We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for adults but beutifull” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park

Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park
Mount Edgcumbe House | Cremyll, Torpoint PL10 1HZ, England
01752822236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Torpoint
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
cornwall
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“for adults but beutifull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

the garden woodlands are very pretty and the plants are lovely the beaches are cool and the orangery restraunt sells nice food this attraction is mainly for adults

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    46
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lovely day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Mt Edgcumbe. Originally we'd only planned to visit the grounds since there was no charge to do so but whilst looking at the outside of the house, we could hear a piano being played and it drew us inside the home. I'm glad we went inside and learned about the history of the family that owned the property. They seemed like genuinely caring people and knowing this made the home more appealing somehow. There was a gentleman named Tony Harris playing the grand piano and it created a wonderful atmosphere. The best part of all was dressing up in the period costumes available to those viewing the house. There was no cost to do this and it was lots of fun. The staff were ever so friendly which once again enhanced the experience.

The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed a cup of tea at the Orangery. Access to the grounds and the Orangery is free of charge so it's no wonder many people visit. It's lovely for people to have such a pretty place to go.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic day with plenty to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Despite another miserable day in Cornwall we took it upon ourselves to visit Mount Edgcumbe House and Gardens.

Parking appears adequate (and the machine was broken so we didn't have to pay!) and it's just a short walk down past the workshops and stable to the house.

The house is a beautiful Tudor building that was very badly damaged during the war, the helpful staff and various videos around the site tell the story of how it was restored to its former glory.

The interior is something very special with some gorgeous pieces of furniture, portraits and some restored tapestries that are very old indeed.

There are pictures and descriptions aplenty and the views from within the house are only exceeded by those outside.

The gardens adjacent to the house feature some very old trees, summer houses and there are tour cards describing all these available in the house.

After a walk we went to The Stables where the food was great and then a trip around the sawmill told us even more about the site's history.

Despite now torrential rain we went for a walk down the clearing immediately opposite the house entrance and walked down to the sea, Orangery and formal gardens but sadly the weather would not cease meaning we had to cut our visit shorter than I would have liked.

All in all, excellent value, friendly staff and possibly more to see and do than you'll manage in one day.

We were really impressed by Mount Edgcumbe House and Gardens and feel it's the best of its kind that we've yet to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“super house and very nice park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We went to Mount Edgcumbe House and Park with the Cornwall Garden Society and had a most enjoyable day. The house in particular was quite a surprise.Unfortunately the original house had been very badly burnt in 1941 by an indendiary bomb, but it has been rebuilt and is a delight - it's all beautifully done and we all felt we would love to live in it - it was so bright, with great views from the windows.

The park is also nicely done - visiting the park is free! - and it is all very nicely maintained.

We had a cream tea for two in the little cafe. It was £6.50 for 4 scones, two pots of tea and two little dishes with cloted cream - all very nice and superb value. We spent 4 hours and that was about right. A very pleasant afternoon with great views from the shore.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Lovely walks here,great views of the Sound etc. Dogs allowed,kids can run,well kept gardens. Orangery not that good for food which is a shame.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.