We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place...great people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage

Save Saved
You added The Anchorage to your Saves list
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchorage
2 West St, Bermagui, New South Wales 2546, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place...great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Anchorage while attending a funeral in Bermagui. Had one of the newer 2 bedroom apartments and it was in immaculate condition. Self-contained with modern amenities, the Anchorage was a perfect place for a family of four to stay.
Had a great shower, good size rooms, air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen. Only a 20 minute walk from the centre of Bermagui, it was quiet and peaceful.
We had some bad news on the morning that we were leaving and the manager, Susan, could not have been more understanding. Made it clear that we could stay as long as we needed to and that there was no hurry. You don't get this type of kindness everywhere!
Have no hesitation recommending the Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Firstly: To those reading or past reviwers - This is a 3 1/2 star place. There are old units and new ones. Half the place has been renovated and are privately owned, half are more, budget (definitely easier on the wallet) and more "fisherman friendly" apartments. Ask for units 1-6. They are the nice ones. But more expensive.
This is the place I dream of when going on holidays. The owner is lovely, the peace and quiet is to die for, the view and accessibility is great. Could not ask for more. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-6 are the most newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our family decided to visit Bermagui to celebrate my hubby's birthday. I had read all the reviews about "The Anchorage" prior to booking and I was very satisfied with what I read. The hotel claims to be a "three and half star" sort of place and even the previous review ratings on this website was also positive. So be booked the place for three nights. We got there on the first night, the place was old and very out of date! The bathroom had probably been cleaned using only water and no detergent as it smelled of urine and mold. The kitchen cabinets had a very foul smell attached to it, even to this day I still can not figure out what it was! But to top it off, the main bedroom smelled of cat urine. On the first night, we had trouble sleeping due to the smell. So we confronted the owner the next day- Carolyn the owner quickly got on the defensive line and claimed that the property was beautiful and that she did not understand what we were complaining about. I asked her when was the carpet steamed cleaned, as I could see that it looked like it was very dated and dirty. The owner could not even give me an answer! This is obviously not a place for young children and it was old, dirty and smelly-even our three year old son complained! So if you have read anything positive about this place on tripadvisor, I'd say you must question it- as I do not think that the comments on here are "reliable". We witnessed it first hand, and booked because of the positive comments, but we were disappointed when we got there as the place is NOT A THREE AND HALF STAR Hotel! More like a ONE AND A HALF STAR Hotel!

Room Tip: Do not book room 7 as it is smelly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapphire Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay. Very quiet. Check-in was easy and they made adjustments for my oversight when booking. All in all....excellent value and a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in January had a great time the kids loved it very relaxing and friendly atmosphere especially around the BBQ area at night some of the units are renovated very nice the others need some work but very clean.
managers are very nice and friendly great holiday

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: 2 West St, Bermagui, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bermagui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Specialty lodging in Bermagui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.