We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern rooms and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballina Palms Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ballina Palms Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ballina Palms Motor Inn
Corner of Owen Street & Bentinck Street | PO Box 258, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great modern rooms and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

We were very impressed with the rooms and are very well done out with lovely equipment and a good variety tea, coffee etc, we were in a very hard to park sports car so the owner went far beyond the call of duty by allowing us to park in a no parking area and then took me to the shops to buy provisions as we arrived as a last minute booking, you can't get better service than that.
Elaine and John Muncer

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
38
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

This place was difficult to book, despite emailing twice and ringing. Nonetheless once we arrived was easy as to book in. Place seems to be in the middle of a makeover with the rooms being updated from an 80's style to modern Balinese. Room was spotless and had a new kitchenette which would be most handy if we were staying for longer. It even had a toasted sandwich maker. Bathroom was also semi renovated and spotless.
We stayed here for work so it was in and out, very good value for this and bed was comfortable.Walking distance to the river and 10 min walk to main street.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We've travelled all around coastal Australian and Ballina Palms is one of the best motels at the best price we have stayed in. This is a small motel situated just outside the CBD and close to the ocean inlet. Reception was very friendly and down to earth. We were given room 1 at the front of the complex. The room was a good size with queen bed, couch (sofa bed I think), small table and two chairs, flat screen tv mounted on the wall, quiet air con, built in robe with full length mirror doors, a lovely renovated ensuite and a small new kitchenette area with sink, microwave, toaster, kettle, sandwich maker, frypan, crockery and cutlery. There was enough gear to cookup a decent meal. A fridge with mini bar items and a CD player on the bench. The room was beautifully decorated, modern and pristine. A lot of effort has gone into creating a comfortable home away from home experience.
Breakfast and dinner could be organized through reception. There was also a pool which we didn't use.
I would recommend this motel if you ever stay in Ballina. You won't be disappointed. Great value at $110/night.

Room Tip: Room 1 at the front is a very nice queen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The quality of the facilities in the room at Ballina Palms Motor Inn stunned us. We were only staying for one night, the bed was the comfiest ever, everything was pristine, the kitchen provided everything we could have needed. The room was well furnished, lavish bedside lights...We didn't try breakfast because we had our own food with us for our journey.
We would categorically stay there again and again on our way to QLD. The service desk was friendly and efficient. If you want somewhere to stay this should be the place you choose. Brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here on the way back to Brisbane. Very clean, well looked after, and excellent breakfast. Bit away from the main area but excellent for the one night or a couple of days. Highly recommend and great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Spotlessly clean, great facilities, thought put into the attention to detail, friendly and helpful host. Very little traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed for one night. Room very clean and staff very helpful.

If you are planning on using the guest laundry, allow plenty of time. The manager was very helpful in allowing us to leave things in the drier while we went off for a hot choc etc.

A very nice stay!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballina Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Palms Motor Inn

Address: Corner of Owen Street & Bentinck Street | PO Box 258, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ballina Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Palms Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.