We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bees :(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Goose & Gridiron

Goose & Gridiron
317 St Lawrence St, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
613.269.2094
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Canadian, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a full service restaurant located in beautiful historic Merrickville. We also have a great pub for get togethers with friends or casual meetings with clients all in an 1856 historic building. During beatiful summer weather sit on our patio and have a great meal in the sunshine! Book your next party in our separate party room that can accommodate up to 50. If it's a group, a family outing or a romantic night out give us a call or just drop in and we can accommodate all your needs. Cheers from The Goose!!
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bees :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The food & service were Great. However sitting o the patio in the summertime seems to attract bees and the like. The seating inside is nice and the service a little faster. Will go back :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are happy you has great service and food. Unfortunately we are in the country in Merrickville and surrounded by "Mother Nature". We do not like to spray pesticides due to the negative impact it has on the environment and also the links to cancer in women. Cheers and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brockville
1 review
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful inside and out! Very friendly staff with great service. The food was very tasty and we were provided large portions. I loved the atmosphere. Price was affordable and I would highly recommend the Goose & Gridiron.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. We are very pleased you had a great stay with us. Cheers, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Rehearsal Party dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had our son't rehearsal party dinner in a lovely room beside the main dining area. The service was wonderful and the food was even better. Very affordable, good size portions and delicious. I would highly recommend this friendly restaurant and pub.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We have had many rehearsal dinners in our private room. We love to be part of that special day for couples. Thanks for choosing us and all the best and good luck to the bride and groom! Cheers from all of us at The Goose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Great Chowder!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a Fisherman's Chowder, Fish & Chips and Mussels to start. All excellent, very good value for the dollar. Then to top it off our waitress was awesome! Thanks for a great meal, we will be back next time we are in Ontario.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for your awesome comments, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Opens early, even in winter. Good food and good prices. Staff very pleasant and efficient, would recommend this restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again. We do stay open all year other than Christmas Day and New Years Day so we will be here ready for all, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goose & Gridiron also viewed

 
Merrickville, Ontario
Merrickville, Ontario
 

Been to Goose & Gridiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goose & Gridiron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.