We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangalow Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bangalow Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bangalow Guesthouse
99 Byron Street, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia (Formerly Riverview )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Bangalow B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a great 2 nights stay at the guesthouse, the staff were extremely helpful.
The place was clean and tidy and had a very homely feel about the place.
Had a great breakfast to start the day.
Highly recommended!!

Andy ( Perth)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
28
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The website for this place is/was (they've since changed it since i suggested i was un-happy) great, luring me to book as a result of the fantastic breakfast on offer. Now i'm a BIG foody and that type of thing turns me right on. Sadly it was an anti-climax at 8AM the following morning as warm scrambled eggs and salmon does not constitute for what was on offer (and to me, thats a contract!). Luckily i'd kept a copy of the menu which was available on-line at the time of booking (and at the time of departure) and i see now it's very different. I have emailed the 'owners' telling them how disappointed we all were and as yet i await a reply. I hope that the reviewers before us got their refund (i too have asked for a refund) and i will add further comments to this as & when i hear back from the owners. Don't even get me started on checking in.....that was a comedy sketch in itself. Watch this space my fellow trip advisians and please don't book until you know what your money buys you!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed over the Easter weekend and what a wonderful time was had by all!
The guesthouse is the perfect location to explore Byron's hinterland, not to mention the beautiful village of Bangalow, which is just a minute walk up the road, and Byron an easy ten minute drive away.
The vintage guesthouse is in a peaceful setting, literally by a babbling brook, and the interior design is classy and classic. There was a mix up with our booking so we ended up with three nights in the smallest room (the Queen standard room with a petite ensuite...very petite) at the front of the house which was not ideal (some road noise and practically no where for luggage/clothes) and yet I still highly recommend the property. The included breakfasts were very edible and the service friendly and discrete.
We will definitely be returning but will try a larger room next time.

Room Tip: Queen standard room is small so probably just adequate for a night stopover. Yet to experience the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We decided to stay here, partly because of the great reviews, but also because we could not find any accommodation in Byron Bay or Burleigh Heads. It was a very wise decision to stay at the Bangalow Guesthouse. Bangalow is a lovely little town, and this guesthouse is top class.

It is a beautiful property, lovely luxurious furnishings, very neat, clean and tidy. Awesome bathroom - loved the bath! Breakfast on the veranda (included in price) is a real treat too! Loved the fresh muffins with afternoon tea!

We saw a tiny platapus and an eel in the creek at the bottom of the property - very cute!

We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Queen room with separate bath and shower in the bathroom is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We arrived late afternoon in Byron Bay with no accomodation booked and soon decided that we didn't want to stay there.
Flicked through our copy of Lonely Planet guide to Aus and read about a wonderful guesthouse 20 minutes drive away in Bangalow so decided to take a chance.
What a brilliant decision!
We were warmly greeted by the manageress who stayed on to meet us and shown to a beautifully furnished but slightly small room , were told that we had the free run of the house and could we remember to lock up and turn off the lights when we retired for the evening.
And what a house! Terraced around 3 sides with ample comfy sofas and chairs overlooking a manicured lawn down to the river ( if you walk to the bridge that crosses the river you can also see the platypus that lives there ). Wonderful artwork on every wall and a kitchen containing everything needed for your stay including fresh baked muffins every day.
Bangalow high street is a short walk away with restaurants and boutique shops. We tried the fish restaurant at the top of the hill and had an excellent meal.
Absolutely ideal if you want to visit Byron Bay but would prefer to stay somewhere more peaceful and , dare I say , a little more upmarket.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a very luxurious guest house. Beautiful sitting room, veranda and kitchen and good bedrooms set in a great position by the river in Bangalow.

We stayed one night on the way done from Brisbane to Port Macquarie and two on the way back. In the king size room on the way down and a queen on the way back. I did not think the king worth the extra expense my self.

It is an easy walk to the town centre and there are plenty of coffee shops there. Byron Bay is a 15 minute drive or so away.

The only think stopping it getting top marks are the bathrooms in the two rooms we stayed in. The design and quality of bathroom fittings does not match that of the rest of the guest house and in the king there is not even a mirror over the basin. There is also a little road noise in the rooms on the river side.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Wonderful place to stay, great service, fantastic location right in town, very peaceful, plenty of parking. Rooms clean and everything works (except for the free internet). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bangalow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangalow Guesthouse

Address: 99 Byron Street, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia (Formerly Riverview )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bangalow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bangalow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bangalow Guesthouse is a stunning property sitting amongst beautifully landscaped gardens on the banks of the picturesque Byron Creek. Situated in the main street of Bangalow and just minutes walk from a wonderful array of cafes, restaurants, boutique shops and the iconic Bangalow Hotel, this is the perfect Northern Rivers holiday spot. This historic home is an immaculately renovated heritage-style property with four en-suited bedrooms. These can be booked individually or you can hire the entire house. The Queen room has a spacious en-suite and bathtub, The King room features its own sitting room with river views. Guests love our delicious breakfasts and afternoon tea with freshly baked muffins or brownies. All of the rooms have been beautifully furnished with Coco Republic furniture and artwork by internationally renowned artist Ken Johnson. Wide shaded verandas surround the home on 3 sides and provide cool breezy spots to sit and overlook the magnificent gardens and Byron Creek below. The property is a 10 minute drive from Byron Bay and the region's famous beaches, 20 minutes from Ballina/Byron Airport and only 45 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. The Bangalow Guesthouse is also a fabulous venue to host your wedding or any kind of special event with two designated marquee spots in the gardens. We regularly hold gustation events, local fresh food lunches and seasonal special dinners in our elegant dining room or on the spacious verandahs. Bangalow Guesthouse is just a two minutes walk to boutique shops, art galleries,cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bangalow Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangalow Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.