We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still doesn't really cut it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Nare to your Saves list
The Nare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carne Beach, Veryan TR2 5PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Veryan
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Still doesn't really cut it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We've been here a few times now and on each occasion our opinion has been the same - the dining room and service is good but the cooking has never really risen above average. Much superior cooking is to be had at the Tresanton Hotel, The View at Millbrook and the New Yard at Trelowarren near Helston (none of whom we have any connection with). A shame really as everything else is fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    23
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
48
93
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We booked for a week in august 2010 a "comfortable country view room" with an adjoining cabin room for our 2 sons. It was quite an expensive room with a daily rate of GBP 582 per night half board. It was booked more than 6 months in advance. Arriving there we were very dissappointed with the rooms nr 29 which was located near the exhaust of the kitchen ventilator. The whole day from 6.30 AM till 11.00 PM the room was dominated by a terrible noise and filled with the kitchen air. We immediatly complained about this and refused to stay in this room. The hotel management "understood " our problem but could not do anything about it because the hotel was fully booked. As we had booked for our room we were liable for 75% of the week rate, so we stayed in in the hotel and avoided the rooms as much as possible during the day. We think the staff should have informed us in advance at the time of the booking about the unpleasant location of our room in the hotel, which they didn't.

The hotel has a beautifull location, friendly staff and friendly guests. The interior is old fashioned. Some more rooms were also close to this kitchen ventilator. So watch out for this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I usually think that the tripadvisor reports that just say how someone couldn't get served are annoying..but when it happens to you it really is annoying. We dropped in for a cream tea - but couldn't get served, even though a manager was wondering around, and several staff were laying tables for dinner (it was around 4pm). So we headed for the wonderful Melinsey Mill nearby..where we bumped into another couple who'd been at Nare, couldn't get served, and done the same as us.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I've been to the Nare before but not for about 3 years and then 10 years ago i came with my then teenage daughter 3 years in a row. I've seen comments that it is more for older people - certianbly in the summer there is a real mmix of ages with younger couples and children, people taking their elderly parents and my daughter still thinks it is the best hotel ever and was last there when she was 18.

If you want peace and quiet time to walk think read then this is the place for you. the views over the bay are stunning, the beach below the hotel often deserted even in August, and the coast footpath goes past the door. The rooms are all beautifully furnished and kept. I had a single country view room for the first 3 days and a seaview room for the last 2. Only quibble is i wish the single rooms could have say 4ft doubles in them - sleeping in a single bed is not something many of us do now.
Can't speak too highly of the staff - friendly but always professional, and nothing is too much trouble. Staying by myself felt perfectly comfortable, and eating alone in the dining room was fine and very enjoyable.

The outdoor swimming pool and hot tub are wonderful and never busy. Its definitely not cheap but given what you get for the money and you don't need to spend much more to have a lovely time it is good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is a very nice hotel with beautiful grounds and a stunning view of the ocean. We stayed in the garden room suite which was quite large, clean and comfortable. The room rate included meals which we looked forward to every night. The service at dinner was top notch although it reminded me of something from a bygone era, a little stuffy.

I can't say anything bad about the place as the people were very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. I felt a bit young and out of place, which isn't a complaint. The average guest there was very well heeled(you had to be to afford it) and most were in their 70's. I should point out that many were also longterm guests with several we talked to coming to the Nare for 10 plus years.

I like the place alright but it just wasn't my cup of tea. I could easily recommend it but only to my older, well off friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in June and had a lovely time. Everything about this hotel is just great. The hotel is set in a beautiful location and is tastefully decorated with really comfortable rooms. Our room was a 'country view room' which was lovely although ideally we would have liked to have had a sea view room or suite, but unfortunately the cost of such rooms exceeded our budget for this trip. A good choice of food offered at breakfast and in the evening we dined in the restaurant. which has stunning views and a warm atmosphere. Again a good choice offered and all very nice.The hotel has a good size outdoor pool (the weather was too nice to try the indoor pool) and sitting / sunbathing areas. Small personal touches around the hotel and attentive staff just added to the experience of staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We wanted a place to relax for a few days and we were not disappointed. The hotel and it's artwork is simply enchanting. The staff cannot be more helpful. There is something decidedly English about this place - everything stops for tea in the morning and the afternoon. The highlight was a relaxing massage in the small but perfectly formed spa facilities. The Therapist was a lady called Anne who was asked to provide a relaxing massage and I have to say it was the best I have ever had. Worth a trip just for the treatment. Don't miss this one out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nare

Address: Carne Beach, Veryan TR2 5PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > Veryan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Veryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nare is Cornwall's top luxury hotel. Sitting in its own grounds, overlooking a beach with perfect sea views, here you will find peace and relaxation in elegant and luxurious surroundings. Rated by the AA as the best hotel in Cornwall every year for the last 20 years, The Nare has traditional standards of comfort, luxury and service that are increasingly difficult to find in the modern world. Individually decorated rooms and suites, delicious food from the hotel's two restaurants and outstanding Spa and leisure facilities make The Nare the perfect choice for couples enjoying a romantic short break or families looking for a location to suit all ages and generations, at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Nare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nare Hotel Veryan
Nare Veryan In Roseland
The Nare Veryan, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.