We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My First Time to the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timberlane Rustic Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitoulin Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timberlane Rustic Lodges
Save
You added Timberlane Rustic Lodges to your Saves list
249 Mill Road | Mindemoya, Ontario P0P 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Oshawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My First Time to the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everyone was friendly! The location is so beautiful! They had a waterbowl with fresh water and a treat for my furbaby Smitty! They food was amazing! It was my first time to the island and I so enjoyed it. Laura and Mark had lots of great tips on where to visit and eat around the island. I loved staying in my own cabin - The Maple - with a great view of the water. The only bad thing were the mosquitoes which were a bit bad a couple of the nights during my stay, but Laura shared some repellent with me at the campfire and so I made it through with only a couple of bites. Thanks for making my first trip to the island such a memorable one! I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlili, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Awwwww, thanks! Glad I could help out with the mosquitoes! They can be a bit bad at times, but at least we never see any blackflies. We love all the furry friends who travel with our guests and do our best to be dog friendly. Our dog, Molly, loves the company. So happy that your first time to the island was a good one, it is such a magical place. Would love to have you back again! Wishing you all the best!

Laura & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Where do I start. This place is the perfect getaway. Perfect for both family, couples or a guys fishing weekend away. The owners Mark and Laura make you feel right at home from the moment you arrive. The cottages are just that. Rustic Cottages but clean and comfy. Just modern enough ( they have microwaves, fridges, hot and cold water, clean bathrooms and showers) but not too modern. You really get that " On Golden Pond " feeling spending time in the cottage. Outside the cottages is a beautiful view of Lake Manitou, a swimming area, docks with boats for rent. ( or dock your own boat ). The cottages offer privacy if you wish but before you know it you are mingling with other families and guests at the beach area, during the nightly fire or on the dock as guests are often casting for the wide variety of fish the lake offers. We found ourselves getting along fabulously with other guests who all seemed to be in that relaxed vacation mode as we were and new friendships were formed. We have already booked the same dates next year in hopes of spending more time with these new friends. For those who fish Lake Manitou seems to be bountiful. The cottages are cleaned each day by Timberlane staff.

Ok.. now lets talk about the food. Both a wide choice of breakfasts ( from the hearty to the healthy ) are offered in addition to dinner in the evenings as part of the price of the cottage rental. Guests have their own table in the dinning hall and be warned that you may gain a few pounds because the food is home style cooked, there is plenty of it and it is delicious. Most everything is home made from the bread ( whole grain ) to the crab apple jelly on the table that is made from the trees in the forest behind the cottages. Save room for dessert as its also delicious. When you have pie and ice cream you can bet the crust is made from scratch because thats how they do things at Timberlane.

The cottages are located a short distance from the famed Cup and Saucer Trail ( actually straight across the lake .... you can see the camp from the trails cliffs. ) as well as Bridal Veil Falls is also near local towns for those who want to do some shopping.

In short...... this was a vacation to remember and will be an annual tradition each and every year for us as we return to the welcoming utopia of Timberlane Rustic Lodges.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlili, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words! We are so glad that you had a good time here at TImberlane, and are very happy that you have made it an annual tradition! You are a great fit here at the lodge and we look forward to your arrival each year. You are definitely a welcome part of the TImberlane family! Wishing you many happy trails until the next time...

Laura & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Rustic cabins on a beautiful lake. The kids loved jumping off the raft. Just like having a cottage without the work!! Food is homestyle with plenty for everyone. The Saturday steak at the lake and Sunday Turkey dinner our definitely stand outs. Host family is friendly and is happy to meet your every need. You won't regret staying here!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlili, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of Timberlane! Sorry it has taken so long to respond, my learning curve on tripadvisor was a bit steep! :) We are very happy that you and your family had a great experience here at the lodge, and hope to see you again!

All the best!

