We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you're on a budget! But only then...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Centrepoint Motel

Save Saved
You added Ballina Centrepoint Motel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asiatravel.com
Ballina Centrepoint Motel
285- 287 River St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Ballina
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good if you're on a budget! But only then...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked in as a group, manager was quite perplexed re bookings, breakfast provided as promised. I was surprised some guests thought manager was rude but we did see another side to him when he started arguing with some in our party re " cackling" after 2 pm on a Saturday afternoon
He was quite offensive when we were in fact paying for a commodity.
Would not stay here again AND he has banned us anyway!!
We were all adults with the youngest mid 50's, we expect good customer service and to be able to relax as a group with a bbq and a beer, we were not disturbing anyone apart from the owner!
We were also told that aircon would be turned off in certain areas during afternoon.
Also owner smoking outside of rooms.

Room Tip: Stay. Somewhere else, if you do decide to stay here be prepared for confusion and contradiction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
This lot is the last group ever to be admitted.
Allowed use of barbecue (now given away) then noisy drinking party, chairs taken from pool area, took over garage for loud drinking session.
Noisy parties specifically "not allowed" on all booking sites.
No other guests to disturb at 2 pm, but that's checkin time, when others might not want to come in with the noisy gathering in full volune.
And abused when I finally, after requests, demanded they behave properly.
We are the aggrieved, not they!
Our hospitality abused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    0
    9
See reviews for
4
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Party of 19 from Brisbane arrived to "bad attitude" from manager Marlin over bedding, and numbers of people in rooms. (all been agreed on by phone and email previously) and was treated like a fool. The smell of cigarette in office was sickening :( . Breakfast was ordered (at his demand) for 7.15am and at 6.55 knock on door saying ..."breaky in 5 mins. It was delivered with Marlon knocking on door and opening at same time walking straight in..i questioned him regarding why the army regimenatal approach to breakfast and why he just walked in, he started abusing me and threatening me with "you don't know who you are tangling with" and "get out of my motel now", which i promptly answered NO as ladylike as possible. Others staying there in our group informed me he was telling them about "the [--]" in room 4. I also found him in bear feet in the kitchen cooking other breakfasts and smoking a cigarette as well :( :( .. I also had the air con all night and still had it on when he walked into my room in the morning and he promptly told me to turn it off...i once again replied "no" in as ladylike manner as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

As per the previous review, I also had my air conditioner turned off at 10pm. The room got hot and I was forced to use some provided cheap fan or open the windows. Not happy with the value for money. It should not be listed as air condtioned if it only lasts half the night .

Room Tip: Choose another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
10 Oct was not a hot night by any stretch of the imagination.
Ambient temperature was quite mild, so electricity consumption negligible, not the problem.
It's inconsiderate guests that are.

People unused to air conditioning tend to choose high fan, less effective than low anyway.
Sensible guests open their windows for fresh air; better than recirculated air conditioning, and use fans provided if needed.
These then have loud fan noise inflicted on them by the unthinking ones.

That's our concern: comfort and amenity of all guests, including the ones that don't realise all-night air conditioning (recirculated) is not good for them.
People that understand how to use it choose fresh, not recirculated air, when it's needed.

Those that don't simply use it 'cause it's there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taree
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Bokked for two night. Air conditioner turned off by management at 10pm. Getting stuffy in rorang reception, advised "air conditioners turned off at 10 pm around here." Requested air con back on which he complied with. Left air con all night for comfort , tunred off again at 6am by management. Contacted reception again to have turned baxck on as room getting stuffy. stated,:no as i had abused it. My motel. You can leave when you want. Needless to say i did not stay second night. Great advertisement for Ballina. Old Manager is a joke. Would not recommend to anyone. He should retire. Tight A??E

Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Aircon on recirculate does not stop stuffiness.
Opening window does.
People unused to air conditioning choose high speed (noisy) fan, less effective than low speed.
When ambient temperature is comfortable, not needed, simply used because it's there!
Similarly max cooling (typical) on fridge inefficient, selected because they can!
People who like fresh air through open window are disturbed by roaring AC fans.
Comfort of all guests is preferred, and expected.
Aircons not turned off when temperature makes necessary: 12 Oct did not warrant aircon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

we had a great room with a balcony. Beds were very comfortable with doonas (no prickly blankets) which is a big plus! Not a very inviting part of town, but for the price, easy walking to anything in town. If you are looking for value for money, you cannot go past this hotel. Only downside was when we came back from breakfast at the RSL club, the hotel owner was actually in our room looking for numbers of people staying in the rooms. We did have 2 extra due to not wanting to drink and drive the night before. On checkout, we would have let them know about the extra persons staying, but we didn't get a chance, so not happy with our privacy being breached.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Honest review appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed here overnight on the way up to the Gold Coast. I found the rooms very comfortable with plenty of room and the owners very friendly. The free cooked breakfast was certainly a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for good honest review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here overnight on the way to Sydney. The room was comfortable and clean and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you. Comfort of ALL guests is our aim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballina Centrepoint Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Centrepoint Motel

Address: 285- 287 River St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ballina Centrepoint Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Centrepoint Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.