We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give It a Try!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Gallery Cafe

Ballina Gallery Cafe
46 Cherry Street | Corner Crane Street, Ballina, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in Ballina
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Bunbury , Western Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Give It a Try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We sat outside under the trees and umbrellas on a very warm day. The outside area is just a grassed area beside the street , but as soon as we sat down the service was excellent, despite two large tables nearby celebrating a birthday. The food came promptly and the Caesar salad and spinach, feta and goats cheese tart were delicious. The price was reasonable and the experience very enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urunga, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

While not open Monday or Tuesday the Gallery Cafe is a great place for breakfast or that mid-morning coffee. Very popular with the locals, especially on warm, sunny days in Spring. The breakfast menu is extensive and all ingredients were flavoursome, not too much quantity and well prepared/integrated. Coffee was well prepared with good strength and flavour.
Prices as very reasonable and the deck is the place to be in the right weather. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe away from the main street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Travelling through Ballina and looking for lunch we were pleased to find this little cafe located away from the commercial area.
It was a rainy day so we were unable to sit outside under the umbrellas, however this area overlooks the street and the views are uninspiring. It was pleasant sitting inside surrounded by contemporary art.
My husband chose the barramundi and salad and I selected the spinach tart and salad. Both were tasty and enjoyable.
It was difficult to choose from the tempting desserts, so we opted to share three! The chocolate tart and the citrus tart were both delicious, but the almond croissant had a tough texture as though it had been heated in a microwave oven. In spite of that, it did taste good.
The prices were reasonable and we would happily return next time we are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Always great food here. Opted for the beer battered barramundi this time. Excellent. Good coffee, good staff and a good location. Its easy to see why the locals keep coming back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christmas Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Was very good. Friendly staff, delicious food and great coffee. Definitely coming back! Nice to know ballina has a good cafe for lunch. Beautiful wine on a sunny deck.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballina Gallery Cafe also viewed

Ballina, New South Wales
Ballina, New South Wales
 
Ballina, New South Wales
Ballina, New South Wales
 

Been to Ballina Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Gallery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.