We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay at a Quiet Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Homestead Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ballina Homestead Motel to your Saves list
Ballina Homestead Motel
Cnr Cherry Street & Fox Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Noosa Heads
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay at a Quiet Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We liked our stay at this motel, with a few minor niggles. Our room was at the back of the motel, with parking directly outside the door, this was a plus and the bedding was good with plenty of pillows.

There was table and chairs outside on a little patio, which was not at all private with other guest rooms looking on to it and a pathway which runs virtually the width of the motel. The sliding bathroom door slid very awkwardly and at times did not work at all. The screen entrance door could not be held open on its own which resulted in it slamming most times on entry this also seemed to be a problem with the other rooms beside us, not pleasant to be woken by other guests returning home late at night.

Overall it was pleasant but I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here on our way back to Brisbane and had an enjoyable night. We were travelling with a 2-year-old and booked a family room. It was very spacious and clean. The hotel is in a quiet, more residential area too far to walk to the CBD but fine by car. There is a local sports club in easy walking distance though. Parking was a little tight also and make sure you ask for a lower level room if you have a lot of bags. The bathroom didn't have a bathtub either so check for that also if it's required. Overall a nice stay and checkout was very easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This motel was at a competative price renovovated motel with freindly service. We payed an extra $10 for a room with cooking facilties this is well worth it as these rooms are on lower level , can be parked outside and have more space with there own private court yard garden with an out door setting The road was off the main road so it was quiet and still close to beach and shops

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Fantasic service, pleasant staff. But too many things need to be fixed.
Particularly room 22. The bathroom door is falling off the hinges, no screen on bathroom window, no fan in bathroom, access to shower is a major hazard. An accident waiting to happen. Who puts stairs like that in a bathroom? Anyone could fall through the shower screen. The room with two single beds:
* Each bed sags in the middle
*The overhead fan works..barely. It was that wobbly it may easily decapitate someone.
Better dishwashing liquid, soap and tea towels.
The tv didn't work properly
Obviously people have visitors. We were allocated our parking spot and everytime we returned 4x4s would be parked in our spot. A couple of times, our car was left on the street because of this. I must admit, the motel is very quiet, the cleaners are lovely, but I will not be staying again & recommending the place. Pay
cheap accomodation, get cheap & assets and service.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Checking in for an overnight stay we found it to be pleasant, clean and looking nust like the website. After having trouble with room 5 (double bed) we were upgraded to room 4 family room which again was comfortable, clean and pleasant. If your after a 1 or 2 night stay you cant go past this place,value for money. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Not having registered for breakfast there was a decent list at a reasonable price of around $11ea for a cooked meal. For myself the double bed was as bit hard but thats just me everything else was fine. Nice place for a short stay

Room Tip: Not room 4 unless they upgrade the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed at this motel overnight and found it very comfortable with everything you would need and very reasonably priced. I had booked two nights because I needed to check in earlier than the 2.00 check in time. I was pleasantly surprised when I checked out that I had not been charged the full rate for the first night. The room was very spacious with a double and single bed, table and chairs and large bathroom. It was clean and comfortable. The only minus was the pillows - not comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This place was neat as a pin. It was great value, the reception and housekeeping staff were lovely, good 10 min walking distance into town, free upgrade to a large room due to it being quiet. we couldn't ask for more, except for it to stop raining.. but Ballina does that.. a lot. we both had a quiet and comfortable sleep, even though its across the road from the district hospital we didn't hear a single ambulance. restaurant downstairs. We didn't expect much for what we paid but it definitely ticked all the boxes. obviously nothing fancy, but good service and a clean room was all we needed and we got that.

only down side if i had to give one was the awkwardness of the downstairs parking, there was no one there when we arrived so it was an easy park, but not so easy exit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballina Homestead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Homestead Motel

Address: Cnr Cherry Street & Fox Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ballina Homestead Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Homestead Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.