We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to do more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Spirit Circle Trail

The Great Spirit Circle Trail
5905 Hwy 540 | M'Chigeeng, Ontario P0P 1G0, Canada
1-877-710-3211
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Great Spirit Circle Trail specializes in Authentic Aboriginal Experiences that exhibit the culture and traditions of the Anishinaabe people of the Manitoulin Island – Sagamok Region for independent travellers, families and all group sizes. While visiting, you will be hosted by local Aboriginal people who are proud to share a true reflection of the region from their perspective as the original inhabitants – the Ojibwe, Odawa and the Pottawatomi peoples. Visit our website to view our fantastic experiences, and be prepared for a memory of a lifetime as you Experience the Past, and Enjoy the Present.
Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to do more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went to the Island for a couple of nights with 3 children... found the Great Spirit Circle Trail online and booked 2 of our children (aged 9 and 11) in the medicine bag craft... or so I thought. It was so much more than a craft. Steve spoke to us before the medicine bag started and we wished we had booked ourselves into an activity!! He shared the most amazing traditional bread with warm berries in its natural juice with all of us. We then left the children in Steve’s care (we had a non-patient 2 year old!!). The children loved Steve’s stories and learned so much from him but also told us what a great listener he was as they shared their own life stories and experiences with Steve. They made their traditional medicine bag and put tobacco and smudge into them. They didn’t stop talking about the activity all weekend! When we returned to pick the children up we had a very nice conversation with Steve where he shared so much and showed interest in what we had to say. We definitely will be booking a hike for our next visit to the Island. We left completely intrigued by the first nation culture. Steve was such an amazing person, we can’t say enough about him. This was definitely our highlight of Manitoulin Island!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A definite must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great staff, loved the medicine walk, teachings & homemade treats after too. Will go back to do more hiking tours next time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSCT2013, Manager at The Great Spirit Circle Trail, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Miigwetch Crozon,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your tour and of course the treats afterwords!
Kind regards,
GSCT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had the opportunity to book several activities with Great Spirit Circle Trail.
The first was a historical journey of Wikwemikong with Mitchell. This was definitely a highlight of my trip and a great way to start. The content was interesting and Mitchell was very knowledgeable about the history of the reserve and his people. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to learn a part of Canadian culture and history that isn't taught in schools.

Later in the week I had the pleasure to take Teas of Manitoulin with Brad. This was a great experience as well and Brad was a great host. I loved trying new teas and learning about how different vegetation can be used as tea as well.

The next day I spent with Jesse making Bannock and Berries and making a Dream catcher. Both of these workshops gave me great insight of the native culture and their stories. Jesse was a great host.

The Great Spirit Circle Trail offers a number of native focused activities, there is something for everyone. A must if you are visiting the island!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Medicine Walk was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I participated in my first Medicine Walk on Wednesday, August 21, with a large group from the Northern Ontario School of Medicine. There were nearly 100 participants, and I felt that the team at the Great Spirit Trail did a fantastic job of organizing us into small groups. The information shared about the Aboriginal culture on the island was wonderful. The walk was very informative. With that many of us participating, I'm impressed that they were able to keep us on schedule. Great job everyone!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSCT2013, Public Relations Manager at The Great Spirit Circle Trail, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Miiwetch - Thank you for the terrific comments! The group was wonderful and asked some great questions. We hope to see you again next time your visiting. Take care,
GSCT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Orientation Week at NOSM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I did a medicine walk as part of a large group of students and staff from the Northern Ontario School of Medicine for our Orientation Week. As someone who has lived on a reserve for school for a month, I think that the incoming group of first year students have received a crash course on First Nations culture from the Great Spirit Circle Trail staff that will definitely prepare them for this experience. It was extremely educational, but also engaging and interactive. The bannock and cedar tea was delicious, too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSCT2013, Public Relations Manager at The Great Spirit Circle Trail, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Miigwetch - Thank you for the recommendation!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us including the bannock and cedar tea as well!
Hope to meet again soon,
GSCT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Spirit Circle Trail also viewed

Kagawong, Manitoulin Island
Manitoulin Island, Northeastern Ontario
 
Manitoulin Island, Northeastern Ontario
Meldrum Bay, Manitoulin Island
 

Been to The Great Spirit Circle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Spirit Circle Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Great Spirit Circle Trail to your Saves list