We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Ballina ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Gallery Cafe

Ballina Gallery Cafe
46 Cherry Street | Corner Crane Street, Ballina, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Ballina
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Ballina ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Often as not the places in Ballina off the water are the finest eateries in town. The gallery is the most consistent best value breakfast in Ballina.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tasty Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were visitors to Ballina and met my niece for breakfast here on her recommendation. Lucky she had booked as it was very busy.
The cafe seats a lot of people, inside and out. We chose to sit outside, not the greatest outlook, but even so it was very pleasant.
We were quickly served by a lovely young waitress and coffees arrived not much later. As I mentioned, it was very busy and we did have a little wait for our meals. The owner came and apologised but really, this was not a problem.
The meals were large serves, hot, beautiful fresh ingredients and were less than $20.
Obviously this place is well known by the locals but being off the main drag may not be familiar to visitors. Maybe the locals prefer this way but at least for us the secret is out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury , Western Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Give It a Try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We sat outside under the trees and umbrellas on a very warm day. The outside area is just a grassed area beside the street , but as soon as we sat down the service was excellent, despite two large tables nearby celebrating a birthday. The food came promptly and the Caesar salad and spinach, feta and goats cheese tart were delicious. The price was reasonable and the experience very enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urunga, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

While not open Monday or Tuesday the Gallery Cafe is a great place for breakfast or that mid-morning coffee. Very popular with the locals, especially on warm, sunny days in Spring. The breakfast menu is extensive and all ingredients were flavoursome, not too much quantity and well prepared/integrated. Coffee was well prepared with good strength and flavour.
Prices as very reasonable and the deck is the place to be in the right weather. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe away from the main street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Travelling through Ballina and looking for lunch we were pleased to find this little cafe located away from the commercial area.
It was a rainy day so we were unable to sit outside under the umbrellas, however this area overlooks the street and the views are uninspiring. It was pleasant sitting inside surrounded by contemporary art.
My husband chose the barramundi and salad and I selected the spinach tart and salad. Both were tasty and enjoyable.
It was difficult to choose from the tempting desserts, so we opted to share three! The chocolate tart and the citrus tart were both delicious, but the almond croissant had a tough texture as though it had been heated in a microwave oven. In spite of that, it did taste good.
The prices were reasonable and we would happily return next time we are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballina Gallery Cafe also viewed

Ballina, New South Wales
 
Ballina, New South Wales
Ballina, New South Wales
 

Been to Ballina Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Gallery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.