We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot but better in the old location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salina Restaurant

Salina Restaurant
626 Pacific Highway, Belmont, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2280, Australia
02 49 453005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 restaurants in Belmont
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Modern Italian with gourmet pizzas
Speers Point, Australia
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Great spot but better in the old location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Food here is great and service levels hard to beat but the new location in the Belmont CBD does not stack up in terms of atmosphere against the old location down at marks Point. Great menu!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    20
    12
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Don't judge the place by it's inconspicuous street front. It is a warm and inviting place. The service is attentive and restrained. I had the gnocchi with leek, gorgonzola and walnut sauce, which was very generously sized as a main, the gnocchi easily ceded to the bite, the sauce was flvoursome, with each component shining through. My wife had the veal with provolone and eggplant, which was good, although the breadcrumb coasting was a little dark for my liking. Our companions had the penne and the fish, both of which were flavoursome and generous. There were many more options on the menu that I could have chosen - soft shell crab, pizzas, scallops. The desserts looked good, but we did not have any as we were too full. Nice to offer BYO.

A couple of suggestions: The quality of the bread to start could be improved. It was soft and generic. A nice crusty loaf with some texture and flavour would be better.
The specials board looked a little shabby. No need to deviate from the classic chalkboard in my opinion.
The large clock projected onto the wall could be seen as slightly offputting, but can't be seen from most of the restaurant.

We later realised that there was a large outdoor dining area that would be good for kids.
We will be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and Byo was a good extra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

We went here with our two adult children and had great meals. My wife had the prawns in a tomato sauce and she loved it. I shared the Italian sausage pizza and 2 of the pastas with my kids and we could not fault any of them , they were fantastic.
The service was great and being byo was a added bonus and reasonable corkage .
We all walked out full and satisfied.....

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaxland NSW
1 review
“Salina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

True Italian food and great wine, loverly outlook over the water and the most friendly staff

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, what else can i say?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i have been eating at Salinas for years, from its inception at the old location at Belmont South.

The new location at Belmont provides the same great food and service and is a much nicer, bigger restaurant, with a fantastic private function room and cosy outdoor areas.

Robert is always a great host and has looked after us well for years. Sometimes its busy, sometimes its noisy, but the food is always outstanding and the service personal.

I wouldn't know what to do without having Salinas close by, it is definately the best restuarant Lake Macquarie has to offer. If you haven't tried it yet, you should, you will not be dissapointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salina Restaurant also viewed

Belmont, Lake Macquarie
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
 
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Salina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.