meal. We had the 5 course banquet which at $50 was a bargain. The signature duck curry dish and the lemon/lime tart were delicious. We were very full at the end! The wine list included several local wines. All of the wines on the list are over $30 but seem to be indicative of wine lists everywhere nowadays. You can bring your own wine for a corkage fee of $5 per person so that would work out cheaper. Will definitely be back next time we're in Berry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We had the 5 course banquet with one extra dish. The food came quickly and was tasty and light. The service was fantastic. BYO helped with the prices, which in any event were fairly reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Duck also viewed

 
Berry, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Hungry Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Duck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.