We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“house of horror” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Guest House

St. James Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torpoint
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. James Guest House
Save
You added St. James Guest House to your Saves list
16 St. James Road | Torpoint Town, Torpoint PL11 2BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Torpoint B&B and Inns
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“house of horror”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

my family and i stayed here for my nans 90th birthday, party which was held in torpoint, my dad and mum arrived first and rang us to tell how disgusting it was, unfortunately they were right. bedding was stinking and dirty, the shower was gross, no hot water, the hosts were appalling, and the breakfast was revolting, we were served mouldy bread and the dining room was filth. i have no idea how this place has great reviews i reckon they have written them themselves. Do not stay here in my experience its the most disgusting filthy hovel i have ever had the misfortune to stay at.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The St James Guest House is a small family run business. Clean and friendly and most importantly within walking distance of all buses and the car ferry into Plymouth. The owner is called Tiny but the reception and food is anything but. We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting several National Trust properties close by and Tiny leant us a local map to help with directions. We were very happy here and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a front bedrom with view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

A very friendly, family orientated guest house. Very clean and tidy and definitely did not smell of dogs as some reviews have mentioned. The dogs were friendly (we may now get a Great Dane) and not at all intimidating. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for our hosts. We also stayed in the family room with the bunk beds and shower in the bedroom and we can't honestly understand why this would be a problem. It offered us everything we wanted.
We stayed for two nights in July for our sons passing out. The location is convenient for local restaurants, pubs, the Torpoint Ferry and HMS Raleigh. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed one night at the St.. James b&b.
The location is ok, the owner was kind and we didn't mind at all the great dane (of which we just caught a glimpse because the owner kept it away). The room was small but quiet, and it seemed clean.
We had a problem with the bed, since it was very small and short.
Breakfast was good, the owner asked what we wanted and prepared it for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warblington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We arrived at Tiny and Tracys guesthouse on the Thursday in preparation of our daughters pass out parade on the 2nd October 2009.. The rooms are clean and tidy and very comfortable and the breakfast excellent.. Tracy and Tiny made us very welcome and we would recommend this guesthouse to our friends.On the thursday we had a vey pleasant evening in the bar with tiny and fellow gusets. It was a lovely friendly atmosphere. Yes the dogs came in but laid quetly down and they were not in the least bit smelly or dirty. The dogs were not allowed to roam around.
Absoulutly brilliant people.
Thank you Tracy and Tiny for a great stay

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We spent a lovely warm and welcoming day and night at St James Guest house in June this year to attend our eldest son's passing out parade at HMS Raleigh, and I have to say I am shocked at a couple of the comments I have seen on here.
The family that run this guest house are warm, freindly, helpful and welcoming. The family room we stayed in was spotless as was the single room that our eldest son stayed in. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have just booked again for October to attend our second son's passing out parade, something we would not have done if we had not been happy with any part of our previous stay.
The location is central and within easy reach of the ferry, restaurants and HMS Raleigh...ideal for families like ourselves who do not drive. As mentioned the rooms were spotless and very comfortable, and the owners extremely helpful with every aspect of our stay. They have extensive knowledge of the Navy and the local area which was a great comfort to us considering the purpose of our visit. Moreover they took a genuine interest in our son's progress, this gives the St James Guest house the personal touch that the majority of hotels lack.
I would highly reccomend this guest house to anyone; be it for a passing out parade or just for a week or weekend away. Lovely people, lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

i dont normally write reviews but when looking for address to make 2nd booking saw other reviews and was gobsmacked! i stayed in april for nephews pass out at hms raliegh with several other members of extended family! whilst the guest house is no 4* hotel we found it very clean and tidy! also the hosts were very friendly and helpfull nothing was to much bother! we also researched prices well as it was such a large group and found it no more expensive than any more of the b&b's in the area! we cant wait to visit again for my son's pass out in oct again with a large group!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Guest House

Address: 16 St. James Road | Torpoint Town, Torpoint PL11 2BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
St. James Guest House Torpoint, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.