We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hiking for kids although be aware of the cliffs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cup and Saucer Trail

Cup and Saucer Trail
Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hiking for kids although be aware of the cliffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

With the important warning that you need to be well aware of being cliffside, we did the short loop using the side trail one way and found this was the perfect hike for our family (two kids aged 4 and 8). The side trail mostly avoids the cliffs and has just enough rock climbing that my kids felt like they were having an adventure rather than a forced long walk. In fact they have never been happier little hikers. We will go back to do the adventure trail and the longer hike as the kids get bigger.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good return on your effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hiking in Ontario tends to be trees and rocks and rocks and trees and trees and rocks and, if you're lucky, a glimpse of water. This trail delivers in the first 20 minutes. At this point you emerge onto the Niagara Escarpment and follow it along for another 20 minutes or so getting frequent views over the lakes, wetlands, and farmlands until you reach East Lookout. The views are gorgeous and the effort required is minimal though there are two short steep sections. Much beyond East Lookout, which is marked with an obvious sign, it's back to trees and rocks. We hiked leisurely and covered the 5.2km round trip in under 90 minutes. It's a good hike for kids if you can trust them not to go over the edge. They'll die. There are other trails here to explore as well.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must do on your visit! Bring good shoes and bug spray.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We did the full 12km and all three trails. We met a young man and his family friend who helped us around the explorer trail. Without them we wouldn't have known the caves to go it. It was a fabulous day spent with my daughter and I would return again, and again…..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The view from the top is spectacular, especially in the autumn. Some of the hike is very challenging and the top is true Niagara Escarpment cliffs so young children should not be taken up and all children should be carefully supervised

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We could only do the short 5km hike - we saw breathtaking views and really enjoyed it and wished we could have done the longer one. You climb to a great viewpoint and have lakes and forests at your feet. Unforgettable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cup and Saucer Trail also viewed

Kagawong, Manitoulin Island
Manitoulin Island, Northeastern Ontario
 
Meldrum Bay, Manitoulin Island
Manitoulin Island, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Cup and Saucer Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cup and Saucer Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.