We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another perfect lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilianas Cafe - CLOSED

Lilianas Cafe
471 Friday Hut Road | Possum Creek, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia
(02) 6687 2292
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mullumbimby, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“another perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

everything is perfect here, the setting, the really nice people and the fresh, beautiful food. a lot of thought must have been put into every aspect of this restaurant. Prawn pasta is outstanding. fish is always perfect, but the salads and vegetables are thew best part. service is like old friends giving you a treat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mullumbimby, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Every meal has been beautiful at this restaurant. Service is friendly, yet proffesional. Liliananas has a great, relaxing feel.....yet its a top notch place. Menu is so good its hard to know what to order, chef is wonderful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Position, Ambiance, Service and Great Food. What more could we ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place is a real gem, and well worth the drive. Liliana's is in a restored and extended old school building - and the extensions are wonderfully sympathetic. It has a verandah around 2 sides, with a half wall and adjustable screens to protect from the elements. There is also seating inside. On a previous visit one of our party could see a local koala in a nearby tree. It is in a small rural community, with rainforest and farmland surrounds. The service was faultless: attentive , friendly, but never intrusive. The food was wonderful: making use of the less usual grains such as big couscous and quinoa, and drawing on local produce. They make their own pasta and breads. Even our fussier members of the party found something on the menu to suit them. I had the best Chai Latte I have ever had - not the usual sickly sweet concoction. And the range of desserts - the pastry chef is not using any Weight Watchers recipes! Fabulous!
Word does seem to have got around - so make sure you ring before going - you may need to book. But their reputation is totally deserved.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“FRUSTRATING but...............the food was fabulous!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were recommended Lilianas Cafe by the owner of the holiday rental we were staying at. We are huge foodies and dine out frequently. We decided to go for breakfast and upon arrival we were very impressed by the gorgeous old building that Lilianas occupies - an old school room that has been beautifully converted.

Unfortunately our first impressions were far from lasting! From the very second we walked in the service was just beyond description - I simply cannot find the words to describe how truly appalling this service was! No pleasantries or any sort of welcome for that matter - just ushered to a dirty table that didn't even have enough seats to accommodate our party. Luckily enough I had wet wipes in my handbag and had to wipe down our table as it is was sticky and just plain gross! Not something, in my opinion, that one should have to do at a cafe that is held in such high regard.

Took about 5 mins to even get a menu to review, so the bar was already sent pretty low! After yet another lengthy wait we eventually got to order! I would like to clarify that this cafe was not operating at capacity and we could clearly see empty tables but yet lots of staff running around looking rather miserable and hugely unproductive. What was interesting about the menu was the 'Breakfast Degustation". First time we had come across a breakfast version of degustation and thought we would give this a try. Along with this we ordered coffees and meals for our children. Quite some time had passed before coffees arrive, in fact some the degustation courses had already been served and cleared and yet still no coffees!!! We did enquire as to where they were only to have some grumpy older man huff and puff his way to the counter to follow up the order. He did return with coffees but they were not what we had ordered so he took them away. He returned sometime later, meanwhile all food had been served, and yet again they were not our coffees and clearly belonged to another table!! I mean how hard is it to serve a coffee???!!!! Isn’t this the basics of operating a cafe??? Third attempt they eventually got it right but no apologies offered, actually quite the opposite, this grumpy man actually got rather cranky instead of being apologetic..........needless to say this gentleman should not be in the hospitality industry as he is far far far away from a "people person" and clearly finds no joy whatsoever waiting tables.

So to sum it up, the food was AMAZING!! I cannot speak more highly of the quality, presentation and overall taste with the food served at Lilianas Cafe - it is up there with one of the best breakfasts I have had. "BUT"...........yes the dreaded "BUT"! The service is beyond revolting and I would struggle spending my money there again as great as the food was. There are too many great places around Byron Bay’s Hinterland that I would rather go to where the service is 100% better and they appreciate your custom. Such a shame!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It is wonderful when you are warmly greeted at the door. The staff were friendly, gracious and helpful. I had the prawn linguine and the flavours were great. My wife had the lamb cutlets and they were tender and bursting with flavour. We capped it all of with the Argentinian pavlova and chocolate brownie. Beautiful pastries by Mark Conroy. Looking forward to trying their breakfast soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lilianas Cafe also viewed

Bangalow, New South Wales
 
Bangalow, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilianas Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.