We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast and a clean peaceful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ramada Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hotel & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Martin Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Ballina
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast and a clean peaceful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here a few months back and thought it was a great hotel all round. Very close to restaurants and the main street. The hotel restaurant was excellent and the hotel itself was kept tidy.The only downside was staff did nothing about teenagers running round the hallways drunk from friends room to friends room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    115
    29
    16
    2
See reviews for
37
139
17
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The beauty of Ballina is it's a yet-to-be-discovered seaside town.

However, don't let the term 'town' deter you. The Ballina area (northern NSW) has a population of 40,000+ and the town has everything you need, should you desire it. There are shopping centres and supermarkets, and the assorted shops, eateries and pubs in town are fine for what you need during a holiday by the sea. There's a cinema complex, horse racing track, airport and the RSL is big, with a capital 'B', and situated beside the river, so you get a good view while you're having a beer or meal.

The Ramada Ballina is located off one end of the main street, which means it's close to the town centre. It also means parking while you check in is not a problem - and has its own under-cover car park available to guests free of charge.

The hotel is lowset, so it doesn't impede on the Ballina skyline, and it overlooks the beautiful Richmond River. A walkway, running from the town centre to the ocean, passes between the hotel and the river and is a popular way of getting from here to there, not only throughout the day but in the early morning and late afternoon, when the joggers/walkers 'hit the pavement'.

A standard room starts at around $150/night and goes up to around $450/night for a two bedroom penthouse (prices differ according to peak/off-peak season). Not all rooms have a view of the river but our 'Hotel Spa Room' did.

Our room was on the 6th floor and we had a view up the river towards the ocean. View aside, the room itself was lovely - spacious and comfortable - and what you'd expect from a 4+ star hotel. It was clean and it looked great. As for the bed? Zzzzzzzzzzz...

The bathroom was also spacious and, among other things, had a sensational shower head the size of a dinner plate and wooden shutters that opened out into the bedroom (so you were afforded a view up the river from the bath). It was also very clean – always nice in a hotel bathroom – and there were some assorted goodies (shower gel etc).

When it comes to bars and dining, there is the Point Bar & Restaurant just off the foyer. While it is in the Ramada, it isn't part of the Ramada, although you wouldn't know it. We've stayed at the Ramada Ballina more than once and have dined at there several times, for breakfast and dinner mainly. The food is always good (better than good!).

The thing we like about The Point is that, even though it's in a 4+ star hotel, there's a relaxed feel to it. This may be partly due to the fact that it opens straight out onto a large outdoor terraced area that is right next to the walkway and grassed area. The decor is light in colour and there's plenty of fresh air and natural light, so you don't feel 'boxed in'.

We haven't tried every restaurant in Ballina but it's safe to say that The Point is up near the top. Because it's not exclusive to the Ramada it does get busy and, even if you are staying at the hotel, it's still an idea to book – especially on the weekend.

The Ramada Ballina is a 4+ star hotel but in a relaxed sort of a way. It is what it is - a luxury hotel in a town by the sea. That should be taken into account if you're expecting a city 4+ star hotel equivalent with an in-house laundry service, late night bars, fully equipped gym, hotel corridors that don't have the potential to be open to the elements, or silver service dining.

To read more about the Ramada Ballina, including many more photos, please see our blog post - http://cometravellingwithus.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/ramada-ballina-and-ballina-township.html

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with 2 adults and 2 children. Room was ground floor river view with a separate bedroom and ensuite. Clean and roomy with a full kitchen and small fenced court yard on the river. Good relaxed feel mixed with a little business. A few dining options in house and great location to trip up the coast to Byron Bay. Would recommend and stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Ramada for 4 nights over the Queen's Birthday long weekend in a spa suite. We were pleasantly surprised to discover we had a king sized bed in our room as well as a beautiful view over the Richmond River (complete with a balcony from which to view it).

The location of the Ramada is close to many lovely restaurants and right on the Richmond River. You can walk right along the river but, if you are hoping to go to the beach, you'll have to drive as it's not within walking distance.

The room had an adjoining laundry (which was free of charge) which meant we could wash and dry all of our dirty clothes and come home without any washing to do - a lovely touch.

There were a few things about the Ramada which weren't necessarily negatives, but things I found a little strange. Namely the 8 sunbeds in the pool area that overlook a giant area of concrete as well as the 'Best of Byron' brochure in our room which contained only the sports guide for Foxtel.

The late night dining menu, while cheap, consists of mostly Indian food and I found our bathroom (particularly behind the bathroom door) was dusty.

Minor drawbacks in what is a lovely hotel! Would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our decision to stay at the Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina was purely spare of the moment in that we did not pre book; we simply walked in & asked about their nightly tariff. It was a Sunday night & it was school holidays. We had checked out a number of other hotels in Ballina before calling into the Ramada but the school holiday 'tariff loading' made the other hotels really poor value for money. For only $25 more we got a King Spa Room with Balcony, River view & Parking at the Ramada. The room was modern, clean & spacious. The location is superb, the staff are friendly & the facilities terrific. We ate at 2 of the Ramada's restaurants (Mumtaj Indian for Lunch & La Cucina di Vino for dinner) & enjoyed a couple of cool soothing Ale's at The Point restaurant. When visiting Ballina again we would not stay anywhere else... Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stopping over at Ballina on our trip was certainly worthwhile, a lovely town and the Ramada was a good choice. We booked a room overlooking the pool but from the 6th floor the view was of car parks and backs of buildings. The staff were very good and moved us to a lower level where we looked out at the pool. The restaurant in the hotel is very good with views over the river.

Room Tip: Either looking over the river or lower rooms looking out at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Hotel is great, good friendly and great rooms which are clean and well maintained, I stay here often. Don't order the room service meals, each time I have been very disappointed. Tonight I ordered soup which the chef obviously did not taste prior to serving, it tasted like potatoes in murky water, the fish and chips very very average. The hotel would better off separating them self from the restaurant or take it over and control the quality of what is being served.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear RickCAustralia, Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Ramada Hotel in Ballina. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay but naturally very disappointed that the room service has let you down. I will be meeting with the owner of the restaurant next week to review your comment and look at ways in which to improve this service. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Karen Whiteford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites

Address: 2 Martin Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#3 Family Hotel in Ballina
#3 Business Hotel in Ballina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Suites has 115 rooms consisting of hotel spa rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses, all with modern, stylish decor and all the facilities you would expect from an international class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.