We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Easter ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmont Bayview Caravan Park

Belmont Bayview Caravan Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belmont Bayview Caravan Park to your Saves list
Belmont Bayview Caravan Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   1 Gerald Street, Belmont, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2280 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Easter ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Thanks to Tony for making our stay so enjoyable. We booked up at short notice to spend a weekend away from home but didn't expect to end up with such a relaxing and friendly long weekend. Next year we'll book!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed at this beautiful caravan park a few weekends ago. We were warmly greeted by the manager and he gave us fresh milk for our coffee. The cabin was clean spacious and comfortable. There was a cute ample kitchenette, well fitted out. We were amazed at the bird life that was evident throughout the lovely grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

On arrival we had to wait in the boilin hot because the office wasnt open middle of the day for half an hour till she turned up and she was rude and abrupt and we noticed this was the same for the rest of the week. The room was discusting hadnt been aired smelt of high grade disinfectant though i dont know what it was used on. There was no screen on door nor was there on window so couldnt have either open for air without being swarmed by mosquitos which there are thousands. Likely due to the fact the villa was on a pool on the lake and it didnt look like the grass had been cut in months. I found snot on the duvet cover above the sheet and after close inspection of inside cleaning van and of cleaners take every morning i noticed they never changed or washed these!! only sheet revolting. My partner turned the spa on much to my dissmay after seeing how filthy the rest of the place was and after when it had drained there was black and dead skin cells every where. DO NOT USE THE SPA YOU ARE JUST BATHING YOURSELF IN OTHER PEOPLES BODY LOSES HAIR SKIN ETC seeing the state of the place the filth on the bathroom walls etc knowing the covers on beds dont get cleaned i cant fathom the though they would ever cleab the jets on the spa and these suck in all your filth and spit them back out. $100 a night + completely discusting place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, Manager at Belmont Bayview Caravan Park, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
These guests asked to extend their stay. The extended booking was rejected because of some serious issues which occurred over their stay. The review should be read in this context.
Guests stayed in February the review was made on a mobile in March
The park has a 2pm checkin which is highlighted on the receipt
Fly Screens are located on windows not the door.
The park employs a gardener 2 1/2 days per week Therefore the gardens and lawns are always immaculate
Bedspreads are cleaned on a regular basis not after each booking
The park has never had a complaint about our SPAs. All spas were checked after the complaint . These spas which are emptied and latter cleaned after each use were found to be in perfect working order
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in one of the luxury cabins with spa bath and 2 rooms for a long weekend. The park is easy to find and in the lovely small town of Belmont. The town has good supermarkets and shopping strip within 10 min. walking distance and 2 min. drive of the park. Be aware a lot of the take-aways close Sunday afternoon and night.The caravan/cabin park is set within reasonably pretty gardens with a swimming pool and BBQ's. The cabin was expensive for what we got, if the price was halved I would say it was reasonable value! We paid AUD$100 per day. There is a kitchenette with a reasonable size gas stove/oven and a reasonable size fridge/freezer. It was all very clean. There is some cooking equipment, I would suggest you don't try to be too ambitious with the cooking, but normal cooking needs are catered for. There are two 2-seater lounges which are reasonably comfortable and a dining table in the kitchenette area. There is no air conditioner in the room so it gets very hot. If you close up and put the bedroom airconditioner on powerblast, it does come through to the lounge but only moderately. If you don't have the curtains closed there is not much privacy as people walk past your door, but if you do close them, its dark inside. A net curtain, additional to the other curtains, would perhaps be a good idea. The TV is modern and small, but adequate. There are plenty of plugs through the unit. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was new. The spa bath was great. Next to the Queen bed there was only one bedside cabinet, with one bedside light!! We brought the cabinet and light in from the second room - I think it would be sensible to have another cabinet and light next to the main bed. Wardrobe space was adequate. There is a fold-up washline that can be stood on the small verandah and there is a large table and chairs on the verandah. The cabin was very clean and we never saw any insects. There are wild bunnies around in the grounds which was lovely to watch. There is nothing luxurious about the cabin but its perfectly adequate. I would suggest to the owners to put a canvas picture on the wall in the lounge; to include some privacy curtaining for when the blockout curtains are open; have another cabinet and bedside light in the main room; and put a small UHT box of milk in the fridge as a welcome along with the teas and coffees already supplied. It wouldn't cost much but would add a nice touch for those who arrive and would like a cuppa before heading out to the shops. I think the cabin is way overpriced for what it is, but you can be comfortable in it. There is plenty of parking right outside the cabin. The cabins are not serviced, perhaps you can have them serviced for an additonal fee, but not sure. The Park advertises there is free wi-fi and while that is true, it is very difficult to pick it up and keep it - we found it impossible with our smartphones from where we were at any time, or with the tablet, and we did pick up the wi-fi with our laptop but the signal was weak, fluctuating and non-existent at times, dropping out a lot. I would suggest you don't depend on it working. It was very quiet esp. at night. Blackbutt Reserve with Australian flora and fauna, beautiful gardens and BBQ's is about 15 mins drive north of Belmont if you are visiting the area.

Room Tip: Book a while in advance to get better prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Booked 2 bedroom spacious cabin (yes bedrooms are a decent size) dining, lounge and kitchen all in one room.. Good luck trying to find any bench space to actually cook on, the rusted a/c unit was located in main room so that was useless trying to cool down the cabin and it was loud and noisy to the point of the windows shaking. Very little money has been invested in this holiday park to make it attractive, the lounge was so uncomfortable, the dining table and chairs took up a majority of the lounge room.. The king size bed was a joke, two single beds pushed together to make it a king, again it's shows how costs have been cut, the verandah had no railing, cockroaches throughout the cabin especially at night.. Don't waste your time or money with this place, I regret staying here and will never return. The curtains and furniture are outdated, there is no fly screen on the main door so trying to get a cool night breeze is a no go unless you want to be eaten alive by insect

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in a 2BR cabin with a spa. It was over priced and cockroach infested. It was un serviced even though we stayed for five nights. The floors were filthy and the bedding was inadequate. The master bedroom consisted of two singles shoved together and there were no spare pillows. The cabin reeked but we couldn't identify the smell. No lake views and inadequate air conditioning. The spa was good and so was the swimming pool but I would never set foot here again and would definitely not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom 'Cabin 2' for 2 nights in Dec '13. The only air-con (old style) is in the main bedroom at the rear of the cabin and the cool air does not reach the lounge room at the front of the cabin even after many hours. They don't tell you that the wi-fi only works in the lounge room and not in either bedroom. There were cockroaches visibly running about in the kitchen/lounge if you went in that room at night after lights out. I had read reviews warning about the rude staff but decided not to heed them. I found the staff friendly and professional except the manager's wife (?), my experience was that she was very rude, almost as if she didn't realise she was working in a customer service industry. Spa bath had great pressure and was very relaxing. The oven is gas. Great location near the lake.

Room Tip: Don't choose cabin 2 if you want/need internet access in bedrooms, as it only works in lounge ro...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmont Bayview Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Bayview Caravan Park

Address: 1 Gerald Street, Belmont, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2280 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Belmont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Belmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belmont Bayview Caravan Park 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Belmont Bayview Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Bayview Caravan Park Lake Macquarie, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmont Bayview Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.