We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful wedding in Ballina” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ballina Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ballina Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Compton Dr (Corner Cedar Crescent) | Lighthouse Beach, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great deal free extras
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Ballina
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful wedding in Ballina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently held our daughters wedding reception at the Ballina Beach Resort. A large number of guests stayed at the resort - everyone enjoyed the resort and its facilities. The wedding reception was brilliant, not one guest had a bad thing to say about the venue, the food or the staff. The staff at the resort left no stone unturned in making the day a perfect day for my daughter her new husband. I commend the Ballina Beach resort on the effiency they displayed when the venue for the actual wedding was changed from the beach due to inclimatent weather at reasonably short notice - it all went off without a hitch apart from the bride and groom getting hitched!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.... we appreciate the comments and hope this helps others get a feel for the resort's service standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxenford, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Well, this was our second, two night stay here and it was as good as the first! We got a deal on a King Spa room and the whole complex is just a stroll from the beach and a short walk to the breakwater and river mouth.

The rooms are well appointed, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the resort grounds are well kept and attractive, which is saying something considering we arrived just days after a major storm event had ripped through!

The on-site Nautilus restaurant is not the cheapest place in town to eat, but the food is first class, so we didn't mind spending more than the local RSL! Breakfast is served there too, and we were upgraded to a cooked breakfast both mornings, so no complaint there either.

Room Tip: If you can get a deal on a spa room - treat yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we're pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay and especially you have returned once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Selecting a beach motel is always a challenge. The photos on websites don't always convey the real proximity to the beach and certainly can gloss over drawbacks. We were very pleased with our choice - a King room which was generous in size, comfortable bed and close to all the amenities. This is more a motel than a resort, but nonetheless very comfortable. You walk through a park to get to the beach (no beach views) but it's still quite accessible.

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars and get a King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your review comments... we do try to keep all our images up to date and the photo's on our web site are ACTUAL shots of guest rooms and resort facilities so you can compare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good location near Lighthouse beach and easy drive to Ballina central or walk along the waterfront track. Good size room with balcony overlooking pool. Booked on a special price for $75.00 per night, excellent value

Theft and damage to car/trailer. Utility box stolen from front of camper trailer. Wheel caps stolen from car and keyed scratching of front bumper bar. I realise that the management are not responsible for this but be aware that such events happen in this area.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all rooms overlook the pool but get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We're certainly sorry to hear about the damage to your car, as you mention in your review, there are the odd occasion when these things happen anywhere.

Fortunately, Ballina is NOT a high crime location and this is rare incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had a pleasant stay here but if not for the location probably wouldn't have been so happy. Great pub with reasonably priced, amazing food close by (Shaws Bay) was a highlight. Spa in room full of previous guests hairs and general cleanliness obviously not a high priority. Very dated and in need of a big make over. Would I stay again - probably not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We appreciate your comments, and you enjoyed your stay in general.... from your comments it sounds like you may have stayed in one of the last few remaining standard rooms that have not been renovated prior to Christmas.

There has been an ongoing upgrade to guest rooms and facilities over the last year and our website displays the new look rooms with new photo's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My partner and I were tossing up between this place and the Ballina Manor for a romantic getaway over New Year's, and ended up going here because of its 'resort' status.

In reality, though, it's little more than a motel. A decent motel, but a motel nonetheless. The pool is smallish and didn't smell all that great, the tennis court was in disrepair, the spa bath looked less appealing than the pool and the room itself was pretty clean and moderately sized, but certainly nothing luxurious. The fitness centre was a couple of token pieces of exercise equipment. The jacuzzi in our room wasn't cleaned overnight (and I know my girlfriend will want me to mention the fact that a spider popped out when we turned on the bubbles).

If I needed somewhere to stay that was quiet and pretty clean, this place would do fine, but since it claims to be a resort and touts all of its facilities on the website, we were pretty disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Ballina Beach Resort is a lovely hotel set in some of the most beautiful gardens. The hotel has a large tennis court and grass area, a small spa (including a sauna and a couple of gym machines) and a reasonable pool area.

I'm not sure where the 4-star rating comes from as the rooms although large and spacious within the bedroom/main room space, the bathroom, accessories (such as balcony furniture and bathroom fittings) are somewhat basic.

But the appetite for good customer services and delivering a great stay is the biggest let down. This seemed to by pass the staff in particularly the owners!

One of the receptionists was great throughout our stay (Sharon) - very helpful and always smiling, but the rest were disinterested, grumpy and sometimes quite rude.

When we arrived on the Tuesday we wanted to use the pool, but couldn't because it was dirty (mainly leaves and bugs) and we were told the pool cleaner didn't come until Thursday. But the following day the chef(!) cleaned the pool but promptly told us in a bar drunk later on that evening that he felt like pushing us in because we'd given him more work to do.

The pool area also had a bit ant problems which we found quite frustrating in the heat. And the surrounding areas leading to the rooms were always littered with dead bug - usually Christmas beetles - which was quite off-putting.

The hotel is very close to the Lighthouse Beach, but it isn't in the main area of Ballina. Ballina is approx 30 mins walk away or a short ($15) cab ride.

But Ballina itself is extremely sleepy, particularly we found Tues-Thurs.

There are a handful of bars/restaurants withing the town centre, but we would only recommend the restaurants attached to the Ramada hotel, The Point and the Hotel Henry Rous Bistro/Bar.

All in all, we felt that this hotel had so much potential, but was let down by the service.

Room Tip: Go in the week as the hotel is much quieter. Lots of families arrive on a Friday so Saturday around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Ballina Beach Hotel
Address: Compton Dr (Corner Cedar Crescent) | Lighthouse Beach, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballina Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Beach Resort adjoins white sandy surfing beaches and offers4star accommodation in pleasant tropical garden surroundings.Restaurant, conference centre, wedding venue and resort facilities.Ideally located in one of the NSW North Coast’s most beautiful and idyllic beachside townships; just south of Byron Bay & QLD’s Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Ballina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.