We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Centrepoint Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ballina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballina Centrepoint Motel
Save
You added Ballina Centrepoint Motel to your Saves list
285- 287 River St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It is what it is...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Dog tired into Ballina...saw the $75/night sign...more fool me?
Anyway, a double costs more, the $75 is for seniors, andway too tired to argue. And couldn't really breathe in the VERY smoky smelling reception.
But the room was large, clean, tidy, quiet, and comfortable.
It's a short walk up the main street into the very quiet town centre, for a simple asian dinner.
Then back for some limited pay TV, and a good nights sleep.
Not as good value as the sign at the front might suggest

Room Tip: It's a motel, it's quiet, and quite comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Good honest reviews always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    1
    10
See reviews for
6
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at this motel during a bit of an Australian adventure! Having driven from Melbourne to here with friends, we were pleased to find a clean room, with working air con and a very spacious size.

We paid a good price for this place, it is close to everything and is in a quiet location. We mainly stayed here to use it as a base to travel up to Byron, but wanted somewhere a bit out of the way.

We spent 3 nights here and for the price we paid I would definitely rate this as a good place to stop if you're travelling through. Nice to see a fridge and microwave in the room as well.

The owner Marlon seemed a bit wary of us as we are all under 25 years of age, and from previous reviews I presume he has had some bad experiences, but no issues at all during our stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As our annual vacation falls over the Easter Holidays I always make my bookings around five months in advance to ensure our accomodation. As we specifically needed to stay in Ballina to visit friends on Easter Saturday when I made the booking I was quite happy to pay a deposit, but three weeks before our visit Marlon rang me apologising that he had double booked our room to allow a tour group to visit, he offered to give me back double my deposit but I asked if he could suggest somewhere else we could stay but he reckoned there was no accomodation in the town available because of the Blues and Roots Festival. All he was concerned about was that in three years I was his first double booking. I tried to push the fact that my booking was the first, and that a deposit should have ensured our booking. I ended up just receiving the amount I had paid in deposit and it required us to spend twelve hours on the road driving from Childers Qld to make Ballina by lunch to catch up with friends and then another four hours to drive to Port Macquarie where we had originally planned to spend Easter Sunday night.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
A deposit refundable up to 24 hours before arrival really only serves to ensure the guest will phone if not coming.
The guest is not bound by the deposit, so how can we be?
This guest was informed she wanted to come in the busiest 4-day period of the year, and was advised it was difficult to accommodate her, but she insisted on giving a deposit..
Well before the day she was told we could not honour her booking, to which she was not committed, as above.
To accommodate her would cost us upwards of $400, which was unacceptable, as explained with apologies.
If, as she claims, she always comes at Easter she should be well aware of this annual difficulty, but she was unknown to us, and unlikely to have been to Ballina at Easter as she claimed.
Unfortunate, apologised for, but this complaint is not the whole truth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Reading other reviews, we really must say that we experienced a completely different stay to those mentioned. On arrival we found Marlon to be quite blunt but never offensive and we thought he was overall welcoming. Our room was very spacious, clean and we were very satisfied. The signs were very informative and we never had any interference from the owners. The TV worked, as did the WIFI, the bathroom facilities were more than ample and we were pleasantly suprised when the offer of a trip to the airport was "all part of the service!" - FANTASTIC! We also really appreciated the offer of storing our luggage for the day after checkout and the use of beach towels. Thanks very much indeed! Finally, the RSL club is just down the road and would thoroughly recommend anyone going who is in Ballina, it really is the place to go!

Room Tip: Good value and you'll have to pay extra for additional beds used in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
The sort of review we strive for, but some guests look for more than they pay for, then complain without justification.
Usually they have not read the booking site details completely, often re extra charges for extra beds.
Thank you for giving the lie to those, with your good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Only negative was the grumpy style of the manager and his smoky office.
The room was large and clean, actually smelt like disinfectant a bit.
We were a bit worried after reading some of the other reviews but these proved to be unfounded. I suspect the owner is sick of problem clients doing the wrong thing; so long as you do the right thing he is fine.
Great value stopover close to the RSL club.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for honest review: hit the nail on the head about guest behaviour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very clean and quiet Motel now the road Bypasses Ballina.
Welcome Aircon. Undercover parking. Comfy beds
Tiny pool which unfortunately was closed when we arrived and again when we left the next morning- unsure why.
Close to RSL which is a lovely place to eat.
Friendly owner who has been there for a long time.

Room Tip: Is upstairs and down, so request lower rooms if travelling with older people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Good review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

So many issues:
1. Had to pay an extra $30 on arrival although not really sure why
2. Had to ask the Mannager for my license and credit card back as he left them in his printer (he was too busy telling us his life story and how he had to clean every thing because his wife sacked the cleaner)
3. He walked us to our room to check whether it needed to be vacuumed. He picked a few bits of rubbish off the floor and said "it will be right"
4. At 8.43am the Manager knocked on our door to tell us we had to be out by 10am
5. The air conditioner was switched off by Manager at 8.45am. Room became stuffy as it was middle of Summer.
6. The pool was green and filthy, we weren't game to swim in it
7. The 'free wifi' did not work, when it came on (an hour before check out), we weren't given access to it
8. The channels on the TV did not work
9. We're abused by the Manager's wife over 'noise' when our daughter was heading to the car at 9.50am.
10. Bathroom was not clean, shower was slimy
11. No vent in bathroom, nor could you open the window. Difficult for showering as the bathroom becomes like a sauna
Would not recommend this place for anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dealing with each point:
1) Booking error by guest: failed to select and pay for 2 single beds required; Wotif informed him had to pay $30 extra, but he had not read or printed his confirmation; should have not allowed him to checkin.
2) Wotif requires licence & credit card copied, inadvertently not handed back immediately, with distraction of the $30 extra argument: life story and "wife sacked the cleaner" untrue, invention to bolster his complaints.
3) I don't walk guests to their room, never say "it'l be right" or similar: another untruth.
4) With no sound from room we knock about 9.40 to be sure guests getting ready to leave so cleaners can do their job. Watch not reset for EDT, so not 8.43 but 9.43, his error.
5) AC usually off about 9.45-9.50 when no purpose, just wasteful. Room would not get "stuffy" in a few minutes, especially as he had it on recirculate, not fresh. Wrong again.
6) Pool in process of algae removal; "filthy" a lie. No inquiry as to it's becoming ready to use. In the whole of summer used only 3 times, so not top priority.
7) WiFi was working: some hand-helds not good enough, laptops always OK.
8) Free-to-air analog just switched off, Austar was OK; awaiting Austar adjustment to enable digital, now 25 channels avaiulable. Obviously ignorant of analog switched off.
9) NOT abused by my wife: it was he loudly bullying his(?) daughter that my wifw told him to stop, disturbing other guests.
10, 11) No-one else ever said shower not clean or slimy: overlong & overhot showering will cause condensation on walls, his fault, then didn't understand how to open a conventional aluminium sliding window, which nobody else ever found difficult.
My mistake was to allow checkin when dispute in reception started. Never again will admit such a person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballina Centrepoint Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Centrepoint Motel

Address: 285- 287 River St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Centrepoint Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.