We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't overlook this gem of a motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buckhorn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manitoulin Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Buckhorn Motel
Save
You added The Buckhorn Motel to your Saves list
21076 HWY #6, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Manitoulin Island
Wasaga Beach, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this gem of a motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Four of us were motorcycling the Georgian Bay loop and we booked into the Buckhorn Motel after reading the reviews and speaking with the owner on the phone. What a truly lovely couple, and the motel was clean, comfortable and very reasonable. Fresh coffee and homemade muffins were waiting for us in the morning, along with towels to wipe our bikes down before we headed off to catch the ferry to Tobermory. Don't overlook this gem of a motel when staying in South Baymouth, and take a minute to chat with your hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Like meeting strangers and having them invite you into their lives and home after the first hello. We were guests not by accident, after reading some positive reviews were not steered wrong. Firstly this is a motel not a 5 star hotel, places like this can be musty and not be in the most perfect of areas but the owners made our stay shine! Squeaky clean and very large rooms. The TV only had one channel but he had ton's of movies to rent FOR FREE, and complimentary coffee with muffins in the morning. Internet included here! Close enough to the ferry to catch an early morning departure. Thank you Cathy and Ameal!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

I have stayed at the Buckhorn motel on a number of occasions. Not only are the hosts, Ameal and Cathy the friendliest people you will ever meet, they are very helpful. They have given me tips on sights to see, maps and directions. They also have no problem helping motorists find lodging elsewhere when they are full for the night. The rooms are clean and the coffee and muffins are great! If you are passing through South Baymouth be sure you stop at the Buckhorn, you won't regret it.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Buckhorn for a week in June. We have never been to the area before and were pleasantly surprised at the warm, comforting atmosphere Cathy and Ameal provided. Our room was very clean, the towels were fresh and the bed was comfortable. I was grateful for the store located in the main office. My wife and I were able to purchase lovely gifts for our family back home and were able to enjoy a piping hot coffee. Finally- the internet access in our room was a way I could email family back home pictures and stories about our great vacation. Thanks again Buckhorn Motel for making our stay memorable. We will definitely be back every summer!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Room #2: Filthy room, we were afraid to walk barefoot inside - the floor looked nasty!!
Bed pillows smelled like someone else's hair.
Beds squeaked and groaned. Or was it the floor? Both!
Are spiders crawling in the bed considered an amenity?
Washroom: Toilet rocked when we sat on it; was about to fall through the floor, which was dry rotted
Television selection of channels: ONE: what ever channel Ameal was watching. He boasted that he has 175 channels from which to choose. (To their credit, they do have a large video library from which you can choose)
This place needs a dramatic facelift. Should be condemned.
They have an incredible (no fooling) web site. It looked like it was going to be really nice. We were looking forward to staying. The room online "looked" exactly like what we found, but looks and being there are 2 different things! We feel like suckers.
The poor suffering wife looked definitely dumbfounded when we left at 6am!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buckhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckhorn Motel

Address: 21076 HWY #6, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Manitoulin Island
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Buckhorn Motel Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buckhorn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.