We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think how it could be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Top House to your Saves list
The Top House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Lizard, Lizard TR12 7NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Lizard B&B and Inns
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't think how it could be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Top House is not a hotel, it's a great pub with some rooms.
But not just any old rooms. Beautiful ones. Really beautiful.
Add to this that it is five minutes walk from some of the most stunning coastline in the world, that it is good value, that even in August I could park and that the food is great - and it's easy to see why I can't wait to go back.

I stayed at the Top House for three nights.
Last minute impulse thing, needed to go for walks and look at the sea.
I was travelling on my own and never for a moment got that 'I'm sitting here all by myself' feeling that some places somehow inspire.

Lovely welcome and a beautiful room - and mine was, I would say, probably the 'worst' room. I booked last minute and there was only a twin, ground floor, no view available. Even this was a treat. Other reviews will give you a taste of the delights in store if you can be patient and book a room with a view in advance!

It's not a hotel, so if you need those facilities, it might not work for you and probably not perfect for kids... but I am far from an expert on that. But there was wifi, great bathroom and a nice balance of friendly and left to be yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Messdragon

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you had such a great stay, loved the rooms and felt so at home here. The room you stayed in is Prilla, a large comfortable room with a great bath and shower but like you say unfortunately has no view. We hope you will be able to come back and stay one day and enjoy one of our sea view rooms so you can look out to sea from the comfort of your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed 2 days really nice pub, great food especially Cornish breakfast . Very friendly and helpful staff ,didn't have any decaff tea but got some next day Thankyou. The rooms were very clean well looked after as was the bathroom. The view was pretty good to overlooking the sea .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear John and Sue

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you had had a great stay in our lovely Cornish Inn and particularly enjoyed the breakfast. We were only too happy to provide decaff tea, something we probably should have had anyway, so will now keep on as on option.
We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

really nice pub that is good for tourists, nice staff and a comfy old style place which is a real cornish treat. very central to visit all parts of the Lizard.
Try the cornish stout on draft really nice.
has outside seating also

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear farrowp

Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our lovely Cornish Inn and appreciated the traditional feel and charm of the place.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After a very long day walking the coast path, the Top House pub was a welcome sight. Myself and two friends had one twin room and a double. The rooms looked to have been quite recently "done" and were clean, modern and of a very decent standard.

We managed to agree a discounted rate for eating and drinking in the pub and had a very good experience.

Breakfast was a decent size and of good quality and the food in the evening was pretty good as well. Overall - pretty good.

The Lizard Village has a bit of and end of the road feel to it but the views from the coast path are pretty spectacular as usual.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Andyi-24

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased you had an enjoyable stay here at the Inn.

It was interesting to read that you felt the rooms had recently been done; they were refurbished in 2007 so several years ago now, however we do upgrade furnishings as needs be such as cushions, throws, etc. I guess that is testament to how well we maintain them in all areas and our housekeeper certainly does a grand job keeping them spotlessly clean and fresh.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes
James and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bentley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Lizard before, many times. This is the first time we have stayed at The Top House and we are so glad that we did. The pub, restaurant and our room were very clean and tidy. We stayed in the Kynance room which had great views, one window looked out towards the Lighthouse and Old Lizard Head and the side window looked out towards Kynance Cove. The breakfasts were delicious and set you up for a days walking and meals were served throughout. The fish was excellent, we had the Hake served on crushed new potatoes in a lovely sauce, we could have eaten it every day!
The bar serves St Austell ales, my favourite was Proper Job but be warned it goes down too easily and you can't remember going back to your room!!
They also serve weaker ales starting from around £2.70 and locally brewed ciders.
We stayed for 10 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. If you sit at the bar you find some really nice locals who are happy to chat and share stories with you, our favourite was a retired lifeboatman called Peter Mitchell and his dog Cretey who my girlfriend adored.
We will definitely go back to The Tophouse and would recommend it to anybody wishing to stay at The Lizard. The walks to Cadgwith Cove and Kynance Cove are a must.
Many Thanks Michael and Vicky. :-) XX

Room Tip: it has one of the loveliest coastlines in the world on its doorstep,and the walking made us fitter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Michael and Vicky

We are so happy to hear you had such a great time here and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Inn. Kynance certainly is a beautiful room and the view is delightful, particularly watching the sun set over the cove. It was great to hear you enjoyed your food and that the breakfasts set you up nicely for the day out walking.

We certainly have some lovely local’s at the bar who make such a great atmosphere and welcome visitors. There are some great stories to listen to!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another relaxing stay.

Best wishes
James and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Whenever we are visiting the area, John, Kookie (our Jackchi) & I make a beeline for The Top House. Whatever the time of day we &, most vitally, our dog are made most welcome. Delicious food is always available. A definite improvement on my home-cooking & I'm not a bad cook! Also we last visited on a rainy, chilly June day after walking to & back from The Lizard & the warm, toasty open fire was most welcome. The food is well-priced as we are assured the ingredients are locally sourced. We made enquiries to stay for our next Cornish break & would have booked but alas we learnt they don't accommodate dogs. C'est la vie...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Trisha m

Many thanks for your lovely review and for your continued support. It means so much when we have visitors who come and see us when they are back in The Lizard.

So sorry that we cannot accommodate you on your next break as we do not accept dogs in our B&B rooms; we only allow dogs in the bar area currently.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We hope next time we see you the weather will be better but like you say, even if it’s not it’s a good excuse to get the lovely open fire lit!

Best wishes

James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Top House had been recommended by friends who stayed a couple of years ago so we booked in for two nights when staying in the Lizard. From arrival, James, Donna and the whole team could not have been more accommodating. We were upgraded to a sea view room which was beautifully appointed and the view out towards Kynance Cove was really special. The first night of our stay we ate in the restaurant, both selecting fresh fish from the specials menu. These were both outstanding and if fresh fish is available I'd definitely recommend it. We enjoyed drinks in the bar on both nights of our stay, it is a very friendly and relaxed place, made all the better by the fact we only had to climb a flight of stairs to get to our room. Breakfast was lovely, a good selection and all the meats were from the local butcher and very very tasty. The Top House has an excellent location right by some truly spectacular scenery - I couldn't recommend a visit to this part of the country any more. In the rooms there were local honey based bath products for use and we bought some to bring home with us as a memory of our trip. We'll be returning in the future I'm sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Kathryn
Many thanks for submitting such a lovely review; we are so pleased your expectations were met and you felt so welcome and found the bar to be friendly and relaxed. That’s just what we like to hear.

We love this time of year when we can regularly get such a variety of fresh fish on our specials menu and we are glad you rated your meals as “outstanding”; we will pass this news on to our chefs. It is fortunate that we have such a great butcher literally across the road and the meat is excellent quality.

It was good to hear you enjoyed the complimentary honey toiletries too.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Address: The Lizard, Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Top House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House Lizard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Top House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.