We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous property and great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   243 Avoca Drive, Avoca Beach, New South Wales 2251, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
B&B Getaway for 2!
Ranked #3 of 6 Avoca Beach B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous property and great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent the weekend at Avoca Valley B&B to celebrate our anniversary. The property is beautifully quiet and surrounded by spectacular gardens. We went to Avoca and had dinner on the beach the first night and had the most amazing meal on the second night at Flair in Erina Heights - another fabulous find. Took our mountain bikes and rode up Mt Kincumber on Sunday, which is also a great thing to do if you don't mind a steep climb.
Our room was lovely and spacious, though maybe a little sparse and worn in places, and the bathroom was great. We had a spa bath and a fabulous private balcony. The room was quiet with plenty of space to hang out in and not feel confined.
It was the little touches that made this place great - the liqueur and chocolates left out for guests to help themselves, the coffee machine and the fabulous breakfasts (you select your meal the night before from a choice of 4 and the time you want to eat). You can't eat too early, so expect to sleep in or exercise before breakfast.
Michael was the cook and the food was fabulous - and lots of it. Tried the big breakfast and the French toast, both of which were amazing.
I was also impressed by their flexibility; if we had wanted to get takeaway and eat in, they were happy to clean up after us. This did indeed meet our expectations and we had a wonderful weekend away, and all within such a short distance from Sydney. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca_Valley_BandB, Owner at Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Meg B, thank you so much for your lovely review. We were indeed pleased that you chose our little place to celebrate your anniversary and we're so happy to have met your expectations. We have plans to update our suites in the very near future to ensure that any wear and tear is taken care of promptly - we just had to wait until our busy summer season had passed. Thank you again for taking the time to leave such a detailed review and we look forward to welcoming you back next time:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner and I has the most wonderful time at Avoca Valley B&B. From the very moment we arrived, Jo and Michael were so lovely and friendly. Our holiday was overall very private, peaceful and pleasant. Excellent service and beautiful, elegant decor. I cannot wait to return, i truly had the most pleasant service and would like to thank Jo and Michael for their wonderful service and hospitality. The daily gourmet breakfast was unbelievably good! Highly recommended if you are looking for a sweet escape where you can enjoy privacy, and have an amazing getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca_Valley_BandB, Owner at Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you tam c for your lovely review. We do strive to provide our guests with privacy in a peaceful setting and we pride ourselves on serving breakfast that people will return for:-) We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turramurra, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This B&B leaves you wanting to extend your holiday and wanting to return. I have returned several times and each time I have been made feel so very welcome, and never disappointed. The accommodation is beautiful, the atmosphere peaceful & is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Jo & Michael have found that perfect balance between making you feel very welcome but also giving you the time out to enjoy your holiday. Hardly noticed that there were other guests as everyone has plenty of space. The room was a great size so not a problem when it has been raining, and the setting absolutely stunning in the sunshine. Would highly recommend for those travelling as a couple or solo. Will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca_Valley_BandB, Owner at Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much Emma for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We're so happy you choose us time and again to relax and unwind, and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

From our arrival to departure we could not fault this accommodation. The owners were so nice and helpful. We were staying there while looking to buy property in the area. I would like to return and enjoy the accommodation without the stress of buying real estate.
Chocolates and liquor were a nice added touch. Weather terrible therefore could not walk around the lovely grounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The initial approach to the property assured us that we would enjoy our stay, well manicured lawns and gardens and spacious grounds. We were greeted with a warm smile and it was obvious from the start that we were going to be comfortable. The room was very clean and set up with all we needed, chocolates and liquers were available, coffee/tea; great coffee machine. Breakfast was a treat with a good selection of fresh fruits, yoghurt, toast etc, and substantial hot selection. We the asked for advice on restaurants, without hesitation one was highly recommended, and with pick-up and drop off. The restaurant was just superb and just topped off our short stay. My wife and I could not recommend Avoca Valley Bed & Breakfast highly enough. Thank-you Joy and Michael.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Just spent two wonderful nights at this B&B with my hubby. In the past we've been reluctant to consider B&B's as we're fairly private people and weren't sure if the intimacy of a B&B would be too intrusive. We couldn't have been more wrong.
Jo and Michael are just lovely - they settled us in, showed us the facilities, booked our dinners with restaurants and organised shuttle buses, took our breaky orders, served breakfast and left us to enjoy our time together - the privacy was actually wonderful and yet they were only a push of a button away if we needed them. When we wanted some assistance, absolutely nothing was a bother.
We shared the weekend with two other guests and apart from a slight overlap with breakfast we scarcely saw or heard the other guests. At times it really felt like you had the run of the place to yourself.
The accomodation is beautiful - french white themed with beautiful, spacious rooms and a private balcony. We had one of those magic September weekends where the sun shone with a real promise of summer and the sky was a perfect blue. Sitting on the sunny balcony with the view over the valley, cherry blossoms and birds singing is a memory I'll have forever.
Breakfast is a real treat. Cooked to perfection and great coffee.
The bed is very comfortable if the pillows were a little high for my liking - hubby thought they were fine. We actually slept very well.
The bathroom is spacious which is such a nice change from hotel accomodation. My only criticism was that the shower was too cold for me - that may be a safety requirement, but it seemed less warm than other places we've stayed. I love a hot shower, but that was really only a minor issue for me when everything else was so good.
If all B&B's are like this, then we're converts! We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed here recently with husband of 23 years. This purpose built bed and breakfast is simply gorgeous. Bell birds greet you with their singing in the valley below as you open the door to your room. We had the spa room, one of three rooms available for couples only. (Hooray!! ) Each room is large and has an elegant bathroom and private balcony. Qulity bed linens are used here. Breakfast is served in the guest dining room. The host is very friendly. Port and chocolates are complimentary. The property had just been sold prior to our visit. The new owners I believe will continue with the business. Only draw back hard to find in the dark after a meal out, the sign is not well lit from the road. Also the music played at breakfast was dreadful. It was tacky elevator type which really spoilt the outlook over the valley and drowned out the birds singing. Other than that, I would love to return and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 243 Avoca Drive, Avoca Beach, New South Wales 2251, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Avoca Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avoca Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avoca Valley Bed & Breakfast is a purpose built luxury adult retreat on the Central Coast of NSW, Australia. It is located in the beautiful Avoca Valley, five minutes from Avoca Beach and only one hour from Sydney. This private boutique accommodation has three spacious, elegant suites, each with their own private balcony, en-suite and entrance. The perfect retreat for romance, privacy and relaxation. Masseur available for massages within the privacy of your suite. Packages available for that special getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avoca Valley Boutique Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.