We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merrickville Guest Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merrickville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merrickville Guest Suites
Save
You added Merrickville Guest Suites to your Saves list
159 St. Lawrence St., Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Merrickville Guest Suite was a great place to rest our weary bones after a long drive. The owners were very accommodating when we were booking our accommodations. The suite itself is modern, well appointed and beautifully decorated. A little kitchenette allows you to cook your own meals, but there are several dinner options in Merrickville. Breakfast is provided.
We plan to visit again.

Room Tip: Only two rooms so it shouldn't be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in the Sunrise Suite the third weekend of July while visiting family nearby. We were very pleased with the room and the extra help given us because we could not make it by check in time. We were given a number to call and were met after hours to be shown our room. The room is stylishly decorated and spotlessly clean. The shower is very large and very clean and the free toiletries were of nice quality. Lots of surprises included like a small DVD library to chose from, a few novels by the bedside and magazines under the coffee table as well as the muffins, granola, coffee and tea supplies and assortment of juices, milk and water in the mini fridge. The bed was super comfy as was the loveseat. There is a set of stairs to climb to get to the suite, so if your mobility is limited this could be a problem for you. The beautiful casement windows overlook the main street which is filled with quaint shops and lovely restaurants. A little ways up the street just past the Locks is a picturesque walking trail you have to see. Merrickville is just the perfect little town for a few days visit and the Merrickville Suites is the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: We only saw the Sunrise suite but I would imagine that either of the two available would be equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was looking for a B&B that didn't feel like I was sleeping at my grandmothers house, and I found it in the Merrickville Guest Suites. We were a group of 6 girls boating down the Rideau river and stayed one night at the suites. We arrived early and was able to check in which was quick and painless. Catherine offered to get our luggage at the docks but we decided to make the short walk over the bridge and take in some of the sights. We were given the keys to our rooms and explained the amenities that were available. All sorts of goodies awaited us in our room. The rooms were spacious and clean. It was nice to know that after 5pm when the shop closed downstairs that we would not be heard or disturb anyone if we decided to get rowdy. The smokers in the group had the room with the balcony and were able to sit outside on the deck when they got the urge. I would definitely recommend the Suites to friends and will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manotick, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I want to sincerely thank you for accommodating my most important family members on my wedding weekend in Merrickville. You accommodated my parents, sister, brother in law, and nephew. The location was perfect, the rooms were incredible, and your service was not only professional, but exceptional. You assisted in making sure my family could enjoy the entire weekend, and they could not have been happier with the rooms. It meant so much that my family had a special quite place to have, and still go back and forth to the venue. It was intimate, and 'homey', and they enjoyed their stay immensely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Merrickville Guest Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

Weddings are such an important part of our lives and we were very happy to help make the occasion enjoyable.

It was a pleasure accommodating your very special family members.

Wishing you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

While paddling the Rideau with a couple of friends, we got caught in a torrential downpour. By the time we made it to Merrickville, we were soaked through and through. A friend recommended we stay at this location so we called, explained our wet predicament and made a reservation. Upon our arrival, the owner greeted us with 3 warm & dry towels before even showing us to our room. Need I say more. Excellent place to stay.

R. St-Onge

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Merrickville Guest Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your great review.

We were very happy to look after you after your very wet day of paddling on the Rideau River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the suites for 5 days. The owner, Michael was was very accommodating and a pleasure to speak with. When I came to check-in everything was ready and the staff were very friendly. The room is tastefully designed, clean and very spacious. The kitchen had a stovetop, toaster oven, and microwave. Everything in the room was well maintained. There is also satellite tv, wifi, and a blue-ray player with movies to watch in the room. The bed and pillows are also extremely comfortable.I was very impressed with the quality and location of the suites. I would be more than happy to stay here again. If anyone is looking for a place to stay in Merrickville I would absolutely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Merrickville Guest Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your thorough review of Merrickville Guest Suites. We really appreciate it! The description of the kitchen in your suite is great. We have very good appliances to provide meals and snacks. We also provide a light continental breakfast which includes organic granola mix and milk, yogurt, and fresh fruit.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and recommending it to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights for my 'Merrickville spring getaway' and it was terrific. The suite was really well laid out and appointed, very nice artwork, furnishings, and loved the skylight. Everything was clean, modern, and I couldn't believe the complimentary breakfast foods from coffee and tasty granola, to fruit, muffins, and yogurt - what a treat. You can't beat the location - right in the middle of the Merrickville's great shops (and right on top of Rowland's lovely leather goods store:)) and a short stroll to the locks. Wonderful people - thanks Kathy - wonderful place. Can't wait for August and my next getaway!
Gail F T

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Merrickville Guest Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you so much for review and we look forward to your next visit with us in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrickville Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrickville Guest Suites

Address: 159 St. Lawrence St., Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Merrickville Guest Suites with a designer hotel look situated right in the heart of the historic village of Merrickville along the Rideau Heritage Route. We feature 2 spacious, private suites above Merrickville's famous leather shop, Rowland Leather, where you will be welcomed when you arrive. Each deluxe suite features a fully equipped kitchenette, a queen size bed, AC, free parking, Wi-Fi, satellite tv, hair dryers and bottled water. One of the suites has a private deck. Summer Rates (2-night minimum stay required over Fri/Sat/Sun during July and August): Suite #1: $155 Suite #2: $175 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merrickville Guest Suites Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrickville Guest Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.