We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken wings that did not fly.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Goose & Gridiron

Goose & Gridiron
317 St Lawrence St, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
613.269.2094
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Canadian, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a full service restaurant located in beautiful historic Merrickville. We also have a great pub for get togethers with friends or casual meetings with clients all in an 1856 historic building. During beatiful summer weather sit on our patio and have a great meal in the sunshine! Book your next party in our separate party room that can accommodate up to 50. If it's a group, a family outing or a romantic night out give us a call or just drop in and we can accommodate all your needs. Cheers from The Goose!!
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Chicken wings that did not fly.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I were seeking refuge from the 95 plus degree heat in Merrickville. The Goose and Gridiron across the street looked so cool! Upon entering the place it looked nice and quaint, clean and inviting. We were only interested in cooling off, have a drink and stay a while. We looked at the menu and decided to order some wings. They were the worst wings we have ever had. Dried out, hard as rock, overcooked, teeth breaking disaster. How can any pub mess-up plain ordinary chicken wings? So we scraped off some meat, dipped it in honey garlic sauce (it was just ok) ate some and left feeling nicely cooled off, but oh so disappointed with the food. We are not sure if the chef had a bad day preparing the wings but he or she definitely needs "CHEF RAMSAY' in the kitchen! Returning is not an option.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Here at The Goose we always strive to make each of our guests experience something special. If we missed the mark we would gladly have you back "on us" to make sure we right the wrong! We sincerely apologize that your visit at The Goose was not a great on. We always strive for perfection and once and a while we also make mistakes. Thanks for your understanding and Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
1 review
“Great lunch on the patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a great lunch on the patio on a lazy Sunday afternoon. The service was excellent.
I had a buffalo wrap and fries, girlfriend had warm balsamic soinach salad with chicken. Portions were hugh, beer was cold. No rush, just a great relaxing afternoon. Great place !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed a great afternoon on our patio. We strive to make everyone's experience a memorable one! Cheers and we look forward to you visiting use again, Sincerely Tracy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“where's the beef?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stopped in for lunch on a quiet Saturday, no problem getting a table outside. Staff was friendly enough. We ordered our drinks and gave our food order when she returned. She failed to mention that they had some daily specials, we overheard another waitress telling her table about them, but too late, we already ordered. Too bad, because they sounded fairly appetizing.

My wife ordered a Cobb salad, which she said was definitely not what a Cobb salad should look and taste like. I ordered the G&G Burger with cheese and bacon. The single slice of bacon was hidden under the cheese. The reason there was only one slice was because the size of the beef patty could only support one slice. It was tiny and looked so out of place on the massive bun.Anyway, it tasted ok, but for the size it should have been half the price.

Won't be back anytime soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Refreshingly good. We take a lot of road trips, and good food at pubby restaurants is hard to find. The bangers and mash and chicken salad on focaccia far exceeded our expectations. Beer was cold with good selection on tap. Service was prompt and friendly. Old english atmosphere very comfortable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We've dined at the Goose many times when the extended family comes to town. The wait staff is competent, the food is really good, and the prices are more than fair. The quality is consistent, and we have our favourites. The decor has been freshened up. Always nice to visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goose & Gridiron also viewed

 
Merrickville, Ontario
Merrickville, Ontario
 

Been to Goose & Gridiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goose & Gridiron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.