We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to be warmly greeted and made welcome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Colonial Motel

Save Saved
You added Ballina Colonial Motel to your Saves list
Ballina Colonial Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballina Colonial Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Bangalow Road, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Cooroy, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasure to be warmly greeted and made welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A very affordable quiet motel with very helpful managers and all the facilities that are needed. Room was immaculately clean and noo problems with road noise or clattering water pipes from adjacent units. Close to everything and thoroughly recommended for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Right from the moment we stepped off the plane, Paul the owner/manager made us feel special by picking us up. The room was very clean and well cared for as were the grounds. We were treated like VIP's the entire six day stay, and will definitely be returning next year. It is a delight to be made so welcome and be returning daily to a lovely clean,restocked room. Whilst the room does not have cooking facilities,meals are available at a very reasonable price. There is also a barbecue available to use with plates and cutlery provided on request. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We came off our campside during the cyclone and these guys were so helpfull and accommodating you would not believe. They even let us dry out our gear in their garage.
Forget camping, stay with these guys!
At the end of the day, they have comfortable, clean rooms, all ground floor rooms, with the added advantage of a large pool area and evening meals, which were great.No need to go out and eat, especially as the weather was so bad.

Room Tip: Very close to the shops. Undercover parking for all guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Tried to book the motel on the way to Ballina, based on recommendation of a local friend. I tried to check the price up first in the website, then called the owner/manager to book. First, he hung up on me because of asking questions about room types. Second ring, he rudely claimed that I am to vague. Thirdly,I am being harassed verbally and had torch light beamed to my face for quiet long regardless has asked him to switch it off. Definitely not recommended to stay here. I end up staying at a nice comfy motel across the road, with a friendly customer service.

Room Tip: make sure that your money pay for a good service too, for a good person. Do not waste your money on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Colonial is a quiet, clean, and comfortable motel with easy access to the highway and to the Ballina CBD. While the furniture was older, the room had obviously received some updating with a coat of paint and some other updating as the room is much more current than some of the furniture indicates. The owners obviously put a lot of work into maintaining the property and the grounds, and are very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The undercover parking keeps your car cool on sunny days, and means you can stay dry when it rains. There is a $4 per stay charge for unlimited high speed internet, which is very reasonable (I still think internet should be included at all hotels though). The Colonial does not have an attached restaurant, but you can order a home cooked breakfast or dinner to your room for very reasonable prices. The dinner I ordered was tasty, nicely presented, and had generous portions.

The Ballina Colonial Motel is a fine place to stay at a reasonable price, I have no hesitation in recommending the motel to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We have stayed at this motel many times. It is quiet, being away from the Pacific Highway. Also in walking distance to Ballina Fair shopping centre and another shopping centre opposite Ballina Fair. There is undercover car parking and the proprietors are friendly and helpful. When we were last there some rooms were still in the process of being refurbished, consequently some were more dated than others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballina Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Colonial Motel

Address: 9 Bangalow Road, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballina Colonial Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballina Colonial Motel provides a quiet location, away from the main thoroughfare, just south of Ballina Shopping Centres and within easy reach of the beaches, river, shops, clubs and restaurants. We are just a 25 minute scenic drive from Byron Bay via Lennox Head. Here at the Colonial, we are always looking to enhance the quality of the accommodation we provide and over a three year period we are undertaking some major refurbishments. By the end of 2013, all the Bedrooms were upgraded and in 2014/15, we will be working on new Bathrooms, as well as completing improvements to the Outdoor Pool Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ballina Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Colonial Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.