We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so helpfull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Colonial Motel

Save Saved
You added Ballina Colonial Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ballina Colonial Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Bangalow Road, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Ballina
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So so helpfull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We came off our campside during the cyclone and these guys were so helpfull and accommodating you would not believe. They even let us dry out our gear in their garage.
Forget camping, stay with these guys!
At the end of the day, they have comfortable, clean rooms, all ground floor rooms, with the added advantage of a large pool area and evening meals, which were great.No need to go out and eat, especially as the weather was so bad.

Room Tip: Very close to the shops. Undercover parking for all guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Tried to book the motel on the way to Ballina, based on recommendation of a local friend. I tried to check the price up first in the website, then called the owner/manager to book. First, he hung up on me because of asking questions about room types. Second ring, he rudely claimed that I am to vague. Thirdly,I am being harassed verbally and had torch light beamed to my face for quiet long regardless has asked him to switch it off. Definitely not recommended to stay here. I end up staying at a nice comfy motel across the road, with a friendly customer service.

Room Tip: make sure that your money pay for a good service too, for a good person. Do not waste your money on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Colonial is a quiet, clean, and comfortable motel with easy access to the highway and to the Ballina CBD. While the furniture was older, the room had obviously received some updating with a coat of paint and some other updating as the room is much more current than some of the furniture indicates. The owners obviously put a lot of work into maintaining the property and the grounds, and are very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The undercover parking keeps your car cool on sunny days, and means you can stay dry when it rains. There is a $4 per stay charge for unlimited high speed internet, which is very reasonable (I still think internet should be included at all hotels though). The Colonial does not have an attached restaurant, but you can order a home cooked breakfast or dinner to your room for very reasonable prices. The dinner I ordered was tasty, nicely presented, and had generous portions.

The Ballina Colonial Motel is a fine place to stay at a reasonable price, I have no hesitation in recommending the motel to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We have stayed at this motel many times. It is quiet, being away from the Pacific Highway. Also in walking distance to Ballina Fair shopping centre and another shopping centre opposite Ballina Fair. There is undercover car parking and the proprietors are friendly and helpful. When we were last there some rooms were still in the process of being refurbished, consequently some were more dated than others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballina Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Colonial Motel

Address: 9 Bangalow Road, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballina Colonial Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballina Colonial Motel offers a quiet location, away from the Pacific Highway, just south of Ballina Centre Shopping Centre and within easy reach of the beaches, river, shops, clubs and restaurants and just a 25 minute scenic drive from Byron Bay via Lennox Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Ballina Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Colonial Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.