We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaparral Motel

Save Saved
You added Chaparral Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chaparral Motel
Pacific Hwy | 486 River Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Ballina
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I arrived at the Ballina Airport and didn't have a place to stay. Looked at the tourist info section and picked the card of the Chaparral Motel in Ballina. Placed a call and spoke to Diane Ferguson. Even though I didn't have a reservation she agreed to pick me up from the airport and gave me room number 12, which had a double and single bed as well. Diane and her husband Graeme are very lovely people and gracious hosts.

The room was clean, milk for tea/coffee was provided. There are clean towels,a toaster, watercooker, fridge and TV in the room and in the bathroom/shower there were dispensers for shampoo, showergel and rinse. Above the washbasin there was an additional dispenser that provides you with handsoap, body lotion and shaving cream.

McDonald's and two seafood places are nearby as well as a small shopping center, all within walking distance.

My stay, albeit short, was a lovely one! Thank you Diane and Graeme Ferguson for making my stay so comfortable and making me feel welcome!




coffee and milk is provided, snacks and chocolates are additional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
16
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had relatives, all elderly, stay here when coming to Ballina for a funeral. The owners and staff treated them fantastically. They were met at the airport and taken to the hotel, offered any assistance that they needed, and made to feel very welcome. On the day of the funeral it was raining, and even thought the service was some 500 metres from the hotel, they were driven and dropped off. Then taken to the airport for their flight home. Cannot thank them enough for the way they treated and respected our relatives.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed here for a night on our way from Brisbane to Sydney. Right on the highway and has everything you need. Friendly owners, clean comfortable room with lots of facilities. If you need somewhere for a night to break your journey, then look no further.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The welcome was great and although on a busy road and being a light sleeper, I did not find this place to be noisy at all. The room was neat and clean and the location was ideal for exploring the area.
We had the breakfast in the morning and compliments to the chef. Pleasant hosts who seem to take a lot of pride in the place and the comfort of their guests, well done!
Furthermore, Ballina is beautiful place so don't go past it without spending at least a day there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed here with my husband during December 2011. We arrived and were greeted by the very friendly (new) owners. We were allocated an upstairs room and were so pleased with everything. Ensuite with towels and complimentary toiletries, kettle, toaster, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, crockery and cutlery. The owners gave us free fresh milk too. There was a huge posh TV on the wall. The whole place was spotless, with the most pristine white bed sheets I've ever seen!! Free wi-fi was a great (unexpected) touch and allocated parking was very handy. Very reasonably priced and fantastic value for money. We loved our 2 night stay here and would not hesitate in returning or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a motel whose owners treat you as if you were guests in their B&B. We had a car and decided the prices in Byron Bay were too expensive. We read the reviews on TripAdvisor, noticing that the latest ones were very positive (change of ownership), so we decided to give it a try and were very glad we did.

Because both room types were nice, we decided to take one of the "older" rooms, which was $5 less per night. The newer rooms had a nicer heater (ours was just fine) and some newer appointments. The "older" ones were, in our opinion, equally fine. We loved the tea kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and new 32" TV (all rooms have been updated with these features. There is free tea/coffee and some biscuits (nice touch) and fresh milk. The bathroom was also nice with updated features. Nice touches with the sink dispensers (soap, lotion, shaving cream) and shower (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel). The queen bed was really comfy, too! Also terrific is the FREE wifi access.

Driving to Byron Bay for the 3 days we were here was about 30 mins each way. This also afforded us a nice trip to Lennox Head beaches on the way up to Byron Bay. It was easy to drive up in the AM to Byron Bay, spend the day (surfing, walking the main street, hanging out at the beach, seeing the lighthouse, etc), and drive back in the evening for a great nite's sleep.

Ballina also has a nice main (commercial) street and a Woolworth's for purchasing any food or necessity you might need. So, if you are open to more affordable room rates (we paid $75 for 3 nites, would've been $77 for 2 nites and $80 for one nite), do yourself a favor and stay at the Chaparral Motel.

Finally, I forgot my medication in the room when we departed. Diane (owner) called on our cell phone and offered to mail them to us in Sydney. They truly are great, friendly owners!

Room Tip: Ask if you can see both the updated rooms and the "older" rooms to see if it matters to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great room - everything you ned! Big comfy bed, clean/tidy room. Modern Bathroom, Microwave, 32" TV, Toaster, ipod player, FREE internet etc etc!

Owners are so friendly and helpful - will definately recommend this place!

Stayed in a Deluxe Room on bottom floor (you get parking space outside room)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chaparral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaparral Motel

Address: Pacific Hwy | 486 River Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Chaparral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaparral Hotel Ballina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaparral Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.