We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Adelong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House
Save
You added Beaufort House to your Saves list
77 Tumut Street, Adelong, New South Wales 2729, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adelong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This beautiful little bed and breakfast was the base of our stunning little weekend away in the country. We had enough time to relax, unwind and breathe in the country air yet we never ran out of things to see whilst walking around the quaint streets along side rivers, parks and the beautiful adelong falls. Highlight of our trip was the service and comfort at the Beaufort House - especially the Ausitrian Platter which we hoovered down in record time! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you most kindly for your taking the time to post your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the township, mountain region and of course your stay with us here at Beaufort House. Your compliments have been passed on to our chef Joshua for his outstanding Austrian Platter which is quite a hit with our patrons. Look forward to your return visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    63
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
165
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Beaufort House on a Wednesday and Thursday night in late November 2012, and found it a refreshingly different experience. It was in a great location for outdoor activities. Cynthia (host and an owner) was friendly and professional, and always around to help guests or for a chat. The shared bathrooms were clean, and their heritage styled bedrooms unique. The only downside to this hotel was that we weren’t permitted to consume our own alcohol on premises, and that there wasn’t a bar fridge in the room. However a definite positive was the port in the room, and the alcohol and food available in their restaurant. The chef produced some very tasty dishes, and we consumed some very drinkable regional wines. We would recommend the place to anyone wanting to visit that area of NSW, or just on the way through to somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed our unique environment and heritage hotel for your time away. Thank you kindly for the encouraging review given. It has been our endeavour to maintain this 'old world' experience, therefore full service is available to our guests at all times. Our establishment is a fully licensed premise, wine, beer etc available on request at any time outside of our wine bar hours for our in-house guests. Thank you for giving us the opportunity of clarifying this for future visitors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Adelong hasn't changed since I was a boy - well over 70 years ago. Except for Beaufort House that is. Actually the structure of the building is the same - but what Cynthia and her husband have done to the inside is extraordinary. The ambience is way and beyond what one would expect from a tiny NSW hamlet. Even if you can't stay a night or two, drop in for a coffee and a gander at the authentic antiques.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed this old hotel, the atmosphere and old world created on your return visit to Adelong. Hopefully this will add to your memories of our township, and it has been our endeavour to return Beaufort House to its' former glory...and more. Look forward to seeing you return again in the future! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a lovely time visiting this boutique, historic house for 2 nights. Cynthia and her husband have done a wonderful job restoring and creating this charming little escape (which includes an in-house restaurant and cute wine bar). We enjoyed exploring the surrounding area (nearby adelong falls gold mine is worth an explore as are the sugar pines and a short drive to Batlow and Tumbarumba is worth it). We ate in their restaurant on sat night and had the Austrian platter, which was a hearty,tasty and very authentic platter - well worth it!.

We stayed the Venice room which is on the courtyard rather than verandah side and it was nice and quiet - it did only have a double bed which is on the small side for the two of us but it was fine for a couple of nights. The 3 shared bathrooms were clean and had no trouble with availability and all rooms were in use when we were there. It is lovely to sit out on the shared verandah and have the supplied serve yourself continental brekky, which was ample for us (good plunger coffee!) and chat with other couples staying there. Cynthia was a gracious and helpful host and we would come back again (going for Vienna suite next time around!).

Room Tip: I would opt for a room with a queen bed or the Vienna or Amsterdam suites if we go back again- doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are thankful to you for taking the time to share your experience of Beaufort House, and your most positive feedback. It was a pleasure meeting you both, and we do hope to see you return again in the future to further explore this beautiful region and a stay in the Vienna Suite next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great food, wine and a relaxed atmosphere, we couldn't ask for anything more! The rooms were cosy and clean with old world charm. The bathrooms were well kept (although next time we will pay more to have an ensuite rather than shared facilities). We enjoyed a number of lovely walks around the area, relaxing evenings with a bottle of wine and the staff were friendly and focused on making our stay enjoyable. We'll definitely return sometime in the near future and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: We loved having a room that opened on to the balcony, a beautiful place to sit and enjoy a quiet dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
It's great to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for reviewing us in such a positive manner. It is highly appreciated to receive good feedback. We do hope to see you here again in the future. The Vienna Suite will be awaiting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend in Adelong and explored the nearby towns, and had one of the most relaxing holidays we have had in a long time.
Beaufort House was beautiful, Cynthia has done such an amazing job creating a beautiful space filled with gorgeous antiques, tastefully decorated and a joy to be in.
The food in the restuarant was delicious, and the service second to none.
Cynthia is a born host, and is clearly incredibly passionate about what she does.
The Royal Hotel [pub at the top of the street] was a lovely space to sit and watch the trucks go by over a cold Batlow Apple Cider- yum! Also good pub food at good prices.
The wine bar at Beaufort house was lovely to while away the evening hours, and the courtyard a great space to be in the warm evening- we met new friends [Hi Debbie] and had a great stay.
Cynthia- just love your gorgeous cat- what a character!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Edinburugh Room- was lovely and quite as is at the back of the property, and lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us here recently. Kuro, our gorgeous cat loved sitting with you! Thank you for your most positive review, and it is always most enjoyable to host wonderful guests such as yourselves. Hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Googong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a drive around the area and looked at Blowering Dam, plus lots of info on the Snowy Hydro scheme (amazing how it was built) and Cynthia was the best host. We spent some time at the pub a few doors up with the publican Derek and Christy (who amazingly i worked with years ago) they were very welcoming, we had a good afternoon and dinner at the pub, and then retired to Cynthia's Wine Bar, and then onto her beautiful back courtyard where we again met some new friends and talked for hours. The room was very clean and tidy and we also had a separate area to make our own tea/coffee breakfast, with a beautiful balcony overlooking the main street. The Beaufort has the most amazing collection of old memorabillia so you can spend hours just looking at Cynthias collectibles. Very Beautifully done.

Room Tip: All rooms are shared bathroom accomocation, so they are pretty equal. One room does have a four pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you most kindly for your compliments, it was a pleasure having you both here to visit. It is great to know that you have enjoyed our environment and our array of antiques throughout this property. The courtyard is most certainly a relaxing area to retreat to and meet other guests. We look forward to having you return again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Address: 77 Tumut Street, Adelong, New South Wales 2729, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Adelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOUTIQUE HOTEL - RESTAURANT - WINE BARBeaufort House is a heritage boutique hotel and over 18yrs+ Adult Retreat, located halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Snowy Mountains Highway, nestled in the foothills of Kosciuszko National Park.Being only 21 kms off the Hume Highway, it is the ‘Gateway’ to the Snowy Mountains and only a short drive to Batlow, Tumbarumba (home to our cold climate vineyards), Gundagai, Tumut, Talbingo, Yarrangobilly Caves, Mt Selwyn Snowfields and so much more!Beaufort House is the perfect destination for a relaxing getaway to experience Australia’s history, mountains, rivers and wildlife, where you are most likely to see wild Brumby’s & Kangaroo’s to name a few!. This region is most certainly one of the best kept secrets for your discovery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Adelong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.