Laura & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We are Canadians currently living in Asia, and we stayed at Timberlane Rustic Lodges in July 2011 during our regular summer holidays in Canada. Without a doubt, it was one of the best places we have stayed for our family vacations. The setting was beautiful and the lodges were as advertised, rustic and simple yet extremely comfortable and quiet. We stayed in the family lodge and with two adults, a 6-year old, and an infant, we were had enough space to make the cabin our own. the food was top quality, hearty and delicious with generous portion - all locally sourced.T he Saturday BBQ near the lake were all guests are invited is a nice touch. the owners are wonderful people, lending the weekend a family atmosphere as our 6 year old and their children made fast friends and did all sort of island adventures. The memories and experience at Timberlane will be long-lasting and we will definitely be back the next time we return to Canada!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlili, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We really enjoyed having you and your family here at TImberlane! The kids had a great time and were sad to see you go! Thank you so much for the great review, we are glad that we could provide you with a good experience after so much travelling. Would love to have you back again, and wish you many happy trails until the next time.

All the best,

Laura & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

It was our first time to Manitoulin Island and I am glad we chose well by staying at Timberlane. The setting is perfect and we had a breathtaking view of Lake Manitou right outside our cabin. The owners were very welcoming and attentive to our needs. The staff were great. The food was very good and abundant. The grounds are well taken care of. The cabins are rustic but very clean. There are upgrades in progress to futher update the cabins. My kids were talking about going back before we even left. We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlili, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
So glad your family had a great time here at Timberlane, and thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Sorry for my delay in responding, just figured out how. :) And yes, there have been many upgrades since 2010 and many more in the works...Hope to see you again.

All the best,

Laura & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We have been going to Timberlane for the past few years and can't say enough about it. The cabins vary in sizes and are rustic with basic furnishing, radio, microwave and full size fridge. The walls are wood and covered with the names of past occupants, going back to the 1930s and 40s. Full breakfast and a three course dinner are included. The menu is set and the food is served family style. Don't forget to bring your own wine. The food is great homestyle cooking: chicken, pot roast, turkey. The lake is clear and beautiful and there is a raft for the kids to jump off of. Kayaks and canoe is also available, and larger boats can be rented. There is a bonfire in the evenings where guests can mingle and enjoy the beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlili, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! Glad you have been enjoying TImberlane over the years, our return guests are like family to us. Sorry for my delay in responding to this, but i just figured out how. :) Wishing you many happy trails until next time...

All the best

Laura & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

we stayed at the timberlane rustic lodges in aug of 2007. what a cute place. we knew not to expect anything fancy but were pleasantly surprised by the warm service and great value at this family run lodge. the cabins have not changed much over the years. they are truly rustic but cute and clean, and the bathroom in our cabin was new. our spot was right on the waters edge. the meals are included in the stay (breakfast and lunch) no cooking!! meals are served in a charming victorian style farmhouse and the food and service was beyond our expectations. the saturday social hour was great fun! the lodge is known for its fishing, so we will have to try that next time!
great value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlili, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for our first great review on Tripadvisor! And sorry it took so long for me to respond, just learned how. :) So glad you and your family have been back many times to see us, we really enjoy your stays with us. Wishing you many happy trails until the next time...

All the best,

Laura & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timberlane Rustic Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberlane Rustic Lodges

Address: 249 Mill Road | Mindemoya, Ontario P0P 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Manitoulin Island
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timberlane Rustic Lodges is a family friendly fishing resort nestled next to Lake Manitou on beautiful Manitoulin Island. We have 9 private cabins down below on the water, and one housekeeping wheelchair accessible cabin up above overlooking the water along with a 4 suite newly renovated century farmhouse B&B open year round. We also have canoes, kayaks, 17" stanley fishing boats and pontoon boats all available for rental. The fishing is excellent - bass, whitefish, pickerel, laketrout, pike, trout and perch are all abundant in the lake. We take care of all the fish cleaning and packaging for you on site. We have a full restaurant that is guest only and make our meals from scratch. We also get most of our food from local sources. The meals are served family style and we get many great reviews of them. Our staff is friendly and knowledgeable of the area and are happy to help you out and let you know about local events and happenings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timberlane Rustic Lodges Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberlane Rustic Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.