We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resting place as you travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Ronan Place, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
LOWEST RATE GUARANTEED!
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good resting place as you travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were heading to Queensland for a week's break, and broke the journey here. Initial impression was that John, the manager, was a trifle brusque, but it was a wrong impression when we talked to him on our departure the next morning. He was most helpful with advice about how to avoid the traffic delays caused by major road work north of Ballina, and cheerful in helping us on our way.
Dinner was good quality and quantity, the room was clean and to the standard we'd expected, so this is a place we're happy to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    53
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
50
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you want great comfort after a very long days driving, absolutely delicious food, warm, friendly service, dine in the restaurant, or room service, of this Motor Inn, Nth NSW, Ballina.
I highly recommend this wonderful Motor Inn.
Husband & I live locally, & to have a night off cooking, we go to have the best Chicken Parmigana, or, delish fall off the bone, Lamb Shank.
I promise you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Since the Pacific Hwy now bypass at Ballina, it is so much quieter. Very clean, very comfortable, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallangarra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I rang to book a couple of days of time out. I found the manager John lovely and very helpful. We married here in 2004 and the standards haven't changed. Loved it. would highly recommend it. The rooms where clean and lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I turned up without a booking and the staff went out of there way to look after me from then till I made it back to Sydney. The place is clean and the food is better than any seafood restaurant in the Rocks or around the Harbour it was just great and the service was very good throughout my stay

Room Tip: I had room 26 and it was very quite well away from the roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Was heading to Byron Bay for the weekend, but the lodging in Byron is pricey. Found this hotel in Ballina which is also a Best Western which is about 20 minutes away from Byron. While driving up up, I thought "oh dear, it's going to be a seedy motel", but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. I was greeted with a very cheery and friendly woman at the front desk. The room itself was very spacious. Big entry way with the sink and a large mirror to the left, followed by a minibar. Then entering the room, I found it to be very spacious as well, with a sliding door that can separate it from the entry/bathroom area. Bed was comfortable and the view outside the window is of a beautiful garden. Overall, really comfortable stay, spacious, and tidy. I would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for the first time and was very happy with the experience. The service started even before my arrival with a welcoming email, and continued at reception on arrival and through to a post stay email from the motel managers thanking me for my stay. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Despite being beside the main road into town it was quiet. Free WIFI was great and evening meal was tasty and good value.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Shared a family room with 2 others on our trip up north. The room was large and comfortable, very clean.
Overall experience was great nice and quiet for a good nights rest before we continued on our journey.
Reception staff friendly and very helpful,would not hesitate to recommend to friends and stay again

Room Tip: Family room was great for space and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn

Address: 1 Ronan Place, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballina Island Motor Inn is a resort style 40 room motel. 10 minutes to Lennon Head and 30 minutes to iconic Byron Bay. The grounds include a lagoon style salt water pool and spa, located within a tranquil garden setting. All rooms are located at ground level and are fully equipped with LCD TV’s, free WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer, reverse cycle air conditioning, iron and ironing board and free FOXTEL. Additional free car parking is also available for larger vehicles.The property also boasts a private function room which is ideally suited for weddings, conferences and functions. Guests can also enjoy our fully licensed restaurant and bar. Open Monday to Saturday for Dinner with Breakfast being served 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.