We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise Package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Heritage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ballina Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Ballina Heritage Inn
229 River Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Surprise Package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here recently and what a surprise package it was. From the warm welcome when we arrived to the farewell at the end. The rooms are very nice and tidy and the bed was perfect to sleep on. The hotel is kept very clean and shows no sign of damage or age. We will definitely stay there again when we next visit friends down that way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at Ballina Heritage Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here. I will pass on your comments to our housekeepers they always welcome feedback on the rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
19
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macarthur, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here overnight in January. We booked in that morning as we decided Ballina would be a good stopover. We found this motel to be very clean, tidy, well set out and the room was a great size. It is across the road from the Ballina RSL Club where we had a lovely dinner. We had breakfast at the motel the following morning and it was a good size meal, and actually cheaper than truckstop cafe breakfasts. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Book in if your are travelling in peak times as this hotel fills up fast and you wouldnt want to mis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at Ballina Heritage Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Heritage. The fresh fruit and orange juice does make our room service breakfasts a specialty at the Heritage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

we stayed over for a night on our travels down to sydney, tired at the end of a days driving, the staff were really nice, and the room was fabulous, beautifully clean and fresh with everything you could need, the bed was so comfortable i didn't want to get out of it, we left early next morning so didnt sample the breakfast but if it was like the rest of the place i'm sure it was fantastic. would definately reccommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at Ballina Heritage Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We appreciate your comments thank you for taking the time. We are in a great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queesnland Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed here from the 28th December and checked out 1st January
We we had a quick check in
and we were placed around the back and up the stairs. The rooms were quite large and true to the name it was decked out in the heritage theme It was absolutely spotless and there was a lot of drawer and cupboard space which you don't get when travelling overseas. There was an ironing board and iron hairdryer toaster coffee/tea essentials fresh milk in the fridge and the best in my eyes were 2 wine glasses...very cool. The cleaning lady that did our room for the 3 days was excellent. We had breakfast on the last day and Darren had the hot brekky which was hot and I had a continental breakfast. it was delish. Check out was great and we would like to say Thank You to Management for making our 1st stay in Ballina a treat

Room Tip: Heritage is in the main street so don't need the car for dining/shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here on the way to a music festival and couldn't have been happier with our choice of accommodation. Our female host was delightful, making sure we had everything we needed and even made arrangements to store one of our cars for us while we were away! The location was great, central and quiet, and the room was very clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Due to car mechanical problems, had to stay in Ballina for 2 nights. Managed to book a room at Ballina Heritage Inn. Very freindly and obliging staff. Room was extremely clean and maintained and very large room and bathroom area. Great location, directly opposite R.S.L. club and the magnificient Richmond River. Short walk to Ballina's main street. Grounds of motel maintained in excellent condition. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Extremely friendly and well managed hotel in a great location - just minutes walk from town. The bathroom was roomy with plenty of counter space. The windows in the bathroom area and bedroom opened if you wanted some fresh air which I appreciated. Our bedroom was located in the back and was extremely quiet with no road noise. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Bedrooms in the back might be quieter because they are off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballina Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Heritage Inn

Address: 229 River Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross & Rose Bates owners, John & Robyn & John & Chris, managers, welcome you to the Ballina Heritage Inn. On the Far North Coast of New South Wales, where the Richmond River greets the Pacific Ocean, lies the beautiful coastal resort town of Ballina. Ideally located in the heart of Ballina the Ballina Heritage Inn featuring luxurious accommodation and good old fashioned service. The Heritage Inn is situated opposite the 'Award Winning' Ballina RSL Club and within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballina Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.