We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful Historic Hotel & Excellent Restaurant"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel
25 Norton Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Ballina
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Beautiful Historic Hotel & Excellent Restaurant"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I decided to stop over in Ballina while travelling back to Sydney. We drove around and had a look at the top 5 Hotels, as recommended by Tripadvisor. Stopping at Ballina Manor we noticed that they have free guided tours of this historic building and thought what better way to get a feel for the place. It's like stepping back in time. The rooms are beautifully renovated to the style of the period, with LCD tv's and free wifi. We were shown the licenced restaurant that is open 7 nights which is fantastic as many restaurants are closed Sun/Mon. We were so impressed that we booked for 2 nights. This is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at, in Australia. My wife and I dined in the restaurant both nights and can only describe the food as "incredible". I had a delicious cooked breaky everyday, while my wife had a continental. The service is fantastic with helpful staff. Lots of interesting history from this building and anyone is welcome to have a guided tour. Highly recomended!

Room Tip: Have a free guided tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
34
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We struggle at times to find accom providing a king size bed so when I found The Manor I booked on line immediately.
We arrived to a beautifully restored manor house with immaculate gardens. We were warmly welcomed by Diane and shown to our suite which as promised came with a four poster king bed and ensuite with spa.
The room was bright and airy with French doors leading to a large verandah with just enough privacy. Fresh and clean with tasteful and top quality linen the room has been restored to its original 1920s charm.
We dined that evening in the restaurant which is probably Ballinas best kept secret. We are amazed it isnt advertised as a stand alone restaurant. A strong menu with interesting choices using local produce prepared by Chef Bryan Nielsen - remember that name!
Our meals were as good as any we've had at Michelin hatted restaurants. Really, that good.The restaurant also boasts a well stocked wine list. Cape Mentelle - yes please!
The decor won't appeal to all as it is in keeping with the period of the Manor but rest assured the food is fresh and modern.
On our second night we ordered from the menu and dined under a full moon outside on the verandah - wonderful.
Breakfast too a hearty delicious way to start the day. On a stunning autumn morning Diane thoughtfully served it to us on the deck overlooking the courtyard and gardens.
We had a wonderful relaxing time and were sorry to have to leave. The Manor is a grand location, Diane, Bryan and all the team are so warm, friendly and willing to make your stay memorable for all the right reasons.
We can't wait to get back there- thank you all so much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed just one night but were impressed by the ambiance of this old property. Feels like stepping back in time. Rooms are beautifully renovated to the style of the period. Service was excellent. Food at breakfast scrumptious. Bathroom clean and modern.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My 81 year old mum and I stayed here last year and were pleasantly surprised at the accommodation and the service. The owners were lovely and breakfast was really good, whatever or however you wanted, it was not any trouble. Had a comfy bed in an elegant room and beautifully fitted bathroom. The furniture was old world suiting the manor perfectly. Walking distance to town and shops in one direction and short walk to the water both sea/river in the other. The place is quiet and having doors onto veranda was a nice thing as we could sit outside.Would recommend this Manor to stay when in Ballina and will be going there again next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was a disappointment. the place is expensive, there is nothing special about it, there was no meal included, and when we arrived (about 7pm) no one answered the door until we called the number posted on the door.

the town itself is nothing special either. Only one restaurant was open and/or had any people in it. The nearby beaches are quite nice, but if I were sending someone, I'd suggest they stay in a less expensive B&B if they stopped in Ballina at all.

We did find a nice cafe for breakfast in the morning, however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at the Ballina Manor boutique hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were excellent and always had time for you. If you want modern don't stay here. This is a quaint place which used to be a girls school many many years ago. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Excellent base for exploring the area and much cheaper than Byron Bay. Excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill NSW Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ballina Manor is beautifully appointed with the owners and staff greeting you at the front door and making you feel like you've come home. It's handy to town, the river and a hop, skip and jump to the ocean. We didn't have dinner there as we had other plans, but breakfast was great.

Room Tip: We ended up staying in a room with a spa - fabulous if you're on a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 25 Norton Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel has won numerous local, regional and state awards and is the only property in NSW to have ever won HMAA's,"Best Unique Accommodation in NSW" three years running.Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel was then inducted into HMAA's, prestigious"Hall of Fame". We pride ourselves on providing the best experience and service to our guests, in a unique Heritage listed Boutique Hotel.Multi-Award-Wining Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel, meticulously restoredand furnished with exquisite antiques, incorporating all the luxuries of the 21st Century.There are twelve individually styled rooms, all with ensuites and access to their own personal section of our expansive verandas.Guests can dine in luxury, in the fully licensed A-La-Carte Manor Restaurant, open 7 days for breakfast and dinner,either indoors, on the verandas or in the sandstone courtyard. Beautiful white linen, sensational local produce in a heritage setting makes for a memorable occasion. Fine dining at its best.Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel is located on Ballina Island, within walking distance to the CBD, bay and river.Ballina has 32 klms of perfect white sandy beaches, great cafe's, fantastic seafood and glorious countryside. Ballina has its own jet airport with direct flights from Sydney and Melbourne. Corporate guests are invited to take advantage of a unique opportunity and showcase their business at Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel today. Ballina Manor is not a member of any chain or private assessment group. We are however very proud to be a member of AAA (formerly HMAA Hotel Motel Association of Australia). Free Internet throughout the property for all guests.Wedding receptions and functions are our speciality. Property bookings available. Please note that all our rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.