We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We survived” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Adelong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House
Save
You added Beaufort House to your Saves list
77 Tumut Street, Adelong, New South Wales 2729, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adelong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We survived”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been keen to stay here for a while because I was attracted to the restaurant and it looked like an interesting place to stay.

We booked a room in the motel section so maybe that was the mistake (although we didn't want to pay a fortune to share a bathroom). Perhaps the non-motel rooms are of a much higher standard - I don't know. We were greeted very hospitably and shown proudly around the room. When left on our own we discovered the frayed towels and bath mat in the bathroom. The edge of the hand towel had come away so much that you had to take care not to put your arm through. The room is small and has a king size bed so we had trouble working out where to put our luggage so that we could open it and still walk around the room. We were tempted to just remove a few items then put the rest back in the car.

We were welcomed to the restaurant as enthusiastically as when we were shown our room. Dinner was pretty good, filling and inexpensive but it was a surprise not to find schnitzel on a Viennese menu. We paid a fortune for a bottle of local wine, which was quite nice and went well with the food.

When it came time for bed we realised that on top of the king size bed were two overlapping single blankets. No triple-sheeting here! Despite the hotch-potch we slept well.

The next morning we juggled continental breakfast items on the tiny table. The portions were adequate but the locally made jam had been in use for some time. There was less than 20% of the jam left in the jar, it was mixed with butter from previous users and there was a little mould in the lid.

I wouldn't mind visiting Adelong again. The gold mine ruins were interesting and there appear to be a couple of other dining and accommodation options in town. I just couldn't stay in the motel section of Beaufort House again.

Room Tip: Not the motel section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to know that you slept well and enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant with your local choice of boutique wine . It is most regrettable to hear that your toweling was frayed. Only recently, had new toweling and bathmats been purchased. Should our housekeeping staff have provided an older one by accident, we can only apologise. We will ensure this does not occur again in the future. The 2 motel rooms are designated specifically for 'pet friendly' use, built in the 1950's, and renovated last year. The size of the rooms cannot be altered. It is our endeavour to describe the motel rooms correctly both on our website, and once again in person whilst taking your reservation over the phone prior to a written confirmation and payment. For this reason we do not have the motel rooms listed to make your reservation online ensuring personal contact with our guests. They are an entirely separate entity to the boutique hotel. Possibly the hotel may have been a preferred choice with the double rooms only an additional $15 per night. It would be our pleasure to see you return to experience Beaufort House as intended, and again thank you for the opportunity to clarify the room choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    63
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
165
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked 2 nights using a voucher, the price seemed a bit to good to be true and we wernt too sure what to expect although the reviews were very good. Any expectations we had were blown away by our stay. Such a lovely little hotel with great atmosphere, vintage decore and styling, very clean and comfortable and very peaceful. Bathrooms are shared witch may be an in conveyance at busy times but there are a few and not to many rooms, we had the placebo our selves so a bathroom each was great. The highlight of our stay was the evening meal, well priced and extreamly good food with lovely wine. The town is quite small and very quite so perfect fora relaxing get away but there isn't a whole lot to without driving an hour or so to the national park. Overall a very friendly and relaxing place with a great vibe. Port in the room was a brilliant touch.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you both stay with us and visit. Thank you most kindly for your positive and encouraging words and review. Hopefully we may see you again in the future for another little escape. Until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at Adelong and stayed at Beaufort House. We had heard
of it from relatives and were not disappointed. The hotel has a gracious decor and atmosphere
with beautiful furnishings. The beds are most comfortable and you have the option of a self
serve breakfast room which opens onto a balcony overlooking the main street. We found
this delightful. The restaurant of the hotel is Austrian themed with an amazing menu. The
entrees are like mains in size and the home made apple strudel was simply superb. The hostess
was most accommodating in meeting my special dietary requirements. We would certainly like to
return.

Room Tip: All the rooms available are of a high standard. We chose the balcony side and the other side overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
The time taken to post your most positive review is highly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us recently, and additionally our Yestyear decor and presentation. It will be wonderful to see you both return for a visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tumbarumba
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife , my daughter and myself have been visiting this lovely restaurant for many years and always leave well satisfied.The host always greets you with a smile and is always helpful to make your meal a pleasurable experience.love the old world atmosphere of the place .also like the fact that they like to promote other attractions in the local area . Haven't
stayed overnight as yet ,but plan to in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It is always a pleasure to see you and your family return to visit us, and more so that your experience here is an enjoyable one. Thank you kindly for haven taken the time to post your review, and for the positive rating and feedback. See you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Great boutique hotel. Cynthia is a gracious and helpful host. I booked the London room for two nights and my friend had the Paris room. The themed rooms are beautiful, I was lost just staring at the detail in the stunning antique furniture, fireplaces and art work. This alongside the fantastic food on offer make the Beaufort House worth a visit.
We stayed mid week and it was awesome as only two other rooms aside from ours were in use, making the house feel like our own. It was great to take a step back in time, no need for phones or TV, but those facilities were always there with free WIFI included. I have never stayed in a hotel with share bathrooms & was initially worried but, the bathrooms and amenities were immaculately cleaned. I would say it was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. I am not a cooked breakfast person so I thought the free breakfast was great - your choice of breads for toast, juices, teas, coffee, cereals. The restaurant food was amazing. I am a big eater and both my friend & I struggled to get through the Austrian Plater. For $60 it was great value for money. I have also never been a fan of apple strudel, but I thought I'd try it and it too was amazing. Ask Cynthia to recommend a drop of wine to meet your particular taste.
Now you may ask what there is to do, my friend and I explored Tumut and Adelong, take your walking shoes as the Gold Mill ruins are definitely worth a visit. But to be honest, we just wanted to go back to the Beaufort and chat away in its beautiful surroundings whilst sipping on our tasty complementary port which we did. I would recommend the Beaufort to anyone who wants a quiet getaway in the country, great for couples, a girls weekend...do something different for a change.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We can't thank you enough for your wonderful description of your experience of Beaufort House and your recent visit. It is great to have such positive feedback and we certainly hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Husband and I stayed for 2 nights. Cynthia couldn't do enough for us. The house is charming, rooms are clean and furnished beautifully. The restaurant served reasonably priced absolutely delicious meals. There is so much to do around there you need a week to see just some of the attractions. Loved it!!!!!

Room Tip: Paris room was good. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed everything Beaufort House and this region has to offer, and thank you so very much for your positive review and kind words. It will most certainly be our pleasure to see you return for a second visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

had very good sleep in the London room, didn't want to leave the second day. and the owner has tried her very best to make us feel at home. I did like the breakfast, especially the orange and blueberry jam. I actually had the best pizza I have ever had there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of Beaufort House. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we have passed on your compliments re enjoying your pizza too. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time here and returned home relaxed. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Address: 77 Tumut Street, Adelong, New South Wales 2729, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Adelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOUTIQUE HOTEL - RESTAURANT - WINE BARBeaufort House is a heritage boutique hotel and over 18yrs+ Adult Retreat, located halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Snowy Mountains Highway, nestled in the foothills of Kosciuszko National Park.Being only 21 kms off the Hume Highway, it is the ‘Gateway’ to the Snowy Mountains and only a short drive to Batlow, Tumbarumba (home to our cold climate vineyards), Gundagai, Tumut, Talbingo, Yarrangobilly Caves, Mt Selwyn Snowfields and so much more!Beaufort House is the perfect destination for a relaxing getaway to experience Australia’s history, mountains, rivers and wildlife, where you are most likely to see wild Brumby’s & Kangaroo’s to name a few!. This region is most certainly one of the best kept secrets for your discovery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Adelong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.