We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely host- extremely basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Adelong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House
Save
You added Beaufort House to your Saves list
77 Tumut Street, Adelong, New South Wales 2729, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adelong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
tokyo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely host- extremely basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we have just returned from a stay at Beaufort House and, perhaps unfortunately for the owners, we stayed on probably the hottest night of the year which, in a property with no air conditioning, was a challenge. Notwithstanding the host, Cynthia, was lovely and made us feel extremely welcome and the property was absolutely spotless.
The restaurant, which we ate at on our first of 2 nights, was excellent and the chef should be proud of what he produces.
unfortunately the room was extremely small, extremely hot even after the weather cooled down which meant we didn't sleep for either of the 2 nights. Also there was no television which we expect as standard. Having said that having no tv is a feature of the hotel which is explained to you when you arrive so perhaps it is our problem and not theirs... Anyway, they do a great job and I would recommend the property to others although we probably wouldn't stay there again unless we could get the Vienna suite which looked absolutely lovely and significantly better than the other rooms ( and has air conditioning).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review. It is unfortunate that Australia is currently experiencing 150 yr all time record breaking heatwaves, and we were not excluded here in the Snowy Mountains. A natural event which is unusual, and we are apologetic for the uncomfort experienced throughout your 2 night stay with us. We do thank you for your understanding. This being a historic building, and pre 1900's Yesteryear Hotel, does mean that we do not have air-conditioning, and have maintained all 'old world' features, hence, (as per our website descriptions), TV's and modern extras have purposely been excluded for the rooms, old world luxuries included, for the unique experience offered. It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed our cuisine and customer service and thank you for your compliments. It would be wonderful to see you return in the future in a different season to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    63
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
165
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Sent my parents to Beaufort House for a night in the Vienna Suite for their anniversary.
After 27 years of anniversary gifts they said this was one of the best.
Hostess lovely. Food amazing. Building stunning. Will be sending them back again hopefull!
Make sure you go!

Room Tip: Vienna Suite so worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We thank you so very kindly for having chosen Beaufort House as your special gift to your parents. It was an absolute pleasure having them stay with us, and it is fantastic to get feedback such as yours, that they had a memorable visit here. Look forward to seeing you all return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Thank you Cynthia for the outstanding caring attention you provided us in the hottest day in Adelong. Your passion love and local knowledge was very much appreciated. Your caring factor and changes you made for us under the extreme heat were deeply appreciated. We would definitely mention your property to everyone going to that area and interested in antiques and heritage building. Good luck although you won't need it as your customer attention and bubbly personality will be always remembered.

Room Tip: Property has only 3 rooms with air condoning, and private toilets if you prefer your privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so very much for your compliments and review. It is of the utmost importance to us that our guests enjoy not only our environment, but also the customer service and care as it was once offered in the past. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and sincerely hope the next time you visit, it will not be in this once in a lifetime heatwave we are experiencing all over Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in Florence room which was lovely. Didn't mind the shared bathrooms as there were three of them and they were always spotless. Their pizzas are amazing and hungarian goulash and home made apple stroudle to die for. Beaufort House is full of old charm and character. It was like stepping back in time with no TV but a good port and lovely conversations with other guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Your review is so very much appreciated, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience offered by us here at Beaufort House. We have passed on your positive comments to our house keeping team and take pride in our presentation, cleanliness and service. To know you also enjoyed your dining experience is just wonderful feedback. It would be our pleasure to see you return again, possibly to enjoy another relaxing break. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and well stocked. Cynthia, the host was full of energy and information and did everything to make our stay memorable.
The only thing that could be improved would be the mattress on our bed. It was a bit bouncy ( soft). We stayed in the Prague room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you had a good time staying with us recently. Thank you kindly for posting a positive review and sharing your experience. Our endeavour has been to accommodate guests with 'medium' selection of mattresses, and it is certainly difficult to cater for individual sleeping requirements. The Prague room has an ensemble, as does the Dublin and Florence rooms, therefore possibly on your next visit, we could recommend a Queen bed room to suit. Thank you again, and look forward to possibly seeing you again this 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Adelong is a little jewel on the western side of the Snowies - really worth rediscovering the area - Beaufort House makes a great base to visit Tumut, Talbingo, Batlow and the snow.
Beaufort is a trip back into the 1920's with enough modern touches to be comfortable. C.ynthia is a great host and the food is good.
The food at the Royal Hotel is also very good and beautiful quiet streets to walk off dinner.
Explore the old gold fields

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and pool in the 1920's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting us a 2nd time and enjoying your stay with us here a Beaufort House. It is wonderful to know that each visit you have had a great experience, and we look forward to seeing you here again for a 3rd time soon! Have a wonderful 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Beaufort House with its old world charm. Having bought the deal on Living Social we found it extremely good value. The room and all amenities were very clean and in keeping with the historic building. We loved sitting out on the balcony until late in the evening with our cups of tea and coffee. Also loved sitting out there enjoying our included breakfast. The balcony also provided the opportunity to meet up with the other guests and talk about the local attractions.
Local attractions we enjoyed included
the Adalong Falls and Gold mine ruins(very interesting). You could even swim in the Falls and waterways;
Sugar Pines Forrest (would make a stunning place for wedding photos);
Paddy's River Falls ...... Outstanding feature considering there had been some recent rain. Bring your bathers here too;
lunch at the 4Bears cafe Tumbarumba ...a cafe with a difference...a very beary cafe !!! but the food was tasty;
a visit to the Tumbarumba museum and tourist info centre;
then on to Batlo to find some delicious apples. Was surprised the local supermarket didn't stock any but was advised to stop at a roadside stall where we bought some red delicious and some freshly baked scones with local berry jam and cream while enjoying conversation with owner;
a quick trip to Tumut completed our enjoyable day.
Back at Beaufort House we spent an enjoyable evening in the courtyard eating one of their delicious pizzas. Thanks Cynthia for looking after us and I loved the lollies in the room too and my hubby enjoyed the Port.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so very kindly for the most positive review you have written for your stay with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed your visit to Beaufort House, and had a wonderful experience with the many offerings of this fantastic region. Look forward to your return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Address: 77 Tumut Street, Adelong, New South Wales 2729, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Adelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOUTIQUE HOTEL - RESTAURANT - WINE BARBeaufort House is a heritage boutique hotel and over 18yrs+ Adult Retreat, located halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Snowy Mountains Highway, nestled in the foothills of Kosciuszko National Park.Being only 21 kms off the Hume Highway, it is the ‘Gateway’ to the Snowy Mountains and only a short drive to Batlow, Tumbarumba (home to our cold climate vineyards), Gundagai, Tumut, Talbingo, Yarrangobilly Caves, Mt Selwyn Snowfields and so much more!Beaufort House is the perfect destination for a relaxing getaway to experience Australia’s history, mountains, rivers and wildlife, where you are most likely to see wild Brumby’s & Kangaroo’s to name a few!. This region is most certainly one of the best kept secrets for your discovery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Adelong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.