We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to relax and unwind with amazing mountain views, gorgeous rooms and superb service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay to your Saves list
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
100 Binna Burra Rd, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ReConnect
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bangalow
Thirroul, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to relax and unwind with amazing mountain views, gorgeous rooms and superb service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in the pool cabana room. Room was clean, spacious, had a super comfy bed, and had the most amazing uninterrupted views of the Byron Hinterland. Francesca was so friendly and helpful, almost felt like when you have a friend you haven't seen for ages but still know each other so well! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    14
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
69
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We returned home today after 3 nights at SummerHills. I want to thank Francesca for her incredible hospitality, this lovely retreat is run like a home. Everything was spotless and our suite was beautifully appointed with everything we needed. Incredibly comfortable and so quiet. It rained the entire time but it didn't matter at all. Its a fair drive to Byron but I think that's the good news. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you Francesca.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend, as a couple who like to "get away for the weekend" and relax, this was a perfect place to do do. The mountain views and fresh air were just what we needed, as well as the excellent hospitality of the owners/manager, who welcomed us like family and went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. We stayed in the "The Cabana" Suite and found it to be peaceful, relaxing and with the stunning views from the spa made it even better. The two days spent there were not nearly enough and would go back in a heart beat, as this was like "heaven on earth" for us. Big thanks to Graham and Francesca for the hospitality. I think we have found our weekend getaway retrest for the future. Look forward to visiting there again soon!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in the Cabana Spa Cabin for a weekend and felt the accommodation to be very sub-standard and extremely overpriced with very little privacy especially as it was against the pool. We had to shut the curtains to the lounge and escape to the balcony, where the wooden latch barriers were not entirely private, especially when in the spa. The decor was not comfortable and the lounge was designed poorly in terms of the layout and relaxation. The only spot to really relax was sitting on the bed due to the bad layout. The outdoor spa and view was lovely to the hills, but inside layout was not luxurious at all. The bathroom seemed to be the only renovated area and upon entering the accommodation we were immediately disappointed. We spent most of the weekend out of the cabin, as it was not comfortable. The tropical fruit basket was underwhelming and the place was really cold, despite blankets etc. I think this is more like a cabin and less like a spa retreat and should be priced accordingly. As an aside I would not classify this as a gay friendly or private retreat.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHillsRetreat, Owner at SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you “SafariB” for taking the time to write this review for us. We welcome all feedback, both negative and positive. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the open air spa bath and the panoramic views of the NightCap Ranges mountains. As this is our premium suite, the views from this cabin are quite spectacular and the best of the whole retreat. We are sorry to hear though that you did not enjoy other aspects of the cabin. “The Cabana” is clearly described as a “poolside cabin” and also as being open-plan. These main features are clear in all our descriptions and so it is unclear why this was a surprise. This poolside location is very refreshing and as our most popular cabin, “The Cabana” is requested the most by our regular guests due to this premium position. However the hours around the pool are strictly 9am-9pm, therefore between 9pm-9am, guests enjoy full privacy at this cabin. We have another cabin, the “Forest Retreat”, which is completely private at all times as it is located in a secluded part of the Retreat. It is our most private accommodation and we would have booked this cabin for you had you made your reservation over the phone rather than booking through a third party website. If you have specific needs and a personal preference for a particular layout of a room, then we usually find it is best to ring the property directly to make your booking over the phone. This is so that the property manager is able to match the right accommodation to best suit your specific personal needs.

Regarding the layout of the room, being an open-plan cabin, the wall mounted Plasma TV is hinged to the wall with a swivel arm and perhaps you did not notice this? The swivel arm allows the TV to be easily re-positioned at anytime so that it can be watched from either the bed or the lounge position. This is another great a feature of this cabin. The cabin also features full reverse cycle air conditioning which allows you total temperature control with the personal remote control provided. This was explained to you upon check-in. Regarding the breakfast basket, it was overflowing with local seasonal produce including “leg ham off the bone” that was specifically requested by yourself upon your arrival.

SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay accommodation is also a Retreat with only 4-5 couples at any one time. Being a retreat that is situated on 113 acres (a total of 1 kilometre squared), it is one of the most private retreats in Australia. SummerHills Retreat has a 2km walk and a 4km hike, a saltwater pool, luxurious pamper menus, and is very quiet and serene. With its’ spectacular views, it is an ideal place to relax and unwind. However overall, it is a shame that you did not express your personal disliking to us at the office neither during nor at the end of your stay. As you can read from the dozens of other “excellent” reviews on Tripadvisor, our service is described as “will do anything for you” and “will bend over backwards for you” and similar comments along these lines. We therefore pride ourselves on our outstanding level of personal service. Our guests’ comfort is of utmost importance to us, therefore had we been made aware of your unhappiness, we would have been more than happy to relocate you to a different suite that may have better suited your personal preferences. Also we were not aware that people of different orientations required alternate accommodation. As we pride ourselves in welcoming guests from all walks of life, we are indeed gay friendly and open to all and we do not discriminate in any way - we are accepting of everybody.

We hope that you will visit us again “SafariB” and we would recommend that perhaps our “Hibiscus” spa villa may have better suited your personal preferences in terms of layout and location at the retreat. However, “The Cabana” being our premium suite, it is our only cabin with the open air spa bath overlooking the mountain ranges and is a very special cabin with these very unique and most popular features.

Kind Regards
Francesca & Graham
Owner/Managers
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay accommodation Bangalow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffs habour
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed a two night stay here - christmas present from my sister. Coming back here from byron felt like we were really retreating from the hasle of the coast. The views and the gardens are fabulous. Just wish we'd had a cracker for the many macadamia nuts lying on the ground. . Francesca was sympathecic to our needs for a second bedroom as apparently I snore (funny, it doesn't bother me) and we just felt totally cossested. from the moment we checked in, drank the champagne and set the spa bath in motion. Luckily there were loads of towels to mop up the overflowing bubbles. I loved the way they have set up an extra kitchen and dining area which gives you loads of options and were so relaxed about us staying on on the day of departure until we had to drag ourselves away. It was easy to drive into Bangalow to find great food and if you don't have a car or want to driink apparently you can have some delivered of use a local taxi.. Francesca really showed us the lengths she'd go to to ensure we had had a good time. On checking in I discovered I'd left my wallet at the place we had lunch at - about four hours drive away. She just said leave it with me and proceeded to telephone, establish that it had been handed in, sort out a courier to collect it and bring it to us, had discount vouchers for this so it didn't cost a fortune, chased them up when they didn't follow through at first and succeeded in getting it there before we left. Things like that mean that the rating of excellent isn't really enough. Just get a macadamia nut cracker and it will truly be heaven on earth., Hope to go back there one day.

Room Tip: if you didn't need a second bedroom I'd choose the spa room by the pool or the garden cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Summer hills was a perfect place for our young family to stay. Rooms were spacious which enabled us to spend some time inside and the children were able to play.Cesca was so helpful to us and made our stay memorable with personal touches. We will be sure to return the next chance we get.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My daughter and I came to Summer Hills for my birthday in Oct 2012. We were looking for a quiet retreat to "get away from it all". The cottage we had was bigger than some of my friends houses and was immaculate!. We enjoyed having quiet mornings at the retreat then heading down the hill to busy Byron Bay. In the evenings we went into town for dinner and Francesca made sure we had reservations at the best tables and the food was fabulous! It was a nice escape from a busy day at Byron. Best birthday ever!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay

Address: 100 Binna Burra Rd, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bangalow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bangalow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Private Sanctuary Retreat, this beautiful Bangalow accommodation is set on 113 lush acres in the picturesque Byron Bay hinterland, cocooning just 4 couples or singles at one time. Offering self-contained spa cabins & spa villas, each suite has either tropical garden or mountain views, air conditioning, personal spa bath, own kitchen/kitchenette, bathrobes, LCD TV, DVD player and access to a gas bbq and outdoor timber setting. Facilities on-site include 12m Saltwater Swimming Pool, Snooker Room, Massage & Beauty Pamper menus and Nature Walks (2km & 4km). This tranquil Bangalow accommodation is close to the vibrant village of Bangalow (4 mins) and near the heart of Byron Bay (14 mins). Close to excellent beaches, world class shopping and outstanding restaurants, this is Byron Bay hinterland accommodation at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, T4B, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.