We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lovely room over looking the river, sloppy housekeeping” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ramada Hotel & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Martin Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Alice Springs
1 review
“Good location, lovely room over looking the river, sloppy housekeeping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

A beautiful location in northern new south wales, heaps to see in the area, stayed at the Ramada for 5 nights, sheets not changed, room not vacuumed or bathroom floor cleaned, very disappointing. A good place to eat is the Ballina RSL Club, lots of variety and very well priced meals. A nice holiday, climate fantastic

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — sloppy housekeeping
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    131
    34
    18
    2
See reviews for
39
161
20
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

We fell upon this fantastic new hotel while looking for somewhere to stay in Ballina. What a hidden gem! We were allocated a great room with a balcony and a lovely open plan bathroom, with a jacuzzi and large shower. The bed was very comfortable and there were lots of amenities in the room.

We didn't stay for breakfast as we were rushing off, but would definitely stay here again, as it has great rates and great views and is generally in a beautiful place and benefits from being very relaxing and restful because of this.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

We stayed for a few nights at this hotel in January 2008. We booked through a last minute discount web site so the rates were quite good. We were able to walk everywhere and the view from our balcony was great. We had an excellent dinner at the main restaurant at a reasonable price. Our main complaint however, would be with the housekeeping. Our room was never done before 3:00 pm and one day they had even forgotten to empty the rubbish.
We would certainly consider staying there again, but would insist on prompter and more through housekeeping services.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed in this hotel a few weeks after it opened. Despite the fact that there were very few guests (apparently only 15 of 115 rooms were booked), we were charged a top tariff of $180/night.

I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and don't mind paying for quality, but $180 was way over priced for this place. Most rooms have a nice enough river view but the hotel is nowhere near the beach.

The rooms are nicely furnished but relatively small and the hotel lacks basic services that you would expect at this price, such as minibars and decent room service. There wasn't so much as a biscuit in the cupboard--only very basic tea and coffee facilities--and room service cut off at 9.30pm, even on a weekend.

The staff were very pleasant and I'd stay there again if the price was more like $130/night but I wouldn't recommend staying there unless they seriously revise their rates.

Please note that there are 2 Ramadas in Ballina. This is about the Ramada Hotel and Suites (opened in 2007). There is also a Ramada Riverside, just up the road, which is older.

  • Liked — River views.
  • Disliked — Price.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites

Address: 2 Martin Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#3 Business Hotel in Ballina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#5 Family Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Suites has 115 rooms consisting of hotel spa rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses, all with modern, stylish decor and all the facilities you would expect from an international class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.